Originally Posted by joeSoap
Uh oh, I'd say you should run for cover after that post.![]()
Oooooohh touchy touchy....
Before you go slurp your saucer of milk, look at the facts. Pat Dolan was making fantastic progress with a side, gaining better league positions each season, and giving ye fantastic European adventures. He signed several quality players (one who rammed it down ye're throats in the Brandywell a few weeks ago, and might cost ye the league on the last day), and developed fantastic relationships with those players, particularly heroes Georgie and Johnny O'Flynn who still value him and wish he was still there.
He didn't get sacked because of bad results; he got sacked because of your inecure chairman who felt threatened, and thankfully he got a pretty settlement.
Rico walked into a doddle of a job, and in fairness is doing a good job himself. But spare me the total and utter tripe that oozes out of ye're mouths about Dolan doing nothing but bad for a club that he dragged out f mediocrity and developed.
Thats from a football perspective...I actually hope ye win all round ye cos its good for the game, but be a little objective ffs...![]()
Uh oh, I'd say you should run for cover after that post.![]()
Champions!
Truth hurts for some....Originally Posted by Colm
What was Kevin Doyle worth .... in your opinion ??Originally Posted by joeSoap
He was a great signing. Getting €117,000 for him represented a €117,000 profit for city, and I'm sure that the fact he was signed for free was taken into consideration in the final agreed price.Originally Posted by A face
As for what he's worth, who knows?? If he plays regularly for Reading, they get into the premiership and they do well there with him in the team, then his value will be immense. However, they may not, and he could languish in the lower divisions in which case €117,000 would be a good deal for city.
Presumably there are clauses by which City will be additionally rewarded should there be promotion, caps etc? Foolish if not.
See this is it right now ..... his was his 'advisor' where the problem lies, for City anyway. That contract was being pushed through with a load of stuff City weren't happy with.
The what if he does, what if he doesn't cráp does wear well either Joe .... IF Doyle was with us for the rest of the season, then i'd have no doubt that it would be wrapped up now. He is not !!
And what really keeps stoking it up is the Fat Man sounding off when ever possible about how we should keep the youth in the country and not capitulate to shoddy deals from English clubs.
Hypocrite !!
Bad bad management from City chairman then. wouldn't you say, for letting a deal go through that they weren't fully happy about. They had the power to stop the deal any time they wanted by simply refusing the fee.Originally Posted by A face
If my aunt had balls she'd be my uncle. IF, IF, IF. He's gone..end of.Originally Posted by A face
Revenge for the 'fat man' then, cos he wasn't half shafted by your lot.Originally Posted by A face
I disagree, his conduct befre he was sacked was disgraceful. Refusing to attend meetings, using players to do his dirty work, he made his own position untenable. If he had continued he would have broken the club financially and fair play to Brian for not letting this happen. The club or Dolan, tough choice really.Originally Posted by joeSoap
And now that he has been banned from the Cross, hopefully we'll never have to see him again.
"Must you tell me all your secrets when it's hard enough to love you knowing nothing."
http://worddok.blogspot.com
So having to train in a schoolyard is acceptable to you? Like it or not, investment is a key element to po=rogress, and in the coming years I'm sure you'll see the developments that Dolan wanted implemented. The difference being Lennox will get the kudos for bringing the club forward, not the man who showed him how to do it.Originally Posted by razor
As for banning him from the Cross...I find that hard to believe but if its the case then its juvenile and displays even more insecurity from Lennox when it comes to Mr Dolan.
Dolan did a good job while at City - no disputes there. However he did show that when it came to the big games he didn't have what it takes to get his team to the next level i.e 9 games v Shels in his tenure as a manager and not a single victory. We've already beaten Shels 3 times this season.
I always felt that Dolan would be the ideal person for a Director of Football and Marketing position. As a manager his tactics were only average; we play a much more sophisticated brand of football now with the same set of players [and one notable absentee i.e. Doyle] than we did before. BTW I reckon Noel O'Connor was the real brains behind City's footballing success under PD.
Here we are going into the last third of the 2005 season and Dolan who was manager in the 2004 season is still getting involved in a team he no longer works for. Time for him to move on and get a new job. If he's so good surely he can work his magic with another League of Ireland team, cause he ain't coming back to City.
Pat brought a great buzz to Cork City FC, a buzz which disappeared for a time after his departure. But the buzz is better now than it ever was and great credit is due to the players for staying focused and working for those who really matter - the fans!!
C'mon City.
Dolan - trophies won in two seasons?? - Zero (no league, league cup or FAI cup)
european "adventures" in completely irrelevant intertoto cup
his cut on the doyle deal????
Good points, but I feel that the reason ye are getting results against Shelbourne this season is because they are in such disarray, and a lot of other clubs are getting points from them who weren't before.Originally Posted by JDB
JoeSoap - if you want to discuss old Dolan topics why not start a thread in your own Limerick section. This has been down to death already & is boring now. While your at it maybe you could spend more time backing your own Chairman who seems to have dragged ye up from a pathetic state instead of attacking him.
Maybe goes with the pro dolan territory.......undermining your own chairman.....
Its amazing that people still think sacking Dolan was a bad decision. Rico has come in & aside from losing to Portadown in Setanta Cup couldn't have done any better. How exactly could Dolan have improved on Ricos results this season?![]()
Originally Posted by pete
Thin ye'll find that I have never criticised my clubs chairman...not once.Originally Posted by wws
Where did I say that?Originally Posted by joeSoap
I agree but in a sensible manner, you can't go out and do a Leeds United on it. Lennox is a businessman with a sense of reality, Dolan is a dreamer with a sense of his own importance.Originally Posted by joeSoap
Rumour has it Dolan has been banned for trying to gain access the City dressing room last Thursday night, to wish the players all the best. Some neck.
"Must you tell me all your secrets when it's hard enough to love you knowing nothing."
http://worddok.blogspot.com
My point is that Dolan was doing nothing wrong and the teams results now are due to natural progression of what he set up.Originally Posted by pete
The question ye should be asking maybe is; Could Rico have taken the rags of a squad that Dolan took three years ago and turn it into Championship contenders in two years before handing it on to someone else??
indeed. joe has never criticised his clubs chairman. well this year anywayOriginally Posted by joeSoap
you gowl!
Can't be much happening over at Limerick,, so Joe is sent here to do a little spadework for Noel.
Nice one, Joe, keep 'em coming, I'm getting a laugh out of you anyway....![]()