Page 3 of 5 FirstFirst 12345 LastLast

Thread: Games weekend 25th to 28th August

103 Posts
    For once we won a game that we didn’t deserve to win ….. great to see Mannus looking back to his best as was Watts…. And Pico was as usual Pico plus a super goal ….. best part of the evening was to see return of Clarke …. First time in weeks we’ve had some real pace in the team…. He looked the business and Dundalk couldn’t handle him ( despite trying to by roughing him up)

PS O’Donnell had Duns organised really well but his ott theatrics and non stop berating of the officials made him look like an immature teenager ( reminded me of the Kevin character from Harry Enfield) he needs to cop on or is he trying to outDuff Duff ? Anyway it’s embarrassing

200 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by kksaints View Post
    If UCD had gotten an equaliser it wouldn't have been undeserved. We were really bad and created nothing really bar the setpiece we scored from which was the worst defending I've seen from a corner in a long time. I think Daly got his lineup wrong with four central midfielders and one of them repeatedly switching wings with Mulraney (who was probably our best player) which didn't work.
    Ir was strange, a lot of the time Leavy would come over to the right wing and both him and Mulraney would be on the same side, along with McLaughlin on the overlap it ended up overcrowded on one wing and with only Carty in the box to attempt to get on the end of the crosses in a box that was packed with UCD defenders. Wasn’t pretty but 3 points is the most important thing at this stage of the season. Aside from the corner that the goal came from, UCD were very well organised and looked dangerous on the counter to be fair to them
    Last edited by 2 Year Contract; 25/08/2023 at 9:44 PM.
    Paaatrick's Agletic

36 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by joey B View Post
    Harps abject at home again,Longford got their goal and saw it out with little trouble,for us to be where we are in the table raises huge questions about the management team,2 league wins at home all season is atrocious and not what was expected......
    If there was a semblance of a game plan I'd say fair enough. He was all talk saying we were going to be a ball playing team, easy on the eye. We don't do this. We have no threat going forward bar Floods left foot and at the back we are all over the place by and large, although tonight wasn't the worst on that front. A dismal season. I really fear what Pat's will do to us in a few weeks

60 Posts
    Nice to mark Treaty United's 100th competitive game with a win over Kerry.

Sterling performance by teenager Robbie Lynch, one of five local lads in the eleven with another two coming on off the bench.

672 Posts
    Cracking game at Dalymount. A draw probably a fair result but we just can't get one of these over the line right now. And you can't win leagues without these games going your way.

Was super impressed at our response after getting pinned for the opening 15 mins. But Diallo playing top drawer in recent weeks and then doing a braindead thing like that kind of sums it up.

What a save from Talbot from Doherty's effort too. None of these inches going our way right now.
    Ou-est le Centre George Pompidou?

368 Posts
    Dundalk possibly better team 20-45 mins and a host of chances, all missed of course, but can't really have too much complaints overall as we didn't do enough second half, Rovers better when it mattered.

Bizarre selection by SOD having Annsley paired with Brownlie with Boyle on the bench, Leahy too on the bench, and oh Hoban on bench, can't understand that.

Anyway didn't see us finishing top 3 and that's all but confirmed now, all about the cup and the positives tonight should see the team in good stead for Cup QF in Galway.

Horgan should be up to 100% fitness then, a few more big performances and we have a good chance, def think 2 or 3 long patches of play tonight is something Galway won't have seen all year, but they are at home !

Anyway for the PD, I think Rovers will win it, they just know how to grind out results.
    #DundalkFC - First Irish club to win an away game in Europe (1963), first Irish club to win points in a group stage in Europe (2016).

Drogs took a massive step towards staying up tonight.
    Drogheda United in this together

217 Posts
    A home league win and getting to at least 10 points is the best Kerry can hope for for the remaining of the season. Absolutely incapable of grinding out results.
    https://foot.ie/forums/117-Kerry-FC
    A Championship: 4 years - 8 first teams - 0 financially ruined. First Division '14: 7 first teams.
    Opportunity lost for new clubs/regions to join the LoI family.

28 Posts
    Wow Rovers were shocking in the first half and when i saw the starting 11 i thought we might struggle. Poor Dylan Watts looked so off the pace last night and Ronan Finn just never got into the game. Kavanagh tbf had his best game in ages despite a couple of getting caught outs" in the first half. Poom made a massive difference when he came on and then as we subbed we got stronger and quicker. Total Rebuild now needed, will Bradser stay to start the construction work ???. Would have been great to have the new stand open for next Friday but those 2 green seats are still sitting there all alone waiting for their mates. Trevor's gonna get ya.

I don’t think we deserved to lose that game last night. We really should have scored in the first half and it would have given us something to hold on to. We really aren’t clinical enough and I think Hoban would have buried that header that Martin missed with in the first half.

It was a strange feeling at the end of the game, disappointed with the result but it was our best performance for a while. I couldn’t believe how open Rovers were when we countered, there were a number of times our attackers just strolled right through the middle.

If we play like that for rest of the season we might just do enough to get a Euro spot but it looks like we’ll have to go all out for the cup for that.

368 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by Yossarian View Post
    I don’t think we deserved to lose that game last night. We really should have scored in the first half and it would have given us something to hold on to. We really aren’t clinical enough and I think Hoban would have buried that header that Martin missed with in the first half.

It was a strange feeling at the end of the game, disappointed with the result but it was our best performance for a while. I couldn’t believe how open Rovers were when we countered, there were a number of times our attackers just strolled right through the middle.

If we play like that for rest of the season we might just do enough to get a Euro spot but it looks like we’ll have to go all out for the cup for that.
    And there lies the problem, def deserved a draw but don't take your chances, you obviously don't score, only have to look at KA game in Europe, they had 6 or 7 attempts over the 2 games and scored 5 times, we probably had 10 attempts and scored 3.

Last night we had 4 big chances alone in the first half, missed them all.
    #DundalkFC - First Irish club to win an away game in Europe (1963), first Irish club to win points in a group stage in Europe (2016).

355 Posts
    Looked a couple of poor decisions in the Drogheda/Cork game,harsh red and never a penalty..,
    Terrible decision from Diallo in the Bohs/Derry game for the penalty aswell,very rash …..
    Irish by birth ,Harps by the grace of god.

Quote Originally Posted by legendz View Post
    A home league win and getting to at least 10 points is the best Kerry can hope for for the remaining of the season. Absolutely incapable of grinding out results.
    Capable of scoring goals, not capable defending down the stretch. To be fair, Kerry played Treaty off the pitch and should have been 1-2 up before Kerry gifted Treaty the killer goal from a mistake at the back. Three games in a row I must say Kerry outplayed Cobh, Wexford and Treaty, but only have 1 point to show. Fair play to Treaty and the manager for the changes as they made a big difference in the game.

10 points is realistic. You would have to say Kerry are one transfer window away from being a formidable opponent for anyone outside the top 2-3 in the division next year. Here's hoping

217 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by dansultheman View Post
    10 points is realistic. You would have to say Kerry are one transfer window away from being a formidable opponent for anyone outside the top 2-3 in the division next year. Here's hoping
    I hope you're right! Possibly bringing in an experienced defensive coach might help as well. Billy should look at that side of the management team if they are to pick up better results next season.

59 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by joey B View Post
    Looked a couple of poor decisions in the Drogheda/Cork game,harsh red and never a penalty
    The red might have been harsh, but it was utterly stupid of Dijksteel to do that while being on a yellow. Cost the game.

Waterford ground out a 1 0 win at Bray. Referee Oliver Moran was awful.The sending off of Cresswell was bizarre as looked like he should have had a free kick or penalty for a foul on him on edge of box but ref yellow carded him so he was off for 2 yellows which amazed everyone. Some very strange decisions all night with clear fouls on Waterford players being ignored. Bray hit the bar in 2nd half but Waterford held on after 8 minutes of injury time.

27 Posts
    100th game for Treaty and 3 points though they were put to the sword by an ever improving Kerry who tbf will be disappointed not to have got something out of the game,mainly due to Enda Curran who was the difference between the sides.Great to see some locals in the home side ,pity about the small crowd though.

Quote Originally Posted by trevy View Post
    Waterford ground out a 1 0 win at Bray. Referee Oliver Moran was awful.The sending off of Cresswell was bizarre as looked like he should have had a free kick or penalty for a foul on him on edge of box but ref yellow carded him so he was off for 2 yellows which amazed everyone. Some very strange decisions all night with clear fouls on Waterford players being ignored. Bray hit the bar in 2nd half but Waterford held on after 8 minutes of injury time.
    Never a pen for Waterford either…

217 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by da bishop View Post
    an ever improving Kerry who tbf will be disappointed not to have got something out of the game
    Disappointed and frustrated. An all too familiar story in recent weeks. Good performances and very few points on the board.

27 Posts
    Shels ahead in Sligo(again), bad mistake by the Sligo keeper.

Page 3 of 5 FirstFirst 12345 LastLast