Thread: Éamon McLoughlin...

3,223 Posts

Éamon McLoughlin...

...is Dominic Foley's agent apparently! I'm assuming it's the same Éamon, 'cos I know our one is a football agent (with Drury Sports Management) and it's not an overly common name. Nice to see the former UCD players doing well for themselves! Wonder if he had any part in Foley leaving though!?

Quote Originally Posted by pineapple stu
    ...is Dominic Foley's agent apparently! I'm assuming it's the same Éamon, 'cos I know our one is a football agent (with Drury Sports Management) and it's not an overly common name. Nice to see the former UCD players doing well for themselves! Wonder if he had any part in Foley leaving though!?
    Yeah thats right he works for quite a few footballers in the eL, think Drury have now changed there name to Platinium One or Platinium Sports ?

was O Callaghans agent too last time it came up in a story

http://www.platinumone.ie/representation/team.htm

Eamon McLoughlin :
    Eamon has been with PLATINUM one since 1999 working on the representation side of the business.

A former top class soccer player and gaelic footballer, Eamon captained the Irish schools team before spending 8 years in the Eircom League with UCD and Athlone Town. He was awarded international representative honours with the National League U21's in 1995-97.As a gaelic footballer he was full forward on the Dublin minor team which won the Leinster Championship in 1994.After turning down the opportunity to pursue a football career in the UK, Eamon joined UCD on a soccer scholarship and graduated with an Honours B.Comm in 1998 and a Masters
    in Marketing in 1999.

He gained his FIFA players agent licence in 2003 and was employed as a consultant in the joint bid to bring Euro 2008 to Ireland and Scotland.

3,223 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by Roo69
    was employed as a consultant in the joint bid to bring Euro 2008 to Ireland and Scotland.
    Hardly the kind of thing you want mentioned on your CV!!

Fintan Drury himself is another former UCD player, of course. Must have a check and see if they have any others!

Edit - there's only two people listed in the "The team" section?

dunno how true it is but i if i recall correctly he was also involved in brokering the Keane comeback special, which the King organised following talks with Col. Brian Kerr

...and did the Ozo testimonial special....

man of many talents

3,223 Posts
    Also put the Paddy Power logos on the Cork hurleys a couple of years back.

Quote Originally Posted by pineapple stu

Edit - there's only two people listed in the "The team" section?
    The two in question are the only two mentioned because they are the only two staff members with the official FIFA agent qualification.

I believe Richard Sadlier is also employed by Platinum one as well.
    Where you start is not as important as where you finish!!!!

Now that i think of it Platinum one also represent Clive Delaney. I think they were responsible for his move to West Ham
    Where you start is not as important as where you finish!!!!

He did his masters thesis on Pats...

Dolan went to sign him and Eamon was interested until Dolan told him he'd be expected to work in a marketing capacity. Nice bloke too...

20 Posts
    Sadly his greatest accolade is omitted from his CV.

Eamon McLoughlin held the title of UCD Hardcore champion from the beginning of time until he left Belfield, where it was passed on to Robbie Doyle and the present holder Mick O'Donnell.
    Check out my new sports blog http://www.action81.com

Quote Originally Posted by Aberdonian Stu
    Sadly his greatest accolade is omitted from his CV.

Eamon McLoughlin held the title of UCD Hardcore champion from the beginning of time until he left Belfield, where it was passed on to Robbie Doyle and the present holder Mick O'Donnell.

And this is.............

How can you forget the most dominant ever champion, Richie Purdy?

716 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by Roo69
    And this is.............
    The most vile, inhuman viscious hacker on the team, able to injure players with a single glare, get sent off because he felt that their right-back needed a good thump and torture small, defenseless creatures in his spare time.

Quote Originally Posted by John83
    The most vile, inhuman viscious hacker on the team, able to injure players with a single glare, get sent off because he felt that their right-back needed a good thump and torture small, defenseless creatures in his spare time.
    Excellent Must tell Robbie, i'm sure he'll be delighted !

20 Posts
    I knew I'd forgotten somebody. I don't see how Purdy could be considered the most dominant champ as Eamo has to hold that accolade.

Robbie's victory was very different to the rest as most of his were one off "incisive" fouls usually less vicious than the other title-holders. I think he's also the only player to win new player of the season and the hardcore title in the same year.
    Check out my new sports blog http://www.action81.com

I don't see how Purdy could be considered the most dominant champ as Eamo has to hold that accolade.
    I'd be fairly certain that he won it by more that year than anyone else ever did, which is what I meant by 'most dominant'. He had something like 8 yellows in 9 games at one stage I think!

70 Posts
    Is it just me or have we been extremely well disciplined this year? Not one red card if I recall correctly and not many bookings. Any chance we could top the fair play league with a backdoor shot at Europe?

Quote Originally Posted by Poor Student
    Is it just me or have we been extremely well disciplined this year? Not one red card if I recall correctly and not many bookings. Any chance we could top the fair play league with a backdoor shot at Europe?
    I'd say we're walking the Fair Play League. We only get a chance of Europe if Ireland's Fair Play rating is high enough though. Does anyone have a link to that?

3,223 Posts
    There is no European Fair Play table at present because there've been no matches (or not enough to bother talking about) so far. Last year, we were way down in the 20s with 7.8 or so. Historically, we've qualified every other year, though the Irish team (UCD once and Cork twice) have never made it through the draw. The year we were in, Ireland were second - 0.02 off an automatic UEFA Cup spot for us.

With regards the Irish Fair Play award (maybe this should be a separate thread?), the following suspensions list from the FAI website is encouraging reading! In fact, it's so long that it won't even fit in a single post!!! Only Harps, Cork and us (I think) have no first-teamers suspended. Having said that, Conor Sammon is banned for one U-21 game and Ronan Finn for 5 games for being sent off v. Garda!