Page 3 of 91 FirstFirst 123451353 ... LastLast

Thread: 2024 Season, Arrivals and Departures

329 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by Loifan_76 View Post
    Ronan Finn to UCD for 2 year masters.
    Thought he had another year in him and from the article there was an offer on the table. Still a good move for him to further his education and still play at a good level.

550 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by Loifan_76 View Post
    Ronan Finn to UCD for 2 year masters.
    Weird. Pretty sure he did a masters in DCU back a bit more than a decade ago. Fair play I guess

74 Posts
    We didn’t pay either compensation or a fee for Mikey. Our budget had been slashed so there was no money to pay fees for players.

Nice bit of business by UCD, I'm guessing he may be coming as player/coach, long ball Willie needs an assistant, and this would be an obvious segway into coaching for Ronan Finn.

649 Posts
    He says in a couple of articles that he has no coaching role. Great signing for ucd. What a rovers legend. Typical of him that he let's alan manus do a lap of honour this week and then announces he is leaving the day before the game.
    I might even drop down tonwatch him

3,225 Posts
    Sweet! That's a great signing. Rare for pre-season to start so well for us!

74 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by The Bowler View Post
    Nice bit of business by UCD, I'm guessing he may be coming as player/coach, long ball Willie needs an assistant, and this would be an obvious segway into coaching for Ronan Finn.
    Finner’s buddy Luke Byrne coming in as assistant.

538 Posts
    RFs 2nd spell at UCD aint it lads??

3,225 Posts
    Yep - 2005 to 2009 before. Took the mickey in the First Division in 2009. Hopefully he's still got some of that left; we should be well up the top of the table. Might get a shot at beating 11 points sooner than I'd though!

101 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by sbgawa View Post
    He says in a couple of articles that he has no coaching role. Great signing for ucd. What a rovers legend. Typical of him that he let's alan manus do a lap of honour this week and then announces he is leaving the day before the game.
    I might even drop down tonwatch him
    Great move for him and whilst sad to see him leave ; I’m glad in that I don’t think he had another season in him at title contender level and I’d of hated to see him languish on the bench …..a true legend whose time with us will be remembered with nothing but admiration and respect.

649 Posts
    If luke Byrne and Finn are both playing at ucd next year that is some start, or is Byrne just coaching? I know he's had injuries but he is still young

27 Posts
    Used to have a soft spot for ucd, but jaysus lads smirking Ronan and 50 quid Luke ?? And this after the abomination that is starjumps keeper kearns.

408 Posts
    It's so sad when two of our feeder clubs aren't getting along.
    21 leagues and 25 cups.

649 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by elatedscum View Post
    Weird. Pretty sure he did a masters in DCU back a bit more than a decade ago. Fair play I guess
    According to the press stuff he did a degree in sports management so he is going back to do the masters. Smart move tbh and he owes Rovers NOTHING. he was the start of all the recent success for us, signed in 2016 when he was walking away from a league winning Dundalk and very few people thought it was a good move. Turns out he was 100% right and good luck to him.
    I'll definitely drop in to ucd next year when rovers are away and I'm not traveling

348 Posts
    Hugh Douglas retired at 30,injuries took their toll on him to be retiring relatively young …
    Irish by birth ,Harps by the grace of god.

348 Posts
    Darren Murphy appointed Harps manager.

Irish by birth ,Harps by the grace of god.

538 Posts
    Now thats an interesting move from Harps there. Didnt even know in first place that DR had gone. Heard today that Ronan Finn was with Sporting Fingal all these years ago I dont remember him being there at all!

192 Posts
    Duff on the way out of shels? Out of contract and hasn’t been contacted about a new deal yet, also stating that he hasn’t got a clue what’s going on behind the scenes at the club. Even if he does stay on, there’s some pretty damning quotes on the new owners there that would suggest things might not last as long as most would’ve imagined between the manager and the club

https://www.independent.ie/sport/soc...969957026.html
    Paaatrick's Agletic

329 Posts
    At this rate, god knows who will be managing at what club next season.

408 Posts
    bohs should swoop and snap Duff up. I think Devine's limitations have been shown now. He might make a better coach than a manager? I'd absolutely hate them getting Duff so it would be a good move. If we lost Bradley, Duff would have been my target.

I think Derry will wait another quarter season to get rid of Higgins and appoint Kenny unless they are properly competing at the top. Thought Higgins would have had them league winners by now but he doesn't seem up to it.

O'Donnell will stay another season as will Daly, Bradley and Doherty. Holland will stay but possibly for a rebuild in the FD. Russell will go midway through or earlier.

Lump on. This is free money.
    21 leagues and 25 cups.

Page 3 of 91 FirstFirst 123451353 ... LastLast