So is poor old Travers 4th choice??!
Travers, Keane, Stevens, and Lenihan all drop out of squad.
O’Leary, Doherty Omobamidele, and Sinclair all added to match day squad.
So is poor old Travers 4th choice??!
I hope this is Kenny's last game in charge for many reasons. One that seems overlooked is that he has created/supported a culture in the squad where losing is accepted as grand as long as the ball is knocked around a bit. The older players and a couple of the younger ones show real fight but there seem to be plenty who are happy enough to just go along and seem unfussed by the terrible results. These are usually his most ardent supporters in the media, Doherty as a senior player probably most vocal and guilty of this attitude.
I also find the comments from Kenny like in this window that they are "targetting four points" which then changes to "sure we were never going to beat France, only messing there lads. The real target is Holland" disingenuous to the point of being insulting.
I presume you're exaggerating for effect and he didn't really say he was targetting four points from this window?
(I know there was all the stuff about hoping to win the Nations League group and to qualify for the Euros)
I don't think it came from Kenny himself but that message was certainly relayed by at least one squad member. When we blew up in the world cup qualifiers the messaging was similar, the target was always Germany.
He's out of road now bar a win tonight anyway. Surely.
I've heard various rumours about a break clause. I'm not sure it's not wishful thinking from some folks.
You can't spell failure without FAI
I think the FAI are reported to have set him a target from these two games. I think he’s toast regardless. Greece away was the one that everything was building up to imho, as an indication that the project was making progress. It was a disaster.
I still think there have been some good parts to his tenure and some valid mitigants when things went wrong but the good bits were never built upon and we lost control of games against lesser opponents too often.
If we are still in it mathematically with a spirited draw will he get a stay of execution until November and the search begins in the meantime? That assumes the search isn't underway...
Is it worth noting Maccabi Tel Aviv have started with 8 wins and 2 draws from their first 10 games? 30-6 is their goal difference record in that time.
And maybe the Israeli league isn't high-profile enough or high-paying enough that the Ireland job mayn't be a slightly more attractive option?
It would be gas if Robbie Keane were the successor, having been paid for nothing for the last while. But he has to be in the frame I think.
Would money be that big of an issue for Keane? Hasn't he been investing in blockbuster movies, and properties and all sorts of rich people stuff for two decades at this stage.
Just realised there isn't a ticketing thread these days! I'll find something. I've never seen the Dutch, oddly enough.
It's really an awful kick off time for a match.
I think national pride would be as big, if not bigger, a motivating factor as money for Robbie to take the Irish job. I’d say the current salary would be plenty enough for Robbie, given his current profile.
Thanks for the stats above PS, had lost track of that appointment. Doing well it seems but maybe needs a larger sample size and possibly a level up (to avoid the same treatment as SK got in some quarters).