Page 18 of 146 FirstFirst ... 816171819202868118 ... LastLast

Thread: So farewell then...

Anthony Minghella , Director of Cold Mountain, The Talented Mr Ripley & The English Patient, as well as several sucessful Television dramas (including his final Duty , directing the Richard Curtis' scripted The No 1 Ladies' Detective Agency ), passed away Tuesday from complications arising from surgery .

Arthur C Clarke Former Airman, acknowledged designer of the common weather satellite, Legendary Science fiction Titan , and prolific author, passed away in his Sri Lankan home Wednesday 19th.
    Last edited by sligoman; 24/03/2008 at 10:52 PM.
    On the way into the stadium, an elderly San Marino Steward waved us in and said "Tonight, may the best team win"

And they nearly did.

Quote Originally Posted by OwlsFan View Post
    Says a lot about the mentality of the Brits and the power of advertising for in a poll in 1993, people were asked to name a famous captain and Captain Birds Eye was voted as the most recognised captain after Captain Cook. I would have said Captain & Tennille
    It might say a lot about the Irish that when Larry Gogan asked a Just a Minute Quiz contestant to name a dangerous race the answer she popped up with was not the Dakar Rally or the Grand National but "The Arabs".

...so long Captain Birdseye. We Aaardly knew ye.
    " I wish to God that someone would be able to block out the voices in my head for five minutes, the voices that scream, over and over again: "Why do they come to me to die?"

290 Posts
    If only...
    ]

Sadly viewing the houses that were once Milltown
    789 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by Bondvillain View Post
    Anthony Minghella , Director of Cold Mountain, The Talented Mr Ripley & The English Patient, as well as several sucessful Television dramas (including his final Duty , directing the Richard Curtis' scripted The No 1 Ladies' Detective Agency ), passed away Tuesday from complications arising from surgery .

We're way ahead of you

Quote Originally Posted by Réiteoir View Post
    Forget about the performance or entertainment. It's only the result that matters.

Im sorry. I have a stammer.
    On the way into the stadium, an elderly San Marino Steward waved us in and said "Tonight, may the best team win"

And they nearly did.

789 Posts
    actor Richard Widmark

http://www.imdb.com/name/nm0001847/
    Forget about the performance or entertainment. It's only the result that matters.

Quoting years at random since 1975

Quote Originally Posted by Wolfie View Post
    How many Beatles were there ? George Best, Yoko Ono and of course Sonia

Quote Originally Posted by Newryrep View Post
    Yoko Ono was the Anti-Beatle.
    Quoting years at random since 1975

Quote Originally Posted by Newryrep View Post
    Apu from the Simsons, Pete Best, me and Oasis are a few other names I've heard.

To be honest I've heard each of them refer to George Martin as the 5th Beatle in various interviews, so I'd give it to him

Charlton Heston

The Hollywood actor Charlton Heston has died at the age of 83

http://www.independent.ie/breaking-n...s-1339862.html

Quote Originally Posted by Ringo View Post
    The Hollywood actor Charlton Heston has died at the age of 83

http://www.independent.ie/breaking-n...s-1339862.html
    He's parted his last ocean, fought his last Ape, ridden his last Chariot. God rest a True Legend in an era of true holywood greats

Quote Originally Posted by Block G Raptor View Post
    He's parted his last ocean, fought his last Ape, ridden his last Chariot.
    Did anyone remember to prize his gun from his "cold dead hand?"
    TO TELL THE TRUTH IS REVOLUTIONARY

The ONLY foot.ie user with a type of logic named after them!

All of this has happened before. All of it will happen again.

Quote Originally Posted by BohsPartisan View Post
    Did anyone remember to prize his gun from his "cold dead hand?"
    You bad bassa BP
    " I wish to God that someone would be able to block out the voices in my head for five minutes, the voices that scream, over and over again: "Why do they come to me to die?"

SPOILER ALERT : (although they do kind of give it away on the DVD cover...)

You MANIACS! You blew it up!

Aah DAMN YOU! God damn you all to HELL!!!!

Terrific stuff, one of the all-time great acting icons.

Paddy Hillery
    City definetly have the best bands playing at half-time.

O'Bama - "Eerah yeah, I'd say we can alright!"

G.O'Mahoney Trapattoni'll sort ém out!!

Quote Originally Posted by Risteard View Post
    Paddy Hillery
    R.I.P. . . . . .
    Injustice anywhere threatens justice everywhere - Martin Luther King Jnr.

789 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by Risteard View Post
    Paddy Hillery
    Only time he ever got animated was when he was shouting at Boland's supporters: "Ye can have Boland but ye can't have Fianna Fail!!".

What was with the long hair at the back though? Interesting style. None at the front. Lots at the back.

111 Posts
    BBC kids TV presenter Mark Speight.

http://news.bbc.co.uk/1/hi/entertainment/7345486.stm

His fiancee overdosed a few weeks ago, he was ruled out of the investigation into her death. He hanged himself over the last week above Paddington train station. Very tragic. R.I.P.
    'Fascists dress in black and go round telling people what to do, where as priests.....'

622 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by Wolfie View Post
    Yoko Ono was the Anti-Beatle.

Was she not the Dung-Beatle?
    Here they come! It’s the charge of the “Thanks” Brigade!