Thread: Sligo Rovers 1-1 Limerick

tim mcCann is an average player,a good squad player but not one that will make a huge difference.as a left winger kusten is better than him.but why didn't sean just leave tim on the bench,leave faz on the left anf raf on the right.murtagh is class and should be starting.im not a rossi fan but to be fair i thought he did ok last night.he didn't cost us the points either.the ref got the free kick decision wrong but he was quite good and we have only ourselves to blame for the dropped points.does anybody know how bad mct's injury is?

p.s thought the drum players were very good for a while but then the noise died down badly.

i have to agree with sc about evrything he said regarding the programme notes. every 2nd wk i got a good laff outta sum of da stuff that was written regarding the national team as well.

Murtagh may or may not be taking up a college place in Manchester, I reckon this is why he was not selected!
    Glory Glory Man United

Quote Originally Posted by Heinze
    Murtagh may or may not be taking up a college place in Manchester, I reckon this is why he was not selected!
    If this is true then thats bad news for us

Lads I know with a late, late equaliser ye probably have the right to feel robbed but ye are a lot poorer than ye think. You offered precious little going forward and were easily contained for the majority of the game by our not too stellar back line. Your tactic of the wingers dragging the full backs in to allow space for the inevitable cross becomes painfully obvious after awhile and as an attacking force Sligo are IMO very limited. In hindsight I was very happy with our performance. Sure, we got lucky at the end but we went up there went a plan to contain ye and for the most part we managed it. Easily.

Also I thought Rossiter was superb, one of the best full backs I've seen all year. As for that sub-human piece of dirt Foley ye can keep him, it's only a matter of time before an opposing player/fan/team bus lands him in an emergency room

Quote Originally Posted by Lim till i die
    Also I thought Rossiter was superb, one of the best full backs I've seen all year.
    Ye can have him....he is useless,even one of our coaches thinks so

On 2 occasions people near me in the stand shouted at Sean Connor to make a substitution i.e. to take McCann off. I would have to say that I agreed with this observation but I was amazed at Sean's reaction. He turned his back on the game on both occasions and stared up in the direction of the crowd for a good 15 seconds and if looks could kill!!!!!!!!

I understand that a manager should defend his players but surely he should not so openly display his displeasure with the fans in such a way. I should emphasis that this was not abuse that was being directed at McCann nor at Sean but mere observation on behalf of a number of fans.

Anyway I had the distinct impression (rightly or wrongly) after seeing his reaction that no way would McCann be substituted even if the game went on for a week!!!!!!!!

Quote Originally Posted by 1 9 2 8
    I think Rossiter isn't fit to wear our shirt he cost us two points against Limerick and god knows how many more he will cost us until the end of the season

Again Rossi taken the blame ,I just dont know but there was 10 other players who were on the pitch to defend that freekick.I think theirs minds were all ready in the dressing rooms as like a few weeks ago when they thoughts we,re "We are running away with the league".1928 will get over who is fit to wear the Jersey or not,He be a hero if scores the goal that puts us up and kisses the crest.

Quote Originally Posted by sligoman
    Shiba, I'm not the only one here that is against Rossiter. Rossi was one of my favourite players til he moved clubs and I'm glad to see him back but I dont want him playing if he risks our chances of promotion
    If you really think that Rossi is the one who gonna cost a chance of promotion,I honestly think your going in the wrong direction.Don't get me wrong,I'm not a big fan of Rossi but he always puts in a big effort.At the start of the season it was Flannery at the end of all trhe stick and wasn't good enough to be playing for Us,At the game the other night O'Grady was told he was not good enough for u16 level never mind this level.It is not the players who are picking themselves for the team but "the Manager".So if your looking for people to point the finger at and for costing Us points,I don't think have to look much further than "The Managers" team Selection.

Quote Originally Posted by Shiba
    He be a hero if scores the goal that puts us up and kisses the crest.
    Like he kissed the crest when harps got up......scum

I dont Know how Ye reckon Rossitor cost Us the game.He done everything you ask of a defender in that situation and clearly won the ball I was sitting directly in line with the incident and in no way was it a free.Even if Rossi did give away the free who was suppose to be marking the player who scored on the back post I don't think Rossi was there.The ref had an improved game on Duddy but I thought he was very selective in some of his free kicks awards.Blew McT for turning a player,our players could not challenge for a ball in the air at all.Our biggest problem is that we are not taken the chance we are creating,so I think we have to start looking at where we start getting goals from other than Mc T,our midfield need to be more aggressive in winning keeping and passing the ball for 90mins and not just in spellsLets just hope Galway can do us a favour!
    I sit right beside shiba and rossi did,nt give yer man a sniff all night thats why he was sent off soild fustration!it was never a free kick but thats football!if we got it there would,nt be a word about it!It was brown who was ment to pick up the we man who scored!And i here there was wild craic in the dressing room after!

Why what happened in the dressing room?

Quote Originally Posted by The Stars
    We'll see at the end of the season............................

A lot of players have passed between the two clubs over the years who have done lot for this club e.g Gavin Dykes(cup winning captain) Tony Fagan (Cup winning Captain and also In side that won the league) if I,m not mistaken Paul Mc Gee.So what are your veiws on these people! Get Over It

They did indeed,but i cant ever recall them kissing the Harps crest and saying that i was his dream to win the league with harps,like Rossiter did on national television...can you.
    Also,how can you talk about Dykes,Fagan,Ski(all legends) and Rossiter in the same paragraph....

and hes crap

Quote Originally Posted by Lim till i die
    As for that sub-human piece of dirt Foley ye can keep him, it's only a matter of time before an opposing player/fan/team bus lands him in an emergency room
    so so true but guess what club he'll be playing for next season? and hes shockingly bad. Sligo are only rubbing their hands at his ridding....

They did indeed,but i cant ever recall them kissing the Harps crest and saying that i was his dream to win the league with harps,like Rossiter did on national television...can you.
    Also,how can you talk about Dykes,Fagan,Ski(all legends) and Rossiter in the same paragraph....
    They might all be legends but have all gone to the club that s hated.As for kissing the crest,Can anyone say for Definite they never done it there was as much coverage back them to report these crimes?I sure Gavin when winning with Derry made comments,done things in that Uphoria of it all!GEt over it!

i think kissing the harps crest was a stupid thing to do so early in his harps career but evry1 is using rossi as a scapegoat. he wasn't that bad&i have to say i'm glad he's back cos it's better than wasting raf

Ian Ros was good going forward but still lacks in defence. Admitted, it was one of his better games but he does forget to watch his man who does get in behind him. As for the free kick I did think he put his hand on the lims guys back, who took full advantage. Soft free kick, but he should not have given the ref an excuse to award it.

anyone else react with trepidation when he took off proven goalscorer and brought on a defender with 10 mins to go? Like lets invite Limerick to come at us, why dont we. Sitting on a 1 goal lead is foolish unless youre Chelsea, and we certainly ain't...
    "I would like to celebrate today this team, because they are really exceptional mentally as well - not only footballistically" - A Wenger