the headline says it all. brilliant.
http://www.uefa.com/competitions/UEF...Report=RP.html
....Well done,great advertisement for our league.
www.galwayunitedfc.net -----New GUFC fans forum and Gust Website.
Europe's Big Club.
"Cause Galway are MASSIVE"-RW Rover on 24/8/07 00:29am
the headline says it all. brilliant.
http://www.uefa.com/competitions/UEF...Report=RP.html
Well done Cork City in both legs.... Longford Town.. that is how to perform in Europe.... Best of luck in the next round and hope ye make the Group stages.
Congrats, go on to kick arse!
okay, it did say "Classy Cork deny Djurgardens" - changed it to "Calm Cork..."
you should know all about editorial perogative...I reckon the reporter on the ground got carried away with the "Classy" description and UEFA had to change it after calls fom DIF fans. Great game - City were in fact both calm and classy!! Atmosphere was the best ever..
Well done cork!
lets just hope you don't get one of those decent middle of the road teams and stay away from the ****in french!
Btw if you get a really big tie like roma I doubt you will play it in the X so wre will you play it?
Jebus, I must be the first CCFC supporter to get home, langers or not, and the buzz around town is unbelievable.
I have not seen grown men (in their 50s) crying before. Tonight, the tears flowed.
I do not know how many disappointing nights they have seen at Flower Lodge or at Turners Cross. But tonight . . . .
Tonight two rivers flow through Cork, and one of them is made of people in green shirts. The atmosphere is a mixture of noisy, raw excitement and quiet wonderment. Cork must be the safest place in Ireland tonight. Everywhere I walked, people seemed to be caught up in the glow of the win. It reminds me of the night of Ray Houghton's goal in the Giants Stadium in USA 94. Everybody seemed to want to talk to each other about it.
Tonight my children have gone to sleep with the widest grins on their faces, with the names of Dan Murray, little Liam Kearney and Danny Murphy on their lips. My daughter aged 9 has seen something which she says she will never forget.
Somehow, I think she is right.
Injustice anywhere threatens justice everywhere - Martin Luther King Jnr.
Nomination for post of the month!Originally Posted by Fair_play_boy
Wow, that mach report was spot on. Neale Fenn was absolute class in the first half and Danny Murphy was a real hero in the second half. He denied them so much in the second half and got my MOM for the game he was immense. Kearney played well but Murphy saved our bacon in the second half.Originally Posted by kingcolers
But thats not to take away from the rest of the players. Really classy performance and every player did us proud. I'm so proud tonight. I hope we get Everton or Roma in the next round and put them to the sword.
Class!!!!
I am hoping for somebody a bit closer to home, so that we get huge support at both legs. Hibernians or Middlesborough would be attractive. Everton don't join until a later stage, I think.Originally Posted by Dyl10
As regards the venue, 7000 people jammed into Turners Cross tonight. It was a bit like the school buses at St. Annes end, where we were three to a seat in many places. Really it only caused a problem when we sang "Sit Down for The Cork City". I reckon we shoul;d and will play our next game here, no matter how big the opposition.
I hope it won't be the last time your daughter sees the likes of that at the Cross.
Back to the game - Kearney was sensational, best game he ever played for Cork. O'Flynn was great and Fenn was just top drawer briliant. Djurgarden hoped that Hoggie was a weak link and he showesdthat looking like one is part of his strength. They were all great, an astonishing performance of maturity, class and courage. Bring on whoever UEFA chooses to send this way tomorrow morning.
This is the sort of post I like to return to months later, to remind me of the fantastic night we have just witnessed and been part of.Originally Posted by Schunter Netz
Originally Posted by Fair_play_boy
[SIZE=5]If it is a big game then just put more screens on Patrick Street !!
Simple solution !! [/SIZE]
It wasn't just the result, it was the manner of the performance. The Swedes barely had a decent chance all night, and had no idea how to break yous down. It all boils down to belief. Genuinely delighted, a terrific result. Playing like that, the next round might not be the psychological barrier it has been up to now.
No Elvis, Beatles or the Rolling Stones
In 1977
yeah i totally agree about the belief thing.. I think a lot of irish sides didnt think they could get results in Europe but they can now. A lot of it is showing the opposition that you belive you should go through and not giving them a reason to play.
Any time Djurgardens tried to get into the game there was a confident Cork response. I know a lot of people slate him but Dolan did give his side a lot of belief and he did do a lot of good things for Cork. Richardson progressed that.
Looking back at Shels European games, I cant help but feel that Nutsy got it all wrong, that we were so brittle playing. Hopefully Shels (if we can make it to Europe this or next season) will learn from this.
Totally eclipsed the best performance I think I've ever seen by an Irish team.
Two years in a row, Irish teams in the first round proper of the UEFA Cup, keep flying the flag lads!Fingers crossed you can make the group stages!
God
Absolutely top class. I'm not a big fan of Fenn, but last night his ability to hold the ball up and allow his midfield and wide men to play off him was superb. Patsh and co, we were all City fans last night and best of luck for the draw today. (We'll get back to slagging next week!)
A triumph for the coach (I say "coach" because most Irish teams employ managers who alternately pick the team and mouth off to the media, Cork's performance last night was that of a team which had been comprehensively drilled and moulded to the requirements of the situation as it presented itself.)
The more technically capable individuals (Fenn, O'Callaghan) displayed flawless tactical discipline. Gamble was deployed in a more conventional DM role than he'd normally adopt, and joined up play superbly.
I wouldn't say Cork "played them off the park" (teams don't get played off the park at this level unless there's something seriously awry, and Djurgardens created better and more numerous chances), but the victory was well-merited.
A leading authority on League of Ireland football since 2003. You're probably wrong.
Ronan should seriously think about installing you on the management team after that analysis, Sheridan!Originally Posted by Sheridan