Results 1,721 to 1,740 of 1820

Thread: 2024 Season, Arrivals and Departures

38 Posts
    It was oriel web. I went on to see who
    Dundalk fans would even want in as manager but got great amusement out of the Long stuff so had to raise it here.

877 Posts
    Like many fora these days Orielweb has become an extension of the bull**** you see on twitter or x or whatever the fook. There are stll a few old warhorses from its earliest days that you take posts as credible info, most dont tend to even bother now which is a shame as the more sensible types could push back agaist the disposable accounts that appear to cause grief or stick the boot in. I know one regular here who signed up pretending to be a Dundalk fan to throw rumours in to the mix and have the odd snipe during Perth's time. Foot.ie is one of a few football fora that hasnt become a mess and it is barely moderated, number of active posters may have dropped but it is still a healthy online community of LoI fans that can be rivals without nastiess and I value this, even the tolerating of my own rambling posts, poor attempts at humour or occasional petty snipes. I would hate it to go the way of OW which was at one time arguably the most informed, vibrant and considered football forums in LoI and beyond, been a long time just a place to push anti whomever agendas.

649 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by Nesta99 View Post
    Like many fora these days Orielweb has become an extension of the bull**** you see on twitter or x or whatever the fook. There are stll a few old warhorses from its earliest days that you take posts as credible info, most dont tend to even bother now which is a shame as the more sensible types could push back agaist the disposable accounts that appear to cause grief or stick the boot in. I know one regular here who signed up pretending to be a Dundalk fan to throw rumours in to the mix and have the odd snipe during Perth's time. Foot.ie is one of a few football fora that hasnt become a mess and it is barely moderated, number of active posters may have dropped but it is still a healthy online community of LoI fans that can be rivals without nastiess and I value this, even the tolerating of my own rambling posts, poor attempts at humour or occasional petty snipes. I would hate it to go the way of OW which was at one time arguably the most informed, vibrant and considered football forums in LoI and beyond, been a long time just a place to push anti whomever agendas.
    It was good and when you consider how hard it is to type with that extra finger in the way it shows grit and determination

Looks like Long was first choice for the club if Waterford media are to be believed

877 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by sbgawa View Post
    It was good and when you consider how hard it is to type with that extra finger in the way it shows grit and determination
    Extra toe!! FFS get it right and yes typing with an extra toe takes serious effort. The days of Cork v Drogheda during their title winning season was amusing back in the day....

877 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by Knocklyonhoop View Post
    Looks like Long was first choice for the club if Waterford media are to be believed
    Was it on Waterford Whispers?

348 Posts
    Noel King the new manager at Dundalk,I’m shocked I have to say…
    Irish by birth ,Harps by the grace of god.

649 Posts
    **** sake it's a disgrace if an eejit like him is getting the Dundalk job.

Surely they could get a credible candidate.
    The absolute definition of promoted beyond competence. Only surprise is he didn't get a job in the FAI , How bad mist they think.he is

140 Posts
    hahaha dundalk fans... welcome to the first division

172 Posts
    As if this evening couldn't get any better.
    And here's me thinking them giving Perth the job again would be comical enough, it seems dundalk have called my bluff.
    There is literally no beginning to Kingers talent as a football manager.
    Great stuff to witness.

330 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by joey B View Post
    Noel King the new manager at Dundalk,I’m shocked I have to say…
    I just had to check what year it was, as for a second I thought it was 2004 not 2024.

408 Posts
    Ah here. So many positive stories around the league these days. Things are going well. How and why would you bring Noel King back from the dead?

At least he is out of the running for the international job I suppose.
    21 leagues and 25 cups.

Jaysus wept. Noel King, no further words needed. See you next season in the 1st Division lads

36 Posts
    I bet Keith Long doesn't sound too bad now, huh?

That's such a shocking appointment. I can't see Noel King even lasting the season tbh.

I don’t know what to say. An absolute joke decision. I’d rather Filippo back.

192 Posts
    12 months ago if Brian Ainscough had said he’d have Kerry playing league games against Dundalk by 2025 he'd have been laughed at. He’s certainly having a good go at it now anyways
    Paaatrick's Agletic

Can't say I have much sympathy for Dundalk. This chancer should've been told where to go with the way he left Kerry high and dry.

85 Posts
    I'm pretty speechless. I'm so taken aback by this that it feels surreal. I can only hope that the journalists have jumped the gun here and it's not finalised yet, and that allows for a complete U-turn considering the fan outcry.
    www.dundalkfc.com

Colin Scanlon - hero!

106 Posts
    Absolutely stunned by that appointment from Dundalk assuming it's true. Will probably be a big relief for a few teams looking over their shoulder in what is a tight league this season, and seems to be a case of Ainscough getting one of his mates in the door which doesn't say much for his decision making in this role.

877 Posts
    Well a call for a more traditional 442 back to basics type manager was needed.....

Makes a mockery of all the inside knwoledge claims on OW and elsewhere. Just for the sake of being awkward - great appointment, exactly whats needed, motivate the squad with the coaching team getting the business done on the training pitch. By mid July we will be sitting about 7th and a transfer window open. Finish 5th. I refuse to give up on Dundalk not in the Prmier Division!!
    Last edited by Nesta99; 20/04/2024 at 12:17 AM.

Page 87 of 91 FirstFirst ... 37778586878889 ... LastLast