Thread: The Official Cork City FC v Djurgarden IF Thread

Well done Cork. Sweet result.

btw Thanks for the tip CTID. I'm sure it's duly noted
    "I don’t want to tempt fate, but Thierry Henry is not having one of his best nights." - RTE co-commentator Jim Beglin, minutes before TH struck the stunning winner.

Liam was outstanding!
    Fenn was composed and slick.
    Danny Murphy was the dogs undercarriage! How brave is that lad!
    Mick Devine was alert and in control at all times. (Don't mention the back pass)
    Georgie was tricky and inventive.
    Joe was solid and disrupted their build up play.
    Greg was tremendous!
    Hoggie was even better than he normally is, and that's saying something.
    Flynnie was a threat.
    Benno was brilliant! Hope the injury isn't too serious.
    Dan was strong and lead from the back.
    Roy caused trouble when he came on.

All round it was an impressive performance.
    Very professional and we deserved to progress.

If it wasn't for the All Blacks winger that Djurgardens had between the sticks, we'd have beaten them on the night.
    How big was that keeper!?

I was pleased with the performance of the officials.

RTÉ have had 3 huge games in the last few weeks and they have to feel they've got value for money.

By the way, who were the two Longford Town fans that Darragh Maloney was talking about?

If I had one criticism of the team last night was our reluctance to shoot. There were oppertunities there to have a smack but the passing continued, it's only a small gripe as I thought we kept the ball well anyway.

Quote Originally Posted by sullanefc
    If I had one criticism of the team last night...
    Today is not a day for criticising the team.
    What we've done is fantastic and validates our success last year.
    I'm sure you could find a lot wrong with the performance if you went looking for it but the most important thing is that we worked together as a team to get the result we needed.
    Lets just savour the moment.

Quote Originally Posted by Peadar
    Today is not a day for criticising the team.
    What we've done is fantastic and validates our success last year.
    I'm sure you could find a lot wrong with the performance if you went looking for it but the most important thing is that we worked together as a team to get the result we needed.
    Lets just savour the moment.
    Agreed.

Just to put things into perspective, before last nights game we had a coeffecient of 1.375 and Djurgardens IF had a coeffecient of 10.076

Going forward,
    Hamburger SV have 24.166
    Everton have 20.864
    SK Slavia Praha have 35.223
    AJ Auxerre have 51.324
    PAOK FC have 35.715

Hamburger SV have qualified through the Intertoto Cup.
    SK Slavia Praha and Everton dropped out of the Champions League.

Make no doubt about it, we're in with the big boys now!

fair play to cork, only saw the first half but this is a victory for positive football by an el side - the contrast with shelbournes european "effort" could not be more marked - and marks the gulf between Rico and Fenlon in attitude to the game

Quote Originally Posted by wws
    fair play to cork, only saw the first half but...
    They came at us a bit more in the second half but that brought the best out in our game.
    Kearney was like the Damien Duff of Ireland the way he tormented defenders and midfielders alike.
    I think Kenny at Derry will mean that the eL will be well represented next year in Europe again.

Fair play to Georgie in his interview after the game. He recalled how the previous management were the ones three years ago that set the ball rolling, and gave them the belief not to be 'mediocre' any more.....

I know most of ye have goldfish memories..nice of Georgie not to.

my read of it is that Dolan gave them the psychological boost that cork football badly needed - he planted the ide in their heads about belief - and he brought a shítload of players in. But it really took a football brain to make best use of it - stand up rico - together they'd make some partnership!

Quote Originally Posted by wws
    my read of it is that Dolan gave them the psychological boost that cork football badly needed - he planted the ide in their heads about belief - and he brought a shítload of players in. But it really took a football brain to make best use of it - stand up rico - together they'd make some partnership!
    Ditto

I'm just so proud today. Reading the match reports is like reliving it again. I;ve a big grin today at work
    340 mile round trip for home European game was totally worth it. Its great to knock out arrogant opposition by playing better football than them. Its brilliant to see "cultured foreigners" resorting to long balls to Dan Murrays head.

Kearney was amazing & Fenn again really rose to the occasion.

Was really only worried in the middle of the 2nd half when the Swedes rasied the tempo & we were under some pressure.

How did it look on tv? Even with the Shed closed atmosphere was brilliant with whole ground singing from the start.

I think a lot of barstoolers took notice last night as been getting few texts from people who would never watch the eL.

No doubt Dolan has to get some credit, I would agree with wws' assessment.
    However, Dolan needs to let go now and stop hanging around.

Quote Originally Posted by pete
    How did it look on tv?
    Brilliant, but it made me upset that I couldn't be there.
    If the Shed is going to be closed, could we not do a better job of covering all that side with flags?
    One huge one and loads of smaller ones?
    If they're running along the tops of the crush barriers they look good on TV.

well in fairness hes been co commentator for TV in your last three games, he's hardly hanging around - by the way not a peep out of cork players or manager about the massive "training facilities" issue

just goes to show how real an issue that was in the greater scheme of things...

Did Dolan have an anti-dublin/FAI rant last night?

The one thing i think is great about Rico is he lives in the moment & doesn't spoil it by any stupid rants - everything in its own time.

I think City have adapted to the European style nicely and its great to see the team excel the way they have
    j'accuse!

Quote Originally Posted by Peadar
    Brilliant, but it made me upset that I couldn't be there.
    If the Shed is going to be closed, could we not do a better job of covering all that side with flags?
    One huge one and loads of smaller ones?
    If they're running along the tops of the crush barriers they look good on TV.

have to say turners cross looked BETTER with the shed closed - as it packed teh rest of the ground - ive never seen a tv game where the rest of teh ground didnt look bad cause of empty seats at the annes end - the shed itself even if full looks awful on tv as it barely takes up 1/3 of that end and looks like a builders afterthought rather than part of the stadium - the sooner it goes the better from an image point of view

the opposite end looked brilliant on tv especially when the crowd got more behind the team

What were the viewing figures last lads ?? .... anyone know ??

Page 3 of 4 FirstFirst 1234 LastLast