The Star today re last nights cup match
    “Jockey Wilson . . . What an athlete.” - Sid Waddell
    www.donegaldarts.com

Gerry McDermott calls rovers 'cup specialists' in todays indo.... I reckon he must read on here...
    Ní neart go cur le chéile...

Keith

Quote Originally Posted by Supersaint3
    Gerry McDermott calls rovers 'cup specialists' in todays indo.... I reckon he must read on here...
    If anyone was watching the cup draw yesterday,someone said 'cup specialists' about shams aswell.

Quote Originally Posted by The Stars
    If anyone was watching the cup draw yesterday,someone said 'cup specialists' about shams aswell.
    Well Rovers being called "cup specialists" might be a cliché, but there is a certain amount of truth in it.
    But the way the big pub adopt a cliché like "the big club" for themselves must be the funniest/stupidest/and saddest cliché in Irish football all rolled into one.

This cup specalists tag really irritates some of you! It is a cliche, as witnessed by the amount of times its been used in the press recently, but there is something else going on with some posters here.

I dont understand the objection (apart from the cliche value). We have won it 24 times appearing in 31 finals in the 70 odd years of the competition. Thats an impressive statistic by any measure and entitles us to the name. Whats the gripe?

Because Longford are the holders after retaining the thing, and fair play. But they are 22 short of the record.

Is it simple jealousy of our success?

Quote Originally Posted by Cop on
    Ah sure we're all only little tiny clubs compared to the mighty free-scoring Chokers. And don't let us win anything or we're "nasty plucky wee f**ker$".
    If you didn't have such a big chip on your shoulder & you weren't so full of begrudgery, you might just realise that without the rest of us you are nothing.
    The MOST RIDICULOUS Irish football cliché : Anything with "Longford" and "Football" in the same sentance about a non-GAA/Rugby game.

Quote Originally Posted by patsh
    The MOST RIDICULOUS Irish football cliché : Anything with "Longford" and "Football" in the same sentance about a non-GAA/Rugby game.
    Longford Rugby?
    Foot.ie's entire existence is predicated on the average idiot's inability to ignore other idiots

Quote Originally Posted by Roo69
    That dope Paul Collins from Today FM Sport said that this morning when reading the sports news in fairness does he not do any research into what he is saying ?
    What a f*cking tit,i hate that c*nt,i thought i was the only one,he hasn't a f*cking clue about the EL and yet makes out that he is a big EL fan and that he knows it all

Quote Originally Posted by Roverstillidie
    This cup specalists tag really irritates some of you! It is a cliche, as witnessed by the amount of times its been used in the press recently, but there is something else going on with some posters here.

I dont understand the objection (apart from the cliche value). We have won it 24 times appearing in 31 finals in the 70 odd years of the competition. Thats an impressive statistic by any measure and entitles us to the name. Whats the gripe?

Because Longford are the holders after retaining the thing, and fair play. But they are 22 short of the record.

Would you call Nottingham Forest the European Cup specialists? Rovers have an amazing record in the cup, but over the past number of seasons have not performed as one would expect a cup team to do. At the moment I would have to list Longford as the current "cup specialists" as IMO it denotes a team that performs better in cup games than league form/ ability would suggest. (yes Longford are now going well in league, I know) Cup specialists tend to do well in cups but badly in the league (as a generalisation)
    Foot.ie's entire existence is predicated on the average idiot's inability to ignore other idiots

Don't mean to pick on you in particular but this a huge cliché. Any time a big club is criticised their fans put it down to jealousy. Shels and (recently) Cork are terrible for this in particular.

Formerly: dublinharp carrickharp's Avatar
    Celtic fall by Wayside against Bohs - Aertel
    “Jockey Wilson . . . What an athlete.” - Sid Waddell
    www.donegaldarts.com

Quote Originally Posted by bigmac
    Would you call Nottingham Forest the European Cup specialists? Rovers have an amazing record in the cup, but over the past number of seasons have not performed as one would expect a cup team to do. At the moment I would have to list Longford as the current "cup specialists" as IMO it denotes a team that performs better in cup games than league form/ ability would suggest. (yes Longford are now going well in league, I know) Cup specialists tend to do well in cups but badly in the league (as a generalisation)
    No, I would call Real Madrid the European cup specalists. We obviously disagree about the defenition, i would define it as most successful in any given competition, as obviously do the media!!!

The truest cliché of them all : Begrudgery, begrudgery, begrudgery. You are the quintessential Irishman and an excellent ambassador of your fine city.
    And you are quite obviously the quintessential bogman and a fine specimen of same!
    But well done on another season of mid-table mediocrity, a fine performance by the Whinger and his plucky little team again this year...

No, I would call Real Madrid the European cup specalists. We obviously disagree about the defenition, i would define it as most successful in any given competition, as obviously do the media!!!

in plain man's language Shamrock were the fai cup specialists, haven't been in years, and in the words of McBain, THAT IS THE JOKE!

Fair enough, I'd define it as the team currently most successful, ie, over the last few years. Would also exclude teams that are regularly challenging for league honours. e.g. I wouldn't call Arsenal cup specialists though they've been in most of the finals of recent years.
    Agree to disagree as they say

One of the biggest cliches is how everyone calls Marc Kenny a "dead ball specialist", has anyone actually ever seen him score a free kick?
    Eoin Mullen, Bohemians legend!

"You should always take good care of your cat" - Postman Pat, 1991

2005 - a great year for Irish football

Yer man on Today FM was at it again today... Longford apparently "taught a lesson by UCD"

71 Posts
    Here's a tired cliché in eL circles. "UCD offer nothing to the league".

Quote Originally Posted by aido_b
    One of the biggest cliches is how everyone calls Marc Kenny a "dead ball specialist", has anyone actually ever seen him score a free kick?
    yes.

next question!

Why thank you very, very much.That is the ultimate compliment from a cultured, cosmopolitan gent like yourself

Fourth is hardly mid-table. Then again, mathematical ability is hardly your strong point!
    Sarcasm, amongst other things, is hardly your strong point though....

Page 4 of 5 FirstFirst ... 2345 LastLast