Page 3 of 4 FirstFirst 1234 LastLast

Thread: Setanta Cup Extended

rerun
    Quote Originally Posted by thejollyrodger
    Shelbourne FC is a proper club with real ambitions.

UCD ??? go back to ur books, shouldnt even be in the league
    So why shouldn't UCD be in the league? They obviously have the quality to remain in the eircom Premier and recover from relegation. Maybe just Shels getting tetchy because they're on the slide? And talking of books, get yourself a dictionary.

Quote Originally Posted by chippie0001
    That quote should be framed. Shows the arrogance of Shels to a tee. Congrats UCD and fair play.
    To be honest, you don't see m/any others with an attitude like that.

UCD deserve their place in the final, solely because they wanted to be there. They worked hard and it paid off. Not one Shelbourne player appeared to put any effort into the game, at all, and two silly defensive errors gave away the goals. But that doesn't matter, the team with the best attitude went through, and they played some good football on the night too. About 90% of the game consisted of passing it about amongst the Shels back 4, terrible to watch.

Congratulations to UCD, and I hope you win it! Love to see them in the Setanta cup!

And as for saying they shouldn't be in the league - thats just barmy! They are here on merit, and merit alone. And they're doing better than other teams that perhaps "should" be in the league, so that argument is just pointless!

Again, congratulations.
    Last edited by EnDai; 23/08/2005 at 8:29 AM.
    God

Quote Originally Posted by Cop on
    One win ?? One win?? Get your facts right patsh. We walloped you in the FAI cup a couple of years ago. Did you win in the Flansiro last year ?? NO. If you had - and if you had held your nerve - the league was there for the taking. You wimped out last year & now you're looking a one big huge choke this year.
    Trouble for you is, where are the goals gonna come from ?? Poor old John O Flynn (or Flynny as you lot call him. What a poncey nickname. Its something you'd expect to call a private-schoolboy in South Dublin.) anyway, poor old Flynny couldn't score to save his life. Are you gonna start playing Behan or Bruton ?? I mean, where are the goals gonna come from ?? (You could always ask UCD for the loan of a striker )
    Goals?
    This from the 11 man defence who have managed the grand total of 18 goals in 22 games?
    You poor obsessed mid-table mediocrity, just let it go.
    Your obsession is quite touching really, but not surprising given one win in 3 seasons.
    There can't be much fun in watching a perrenial mid-table side, grind out yet another 0- 0 draw, or if they get incredibly lucky, get a 1 - 0 win.
    Keep obsessing and fantasising about Cork City,you probably don't have much else in your sorry little life......

Quote Originally Posted by BohsFan
    No it was not. Seriously though, if they announced it ages ago, why would they be announcing it again?
    To raise interest in the semi's of the league cup, and isn't the CIS Cup going on in the North at the moment? I'll have a look for the old thread...

I'm sitting here looking at two shiny cups. We're fourth in the table chasing the mighty $hel$. Life is very sweet indeed.
    The chokers are counting their millions & looking into a dusty trophy cabinet. Nothing to show for the last 7 years. If 'Flynnie' (what a poxy nickname) don't start rattling the back of the net soon, the shed'll be empty !
    All you are doing is looking at your keyboard and continuing to express your total obsession with all things Cork City related.
    You long, long ago stopped saying anything original or vaguely amusing, you are just a pathetic little saddo, obsessed with Cork City, the club that routinely beats your "team" home and away.
    The entire content of your posts are "choke" "Flynnie" "millions"...sad, sad little boy.

A bit of advice, get some grown-up to buy you Playboy, you can toss off to the pictures in that, rather than your fantasies about Cork City, for a change.

BTW, I hope you regularly wash down your keyboard, it must be getting very sticky by now....

You can't take it. You can't take it. You have to resort to pathetic, childish insults that I won't even dignify with a reply.
    Thanks for the reply, little bog w*nker.
    NOT A SOLITARY WIN for plucky little Longford in over 3 seasons of league games against Cork City.

Of course, Longford don't do league games do they?
    Or European games for that matter.....

It's a comin'. Its a comin'.
    So are you, EVERY time you think of Cork City....

Ah yeah, I'm just wetting myself at the thoughts of 'Flynnie' scoring his only league goal in the eleven remaining games against us. That'll probably come from one of three penalties ye will get on the night - ye will miss the other two
    You wet yourself at the thoughts on anything to do with Cork City....

Surely there is a doctor near your boghole that could help you?

Quote Originally Posted by thejollyrodger
    Bohs fans

[SIZE=7]2-1[/SIZE]
    [SIZE=7]2-1[/SIZE] you say?

3,491 Posts
    Damn, just beat me to it!

The final decision was only made recently. When the originally story went up on the BBC, the parties had not even meet to discuss things at that stage.
    At least having eight teams in the competition will even it out in terms of travelling...two from the north and two from the south in each I presume.

This might have been asked already but what happens if Derry win and they get a European spot?

Who gets the Setanta place?

...Cork City...Flynnie...Rico...My big mastubatory fantasy...
    OBSESSED.....

71 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by jorge
    This might have been asked already but what happens if Derry win and they get a European spot?

Who gets the Setanta place?
    Then 3rd place in the league goes in I think.

I assume the Setanta will have some sort of seeding to keep the league winners apart? Will there be semis now? Or just group winners face off in a final?

IMO the Setanta Cup should go to CL & Uefa Cup qualifiers (this includes FAI Cup runner up if required). I think only LC winners should qualify, if they've already qualified through other means then should go to next best league placing.

Is the Setanta Cup now the beginning of All-Ireland League through the backdoor?

It's more sensible for the place to revert to the league if either cup winner has qualified through the league even if it doesn't help us!

71 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by pete
    Is the Setanta Cup now the beginning of All-Ireland League through the backdoor?
    I doubt it. If you ask me it is the best solution. Meaningful competitive games across border in a seperate competition with cash and TV coverage on top of the domestic leagues and still 6 European places between the two leagues. I think it satisfies all involved.

I think it's a bit unfair announcing that it's been extended to the league cup winners now, considering that there were only 4 teams left in the competition when it was announced. If teams were informed earlier then they may have fielded stronger teams and took more of an interest in the competition.

Quote Originally Posted by pete

it was until you ruined it pete, the northerners had no idea until this very thread....

Wink

Quote Originally Posted by Dodge
    it was until you ruined it pete, the northerners had no idea until this very thread....
    No one let me in on the 32 County Ireland plan via the Setanta Cup...

Page 3 of 4 FirstFirst 1234 LastLast