Thread: Limerick2000???

Limerick2000???

What are the opinions on organising a Limerick2000?, a big push to get 2000 into hogan park for a designated fixture, possibly cobh or the last game of the season (would be especially good if we were in contention for promotion or playoff). We were going to call it Limerick5000 because we're very funny but alas were not that funny afterall. If we had a bit of backing from the club it would make life easier, aswell as allowing the club to reap the financial benefits, ie: gates obviously plus selling flags and scarfs by the turnstiles etc, they could look into particular initiatives like half-time entertainment or one-off special offers or prizes for the game etc. We could push for EVERYONE to wear blue, get the radio, the post, the leader behind it, hand-out leaflets etc... Could promote in such a way to get families out for the match aswell (but keep them far far away from the shed for obvious reasons!) I think some-one suggested getting the visiting team's supporters club to organise their version of Galway500 on the day aswell...

Quote Originally Posted by thelimerick
    I think some-one suggested getting the visiting team's supporters club to organise their version of Galway500 on the day aswell...
    Oh No! I'm not watching a game with 500 Queenstown fans

Seriously, good idea tho, fair play for trying. I could probably drag 4 or 5 people kicking and screaming to the ground (friends you understand, not random people ) If all the regulars manage the same we won't be far off

Thumbs up good idea

its a great idea and yea i think the queenstown game would be the one. I wish we had scarves to sell, i gave mine away to a little english girl who was over with her daddy from Luton the other day, my other one went to a kid in a wheelchair in derry some years ago so come on club where are them scarves?

Fair play thelimerick.

I agree that the Cobh game is probably best one to go for - its a month away so enough time to organise, local derby, better chance of away support, its a meaningful game, the games between us are always eventful. Only problem would be bringing children to see them - might be considered abuse.

If the game was a good one then you may get benefit in subsequent games whereas leaving it to last match means that you get no knock-on effect.

I agree about shooting for 2000. Its very achievable and if we get more on the night all the better. The entertainment/family aspect would be important and the club should get behind it as much as possible. This would be a great chance to mend a few bridges.

I'm willing to help any way I can (beforehand or on the night). Of course I will try to grab as many friends and family to go as possible. I can get you a very willing volunteer to put up posters/hand out leaflets etc. Just say the word.
    "It's impossible to make a man understand something when his livelihood depends on him not understanding" Upton Sinclair

so is it cobh

So are we settled on the Cobh game so for Friday 23rd of September? Lets all get behind this one lads and give it a big push. We may need some practice though in getting ppl along so bring them to the Galway game before that so they know their way

Yes a very good idea, all for it!
    Mama Mia!!

Just for information - don't think it will necessarily detract from Limerick2000 -but Munster are scheduled to play Llanelli Scarlets in Thomond Park the same night as the Cobh game.
    "It's impossible to make a man understand something when his livelihood depends on him not understanding" Upton Sinclair

Quote Originally Posted by samuel
    A great idea with twelve games left and promotion a very real possibility.
    It will be great to see McGrath making his home debut also. Ex Villa boss
    John Gregory described him as the most natural left sided midfielder in the Premiership a few years back adding that he had a left foot like a wand.
    I wouldn't be listening to too much gregory had to say about anyone !!

days are numbered so?

A great idea with twelve games left and promotion a very real possibility.
    It will be great to see McGrath making his home debut also. Ex Villa boss
    John Gregory described him as the most natural left sided midfielder in the Premiership a few years back adding that he had a left foot like a wand.
    so whos days are numbered so...young is gone down the pecking order big time so does this mean Donnellen?

Ex Villa boss John Gregory described McGrath as the most natural left sided midfielder in the Premiership a few years back adding that he had a left foot like a wand.
    So can we expect to see him playing down the RIGHT wing for Limerick then?
    If you don't like John 3:7...
    There's always Limerick 37!

so true

With Darren Young clearly invisible to Noel O'Connor (even Willie John used to rave about Darren on here) I'd hope that Brian Donnellan would be pushed onto his favoured right side and Chris Kearns would make way. I'd go with...

Mooney

O'Mahony Molan Finucane Tobin

Donnellan Sweeney Keating McGrath

Kelleher Barrett

Great Idea on the Limerick 2000. Lets all get behind this. The Club have showed (Good man DD & NOC) great ambition in the John mcGrath Signing and
    we need now to push on and get the hell out of this division.

Like SLK's Team especially as Tommy is finding the net these days.

Over in London for a few games this weekend and watched my other team QPR last night, almost as bad as the Kilkenny game, not Kidding . Great story re the Rangers chariman who was ousted by another group last week. It involved the brandishing of a revolver and forcing people to sign documents...That sounds like something from a Gangster movie

All the best

JohnD
    "How Can you lie there and think of England when you don't even know who's in the team"-- B.Bragg

Good idea, I might be able to drag Nempton along for a game for a change

Quote Originally Posted by sadloserkid
    With Darren Young clearly invisible to Noel O'Connor (even Willie John used to rave about Darren on here) I'd hope that Brian Donnellan would be pushed onto his favoured right side and Chris Kearns would make way. I'd go with...

Mooney

O'Mahony Molan Finucane Tobin

Donnellan Sweeney Keating McGrath

Kelleher Barrett
    Would agree with most of your selection but I would move Molan to left back and bring in Buckley.His aerial presence at the back and for set pieces in the opposing half will be vital for the big push towards promotion/playoffs
    Unity is Power, Power if shared is Strength, Limerick 37 serving the Community of Limerick.

John McGrath has only signed until the end of the season - with a view to another 12 months. He'll be hoping to make a good impression so a full-time outfit like Cork City will pick him up for next season. Ultimately he wants to play and train full time. That's the reality of the situation. If he shines and helps us go up, the other side of the coin is that a bigger club will end up signing him. He's a good short term acquisition and I suppose that has to be applauded. I just hope he won't be played out of position, but that's like hoping it won't rain tomorrow.....

Red face If your lucky..

...you might get as many into Hogan park as you brought to Terryland lads The embarrasment...The most succesful plan in el history the Galway 500! lol

Quote Originally Posted by Aaron GUFC
    ...you might get as many into Hogan park as you brought to Terryland lads The embarrasment...The most succesful plan in el history the Galway 500! lol
    There wasn't 500 people in the whole ground that night so whatever about us I think that the home club should have been a bit embarrassed.

Quote Originally Posted by thelimerick
    What are the opinions on organising a Limerick2000?, a big push to get 2000 into hogan park for a designated fixture, possibly cobh or the last game of the season (would be especially good if we were in contention for promotion or playoff). We were going to call it Limerick5000 because we're very funny but alas were not that funny afterall. If we had a bit of backing from the club it would make life easier, aswell as allowing the club to reap the financial benefits, ie: gates obviously plus selling flags and scarfs by the turnstiles etc, they could look into particular initiatives like half-time entertainment or one-off special offers or prizes for the game etc. We could push for EVERYONE to wear blue, get the radio, the post, the leader behind it, hand-out leaflets etc... Could promote in such a way to get families out for the match aswell (but keep them far far away from the shed for obvious reasons!) I think some-one suggested getting the visiting team's supporters club to organise their version of Galway500 on the day aswell...
    Are ye the same crowd that organised the Sligo 5?

Quote Originally Posted by sligoman
    Are ye the same crowd that organised the Sligo 5?
    Yeah, and they haven't been seen since. Free the Sligo 5!