Thread: LoI in Europe 2024

247 Posts
    Big news regarding prize money for Premier division LOI clubs

From Dan McDonnell on Twitter:
    News: LOI Premier clubs who compete in 2024 and 2025 seasons in line to receive circa €700k (each) from UEFA in 2025 due to massive solidarity rise & once-off tweak to payment structure.

That's a significant jump from €70k-€80k each

Details here
    https://www.independent.ie/sport/soc...660014187.html
    He also notes that it’s for clubs that don’t reach the group stages, so it’s for 9 clubs this year, rovers excluded.

That money could be a huge boost for Dundalk in particular. It creates a bigger financial gap between premier and first divisions however
    Last edited by 2 Year Contract; 02/10/2024 at 10:49 PM.
    Paaatrick's Agletic

86 Posts
    Any Rovers fans know what's the story with tickets for the Larne game in Windsor Park.

I'm in Belfast that day and planning to stick around and go to the game. Would prefer to go in the away end, but will go home end if I have too

I'm wondering if Larne will limit away tickets as surely they won't want Rovers having 3 or 4 times as many fans as them

247 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by dundalkfc10 View Post
    Any Rovers fans know what's the story with tickets for the Larne game in Windsor Park.

I'm in Belfast that day and planning to stick around and go to the game. Would prefer to go in the away end, but will go home end if I have too

I'm wondering if Larne will limit away tickets as surely they won't want Rovers having 3 or 4 times as many fans as them
    Theres surely not a hope in hell rovers will bring 3 or 4 times as many as Larne to a group stage game in Belfast. Even if Larne were to bring as little as 1,000 fans (I’m sure they’ll have a lot more there), you’re talking about 3 or 4k away fans which won’t happen
    Paaatrick's Agletic

3,404 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by Nah Nah Nah Nah View Post
    Who do ye have next?
    2 Korriku

Bit like UCD as far as I can see in that they're a second tier side, a smaller side from the capital but with a strong youth focus

They beat an Albanian side 4-2 on aggregate. I have no idea what to expect. But it's by far the easiest draw we could have gotten in the second round

607 Posts
    G'wan UCD, you'd fancy them in the next round, knowing absolutely nothing. What an adventure for these kids.

410 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by 2 Year Contract View Post
    Big news regarding prize money for Premier division LOI clubs

From Dan McDonnell on Twitter:
    He also notes that it’s for clubs that don’t reach the group stages, so it’s for 9 clubs this year, rovers excluded.

That money could be a huge boost for Dundalk in particular. It creates a bigger financial gap between premier and first divisions however
    Great news for half the league,the other half can f**k off basically,not only will they massively increase the Premier league’s money they’ll reduce the First Divisions,great lads UEFA are altogether….
    Irish by birth ,Harps by the grace of god.

3,404 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by Acornvilla View Post
    G'wan UCD, you'd fancy them in the next round, knowing absolutely nothing. What an adventure for these kids.
    If we can get through this round, it looks like Dynamo Kyiv next. In Hamburg.

That'd be good craic!

86 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by sbgawa View Post
    One tbing it really brings home for me is what a calamity it is for Rovers to have ****ed this league away this year with the biggest squad and budget by far.
    Making Group stages is next to impossible without the Champions route.
    We need to get our budgets under control for next year as beating a team in the PO round for the conference is exceptionally tough if you even get that far.
    Hopefully we can maximise the monry this year and get a decent squad on the pitch for next year.
    Whoever wins the league between Shels and Derry this year will be the worst champions in my living memory with the lowest points total so unless they strengthen significantly will be there to be beaten.
    Could be the widest open league in years next year.
    Pats , Rovers (younger and fitter hopefully) , Derry . Shels probably in that order
    Really? Rovers brought 3500 to London back in the day. Surely they would bring more than that 2 hours up the road

If I remember correctly they brought over a 1000 to Windsor Park in the Setanta Cup. This is a European Group stage match

1,089 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by joey B View Post
    Great news for half the league,the other half can f**k off basically,not only will they massively increase the Premier league’s money they’ll reduce the First Divisions,great lads UEFA are altogether….
    It'll be extremely difficult for anyone to ever get promoted except the teams that come down. It was already extremely difficult but to put it in context 300k would probably be most of our entire budget for the season if not all of it. On top of that payment to other clubs our own money is reduced. It all feels a bit pointless at this stage for the small clubs.

607 Posts
    May give the first division teams the PD prize money, I'm only half joking, the FAI will need to workshop some ideas to find a different way to redistribute other monies if this is the way forward. 20 team league anyone?

(I don't actually want that please don't get mad)

685 Posts
    UEFA didnt like the way their money was being devided up by Ireland, we are one of the few countries that were spreading it evenly all the way down the pyramid.
    UEFA see the money as being to try to avoid situations where the PD teams that qualify for Europe create a moat between themselves and the rest of the Premier division.
    They see the support of the lower leagues and the grass roots as being the job of the National Association.
    I kind of agree with the UEFA approach even though it doesnt suit Rovers as we have been consitantly qualifying for Europe and this helps our rivals in the division that havent been qualifying regularly.
    The only issue though is the FAI are broke so thye cant fulfill their part of the bargain so i think it is a regressive step at the moment in Irish football.
    As Acornvilla says above the FAI can concentrate their limited resources and maybe compensate some what the FD clubs.
    Next year should;nt be an issue as with the double payment the FD clubs will be better off next year even if the annual payment is less as they will get two of them.
    big 700k prize for the first division playoff winner this year...........I can see the headline now "The Million euro match"

247 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by dundalkfc10 View Post
    Really? Rovers brought 3500 to London back in the day. Surely they would bring more than that 2 hours up the road

If I remember correctly they brought over a 1000 to Windsor Park in the Setanta Cup. This is a European Group stage match
    Big difference between a thousand and four thousand. There’s a rovers fan on here who estimated they’ll bring 500 up for the Larne match. I’d imagine it’ll be somewhere in the middle of that and your estimate of 3-4k
    Paaatrick's Agletic

685 Posts
    not sure if that was me that said the 500 im starting to feel a bit more optimistic listening to people talking about travelling but the 5:45 ko is a real pain.
    Day off workfor some and off School for the kids isnt easy or ideal

107 Posts
    not sure if that was me that said the 500 im starting to feel a bit more optimistic listening to people talking about travelling but the 5:45 ko is a real pain.
    Numbers will be dependent on how many away tickets are available - may be as little as 950

28 Posts
    We had 600 at that Linfield away game and 50 muppets. I think we would get about 1200 travelling to the Larne game and twice that for Chelsea. Lots of fans also going to Vienna.

87 Posts
    Anyone with a stream for tonight's match?

104 Posts
    viprow.nu has a stream

410 Posts
    Rovers a goal down and a man down,the second booking for Farugia was very harsh I thought…
    Irish by birth ,Harps by the grace of god.

63 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by joey B View Post
    Rovers a goal down and a man down,the second booking for Farugia was very harsh I thought…
    Agreed that was an extremely soft second yellow. Damage control now unless Kenny can pull off another magic run

100 Posts
    I thought it was brain dead from him. Some risk to take when you're on a yellow.
    www.dundalkfc.com

Colin Scanlon - hero!

Page 85 of 99 FirstFirst ... 3575838485868795 ... LastLast