Quote Originally Posted by kingcolers
    the headline says it all. brilliant.

http://www.uefa.com/competitions/UEF...Report=RP.html
    The picture says it all!
    Extratime.ie

Yo te quiero, mi querida. Sin tus besos, yo soy nada.

Abri o portão de ouro, da maquina do tempo.

Mi mamá me hizo guapo, listo y antimadridista.

Quote Originally Posted by pete
    Did Dolan have an anti-dublin/FAI rant last night?

The one thing i think is great about Rico is he lives in the moment & doesn't spoil it by any stupid rants - everything in its own time.

the funniest part of the commentary fell to Ger Canning - after acity attack early in the game he wet himself with "They know what they're doing! City know what they're doing!"

I think he was working under the assumption that the Cork players took up this football lark at the start of the season

Quote Originally Posted by A face
    [SIZE=5]If it is a big game then just put more screens on Patrick Street !!

Simple solution !!
    [/SIZE]
    But do you think the club will throw away the extra cash they could gain form holding it in a bigger ground?

Quote Originally Posted by wws
    the sooner it goes the better from an image point of view
    You wont get any argument from me about that.
    Can't wait for the redevelopment!

I think its was very interesting the way City players didn't go nuts celebrating. They obviously celebrated for a few minutes but then went off to their changing room & back out for warm down.

Shows how irish football getting more professional & credit to Rico for not focusing too much on Europe to the detrement of the league.

Well done Cork City. It was great to be there (cheers Éanna). You more than deserved it. Kearney, Gamble and especially Murphy were the real heros in my book but credit's due all round!

I don't know who was the official Man of the Match I saw Neal Fenn got it but imo Liam Kearney should have got it.

What a player.What a player.

Fabulous result but more important was the performance. To get through by attacking Djurgardens and causing them prblems makes it so much better than sitting back and holding on to the 0-0 (Fenlon take note!). To see Kearney, O'Callaghan and Fenn beating players and outplaying the opposition was fantastic, really shows the quality in the league very well.

Well done Cork and best of luck in the next round.

I was at the game and it is the best European display I've ever seen from an Irish Club side ( and in fact a lot better than the football the Ireland team have played in a number of matches ).

The atmosphere is electric and was possibly one of the best atmospheres I've ever been in.

The team ( every single one of them ) were magnificent and each player was able to hold onto the ball and find another City player with it, yes, even Dan Murray

Technically Cork were excellent, the defending was superb ( they must have won 65-75% of the challenges and at least 90% of the headers ) but it was there overall play and use of the ball that was just mind blowing.

I said to the friend who was with me who supports City that if City play like this then they deserve to win the league. Pat Fenlon has been shown what can be done by an Irish team in Europe and should bow his head in shame.

I listened to 96FM this morning and a woman came on the air to say that she doesn't follow sport but she flicked over to the match on TV last night and was glued to it, basically thought that it was amazing and has found a new pastime for herself now ( supporting Cork City ). I said to my friends after the 1st leg against Steau that whatever about the result, Shels would never attract new fans by playing 4-5-1 longball.

Fair play to Cork, you've really brought it to the next level.

Talking

[QUOTE=Shelsman]
    I listened to 96FM this morning and a woman came on the air to say that she doesn't follow sport but she flicked over to the match on TV last night and was glued to it, basically thought that it was amazing and has found a new pastime for herself now ( supporting Cork City ).

I heard that too thought it was class. I work in a shop with alot of old women who would'nt have an interest in sport at all and alot of them came up to me today and said they watched the match. The tea breaks at work were filled with did you see the CITY match last night and didnt Rico look well and he is so well spoken not the usual gossip. I was in my element had some smile on my face all day. Didnt get much work done but what could you do!!!!

Agree with everything. Would like to say how well John O' Flynn played. All heart, skill , speed. The Flynny of old is the Flynny of new. Keep it up John. Watch out Finn Harps. Goals to follow. And Roy O Donovan did really well when he came on because it was a big pressure situation especially after being left out.

Brilliant performance ,crowd result etc etc.Danny Murphy was my man of the match.(I missed the shed).Its brilliant to hear other LOi fans supporting Cork City as well and getting all there good wishes .Thanks .

Forget to say about Richardsons decision to bring on O' Donovan for Alan Bennett. My god that took guts and i admit i was taken aback. In retrospect good man Damien. Big Derek has seen so little football this season this was probably not the time or game to throw him in. Maybe against Finn Harps on Monday might be the time for Coughlans return? I'm sure if it happens he will get a big welcome home. And by extension fair play once again to the mighty Greg O' Halloran for stepping in to defence in such a situation. Christ you couldn't fault any of them really could you?

Quote Originally Posted by sullanefc
    If I had one criticism of the team last night was our reluctance to shoot. There were oppertunities there to have a smack but the passing continued, it's only a small gripe as I thought we kept the ball well anyway.
    Good tactics IMO. Shhoting may have delievered something but on the other hand it would have given the ball back immediately and they were so quick on the break.

The way the lads played was outstanding I thought. They held it up but went at them when the space appeared - no panicking - very controlled.

A night I'll never forget.
    Irish by birth,
    Cork by the grace of God.

Congrats Cork, fantastic result.
    Ever get the feelin' you have been cheated?

Roy's Yellow Card

I thought that Roy's yellow was the harshest I have ever seen. Totally unnecessary by the ref.
    Injustice anywhere threatens justice everywhere - Martin Luther King Jnr.

hahaha..... JOKEGARDENS!!!!
    Whatever it was I am sure it was better than my plan to get out of this by pretending to be mad. I mean, who would have noticed another madman around here?

Only back now after a weekend in Berlin but saw the game in London thanks to some great hospitality and organising skills
    It was indeed a night to be proud of City. It was unbelieveable and reading through some of the Irish press yesterday was just amazing.
    I thought the team's performance - particularly Kearney and Murphy - were superb and the steel and calmness that they have learned this season showed through once again.

More nights like that please!!
    Last edited by niamh; 31/08/2005 at 1:56 PM.

Quote Originally Posted by wws
    my read of it is that Dolan gave them the psychological boost that cork football badly needed - he planted the ide in their heads about belief - and he brought a shítload of players in. But it really took a football brain to make best use of it - stand up rico - together they'd make some partnership!
    great analysis

Page 4 of 4 FirstFirst ... 234