Gerry McDermott calls rovers 'cup specialists' in todays indo.... I reckon he must read on here...
Harps Hit Dull Note.
The Star today re last nights cup match![]()
“Jockey Wilson . . . What an athlete.” - Sid Waddell
www.donegaldarts.com
Gerry McDermott calls rovers 'cup specialists' in todays indo.... I reckon he must read on here...
Ní neart go cur le chéile...
Keith
If anyone was watching the cup draw yesterday,someone said 'cup specialists' about shams aswell.Originally Posted by Supersaint3
Well Rovers being called "cup specialists" might be a cliché, but there is a certain amount of truth in it.Originally Posted by The Stars
But the way the big pub adopt a cliché like "the big club" for themselves must be the funniest/stupidest/and saddest cliché in Irish football all rolled into one.
This cup specalists tag really irritates some of you! It is a cliche, as witnessed by the amount of times its been used in the press recently, but there is something else going on with some posters here.
I dont understand the objection (apart from the cliche value). We have won it 24 times appearing in 31 finals in the 70 odd years of the competition. Thats an impressive statistic by any measure and entitles us to the name. Whats the gripe?
Because Longford are the holders after retaining the thing, and fair play. But they are 22 short of the record.
Is it simple jealousy of our success?
The MOST RIDICULOUS Irish football cliché : Anything with "Longford" and "Football" in the same sentance about a non-GAA/Rugby game.Originally Posted by Cop on
Longford Rugby?Originally Posted by patsh
Foot.ie's entire existence is predicated on the average idiot's inability to ignore other idiots
What a f*cking tit,i hate that c*nt,i thought i was the only one,he hasn't a f*cking clue about the EL and yet makes out that he is a big EL fan and that he knows it allOriginally Posted by Roo69
Would you call Nottingham Forest the European Cup specialists? Rovers have an amazing record in the cup, but over the past number of seasons have not performed as one would expect a cup team to do. At the moment I would have to list Longford as the current "cup specialists" as IMO it denotes a team that performs better in cup games than league form/ ability would suggest. (yes Longford are now going well in league, I know) Cup specialists tend to do well in cups but badly in the league (as a generalisation)Originally Posted by Roverstillidie
Foot.ie's entire existence is predicated on the average idiot's inability to ignore other idiots
Don't mean to pick on you in particular but this a huge cliché. Any time a big club is criticised their fans put it down to jealousy. Shels and (recently) Cork are terrible for this in particular.Originally Posted by Roverstillidie
Celtic fall by Wayside against Bohs - Aertel
“Jockey Wilson . . . What an athlete.” - Sid Waddell
www.donegaldarts.com
No, I would call Real Madrid the European cup specalists. We obviously disagree about the defenition, i would define it as most successful in any given competition, as obviously do the media!!!Originally Posted by bigmac
And you are quite obviously the quintessential bogman and a fine specimen of same!Originally Posted by Cop on
But well done on another season of mid-table mediocrity, a fine performance by the Whinger and his plucky little team again this year...
Originally Posted by Roverstillidie
in plain man's language Shamrock were the fai cup specialists, haven't been in years, and in the words of McBain, THAT IS THE JOKE!
Fair enough, I'd define it as the team currently most successful, ie, over the last few years. Would also exclude teams that are regularly challenging for league honours. e.g. I wouldn't call Arsenal cup specialists though they've been in most of the finals of recent years.Originally Posted by Roverstillidie
Agree to disagree as they say![]()
One of the biggest cliches is how everyone calls Marc Kenny a "dead ball specialist", has anyone actually ever seen him score a free kick?
Eoin Mullen, Bohemians legend!
"You should always take good care of your cat" - Postman Pat, 1991
2005 - a great year for Irish football
Yer man on Today FM was at it again today... Longford apparently "taught a lesson by UCD"![]()
Here's a tired cliché in eL circles. "UCD offer nothing to the league".![]()
yes.Originally Posted by aido_b
next question!
Sarcasm, amongst other things, is hardly your strong point though....Originally Posted by Cop on