Page 2 of 6 FirstFirst 1234 ... LastLast

Thread: U21 Players 2023/24

International Prospect CraftyToePoke's Avatar
    857 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by samhaydenjr View Post
    Crikey, missed that - I skipped over the Liverpool result because I thought we had nobody in their U21s, forgetting about Kone-Doherty. Fair play, only turned 17 over the summer and already scoring for the U21s - definitely one to watch over the next couple of years.
    We were talking about him up the same page of this thread & his scoring in PL2 at that age.
    Stephen Kenny Saviour, Leader, Winner, An Autobiography - In All Good Bookstores Now

3,311 Posts
    Highlights of the game are on YouTube, Kone-Doherty's goal is at 4:51
    Good finish.

There's a near identical chance a few seconds earlier in the highlights

3,311 Posts
    Cathal Heffernan in the Newcastle U21 team tonight, alongside Alex Murphy in defence
    Noel Hunt managing the Reading team

427 Posts
    Good to see Newcastle have been using Murphy as a LB so far this season in the PL2 games. With Roughan playing as a CB it might open a place in the U21s for Murphy if Roughan partners Lawal rather than Anselmo whose yet to play this season.

3,311 Posts
    Nice goal from Nathan Fraser tonight

3,311 Posts
    Who is Trent Kone Doherty?
    https://www.thisisanfield.com/2023/0...pool-training/

Is there a slight possibility he'll be in the U21 squad to play Turkey and San Marino next week, given that he's overage for the U17s, and the U19s qualifying round isn't until November?

International Prospect CraftyToePoke's Avatar
    857 Posts
    Mark O'Mahoney with two more for Brighton tonight, Mullins got one as well. Goals for Adegboyega, Kavanagh, Coleman too.
    Stephen Kenny Saviour, Leader, Winner, An Autobiography - In All Good Bookstores Now

427 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by tetsujin1979 View Post
    Who is Trent Kone Doherty?
    https://www.thisisanfield.com/2023/0...pool-training/

Is there a slight possibility he'll be in the U21 squad to play Turkey and San Marino next week, given that he's overage for the U17s, and the U19s qualifying round isn't until November?
    Can't see it being honest. Think he'll be doing well if he starts for the 19s never mind getting an U21s call up.

455 Posts
    Glen McConnell made his debut for Cambridge yesterday . He is a forward think8ng player it seems. 2005 born so eligible I think for the 19s along with Bloxham at Blackburn who tets highlighted as been on bench for Blackburn today.

3,311 Posts
    Fulham are streaming their PL2 game against Southampton on their website at the moment: https://www.fulhamfc.com/news/2023/s...y-Live-Stream/
    Ollie O'Neil opened the scoring, currently 1-1

<EDIT>

Finished 5-1 to Fulham, with O'Neil grabbing a second on 88 minutes
    Last edited by tetsujin1979; 02/09/2023 at 10:52 AM.

604 Posts
    Nathan Fraser scored Wolves' third in their win over Palace: https://www.wolves.co.uk/news/under-...rystal-palace/

Mark O'Mahony scored the only goal for Brighton against Forest. Leigh Kavanagh, Killian Cahill and Jamie Mullins all featured: https://www.brightonandhovealbion.co...ue-winning-run
    Last edited by samhaydenjr; 02/09/2023 at 3:45 AM.

39 Posts
    Five Irish lads and one on the bench according to this (every Irish fans second team now) - looks like O’Mahony was heavily involved - Franco Umeh scored against us also (Fraser is a beast of a lad - can see him coming through sooner rather than later with our inability to hit a cow’s arse with a banjo!)…

- Cahill, Kavanagh, McConville, Mullins and O' Mahony and Ireland u19 left back Jacob Slater on the bench

https://www.northstandchat.com/threa....403236/page-2

455 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by MancIrishWolf View Post
    Five Irish lads and one on the bench according to this (every Irish fans second team now) - looks like O’Mahony was heavily involved - Franco Umeh scored against us also (Fraser is a beast of a lad - can see him coming through sooner rather than later with our inability to hit a cow’s arse with a banjo!)…

- Cahill, Kavanagh, McConville, Mullins and O' Mahony and Ireland u19 left back Jacob Slater on the bench

https://www.northstandchat.com/threa....403236/page-2
    Be nice to see mcconville switch

3,311 Posts
    Fulham are streaming their PL2 game against Southampton on their website at the moment: https://www.fulhamfc.com/news/2023/s...y-Live-Stream/
    Ollie O'Neil opened the scoring, currently 1-1

<EDIT>

Finished 5-1 to Fulham, with O'Neil grabbing a second on 88 minutes
    Highlights on Fulham's YouTube channel, O'Neil's goals at 0:20 and 2:32

He's involved in a lot of Fulham's highlights

3,311 Posts
    Cathal Heffernan named in the Newcastle U19s for their UEFA Youth League game against Milan

Game is live on uefa.tv - https://www.uefa.tv/match/live/249385/2039386

(Alex Murphy (b. June 2004) and Reece Byrne (b. October 2004) are both overage - cut off is 1st January 2005)

3,311 Posts
    Lee Kavanagh is included in the Brighton squad for the Europa League, albeit as a B-squad inclusion
    https://www.uefa.com/uefaeuropaleagu...righton/squad/

549 Posts
    Lee Kavanagh is included in the Brighton squad for the Europa League, albeit as a B-squad inclusion
    https://www.uefa.com/uefaeuropaleagu...righton/squad/
    he's had an awful time with injuries for years. He was part of the u17 team with Sinclair Armstrong, Evan Ferguson, Andy Moran, Tayo Adaramola, Ollie O'Neill that were described by Paul Osam as the most talented group he'd ever worked with. They won their group and then covid cancelled the elite phase and tournament. He was picked alongside Anselmo at centre back, ahead of Lawal.

Both himself and Gavin O'Brien of Bohs who captained the side (now of Longford), they basically disappeared after that. Fingers crossed for him anyway. Would be very impressive to come through the other side of all those injuries

3,311 Posts
    Jack Henry Frances returned from injury for Arsenal's U21 side against Manchester United yesterday, and scored the second goal in a 4-2 win for the Gunners.
    Goal below at 1:20, takes a wicked deflection off a defender

386 Posts
    Mark O’Mahoney was supposed to have scored a good equalizer against Heffernan’s Newcastle yesterday. Anyone have a link? Since Ferguson graduated, Brighton U21 coverage been poor!

3,311 Posts
    Brighton are pretty good about putting highlights of their U21 games on YouTube, might take a day or so

Page 2 of 6 FirstFirst 1234 ... LastLast