Well he can hardly target the oppositions' failure to tackle rising prices and anti-competitive practices, can he?Originally Posted by dublinharp
FF TDs in uproar over Eddie Hobbs RTE show
Fianna Fáil TD Noel O'Flynn has called on the makers of the RTE programme 'Rip Off Republic' to
state whether its presenter Eddie Hobbs is politically biased.
Fianna Fáil is considering making a formal complaint about the programme which has highlighted the Government's failure to tackle rising prices and anti-competitive practices.
The party is examining whether or not the show is deliberately trying to discredit the Government.
Noel O'Flynn, who chairs the Dáil Communications Committee has said RTE must correct any political bias that may exist in the programme.
Looks like Eddie has hit a nerve![]()
“Jockey Wilson . . . What an athlete.” - Sid Waddell
www.donegaldarts.com
Well he can hardly target the oppositions' failure to tackle rising prices and anti-competitive practices, can he?Originally Posted by dublinharp
Cork City: Making 'Dream Team' seem realistic since 2007.
I've never seen this show, but I think I'll have to watch it from now on. Anything that gets up the nose of that idiot has to be worth watching.Originally Posted by dublinharp
They say what about the meek?
I say theyve got a bloody cheek
The only media outlet that actually takes the cnuts to task... He shames the so called RTE "news" team that's for sure...
Great work Eddie Hobbs, and I hope RTE show their independance by standing up to FF. Christ, I don't remember FF having any problem with the fawning bullshít that was the CJH "documentary".
btw Who exactly should be taken to task over the Governments absymal record?
I wonder will we see any censorship ??
O'Flynn has certainly tried to abuse his position as chairman of the communications committee. A few months ago he didn't even try to veil his threats to RTE over their coverage of the junket to fish farms in South America.
Rip off republic is made by the same production company that makes Ear to the Ground, which used to be presented by now FG MEP Mairead McGuinness (but isn't anymore)
Last edited by monutdfc; 22/08/2005 at 5:00 PM.
She left the show after she got elected. There's a new culchie doing it now.Originally Posted by monutdfc
No One Likes Us, We Don't Care
Tks - post now editedOriginally Posted by WeAreRovers
Never seen the RTE show. What did Eddie say?
O'Flynn really is a tool & i;m sure RTE delighted with the publicity...
About time the FF/PD fascist regime got a taste of their own medicine.
I seem to recall no objections coming from their quarters when on the eve of the 2002, coincidentally enough, they aired the Bridget McCole documentary that cost FG the election and in 1991 when Prime Time aired a docu just before the the Local Elections about the WP's 'links' to just about every evil despot imaginable under the sun.![]()
Tuff sh1t lads, its freedom of speech......its goes with the democracy thingy.![]()
Now roll on the next general election and condemn this nasty right-wing shower to the political wilderness.
If these fookers are voted in again or the unthinkable a FF/SFOriginally Posted by Partizan
I will be geting my coat.
“Jockey Wilson . . . What an athlete.” - Sid Waddell
www.donegaldarts.com
In a way I hope it is a FF/SF coalition. Both parties would be commiting political suicide and it would be in open season on the Provos.![]()
Roll on the rainbow.
Any broadcaster that is ran by the State always has their freedom of speech curtailed by the governing party.
what a pathetically stupid post
j'accuse!
There was nothing wrong with that Prime Time and there's nothing wrong with Rip Off Republic. The WP were/are a bunch of gangsters with links to some seriously scummy people and with zero ideology or mandate to back it up. That's why their "heavy hitters" left to take over the Labour Party.Originally Posted by Partizan
Equally the FF/PD coalition is in bed with all sorts of vested interests and spends a lot of time gassing on about the free market and competition while actively curtailing both.
BTW Partizan, I think you're right that SF/FF will end up in Government together and we'll probably have the worst of both worlds.![]()
Yes probably get the Fascist state we avoided having in the 1930'sOriginally Posted by WeAreRovers
Imagine Michael Moore with a culchie accent. Same Government conspiracy around every corner, same attention to facts. Some of what he says has merit - he goes on about things being cheaper on the continent and how some prices are kept artificially high because of Government regulations. Hardly earth-shattering news, though, and to be honest, I've better things to be doing than comparing the prices of a pint of milk in seven shops to try and save 15p.Originally Posted by pete
Some, though, is complete nonsense - he actually argued that solicitors have a monopoly over legal documentation at one stage!He made a big deal about Trim UDC denying planning permission for a LidL - anti-competitiveness, cosying up, etc. - and how prices in SuperValu across the way dropped when the LidL eventually opened. He forgot to mention that (so I'm told) the LidL was denied planning permission because it was right beside a historic castle in the town, not because of any corruption. He also mentions plenty of Government ministers by name and brings up very dodgy stories about them - proven, I'd imagine (otherwise, he'd've been sued already), but the people in question can't be too happy about having their names dragged through the muck again.
I notice he omitted bin charges on the first two programmes, which following a Court Case had no statutory basis in years 2001 and 2002.Originally Posted by pineapple stu
Originally Posted by WeAreRovers
Whats the alternative Fine Gael,Labour and the greens,We'll probable end up in the commanwealth again if they got back in.Not to mention the whole country going on anti depressants and phoneing the samaritans when they see Enda Kenny as Taoiseach.What we need is a new strong conservative nationalist party led by the likes of Haughey without the back-hander stuff and not been pegged down by the PD's.SF cant do it as they have too much of a bad rep even though they will make massive gains in the next elections.
Don't get me wrong, a rainbow coalition is the very worst case scenario. I'll still be voting SF. My worry is that SF lose their teeth in government and become FF Lite. And I think that's a very real worry.Originally Posted by Ringy
Having said that, getting rid of the mandateless PDs is the most important thing followed closely by making sure that FG never ever return to government.