Thread: City Fans In the Tolka Bar Monday night

Quote Originally Posted by we shall not be
    Good stuff there Redgav there is a few guys who think they are Cork city and are so judgemental and opinionated,what makes me laugh is where were they all before the Rebel army was invented ??? i went to about 12 away games 4 seasons ago and the grand total of city fans at all those games wouldnt add up to whats going to one away game now...
    shouldnt getting the away support sorted be complimented,not criticised

can you see criticism in that post ?? i just stated a fact

Quote Originally Posted by thecorner
    shouldnt getting the away support sorted be complimented,not criticised
    City supporters don't do compliments, only criticism...

btw thats not directed at anyone in particular just all of us...

i agree totally,this is the biggest game we are going to play at home this year i think and we should all be togther.There are alot of vocal lads in the corner and they should bury the hatchet for a once off and come into the shed i know it wont happen but it should.

Did anyone go?
    Was there any craic?

it was a bit like an away game there to be honest - 7 of us and 14 of them. with us proviing the only "atmosphere".....though RedGav did upset the locals with some over-enthusiastic celebrations

To be honest, it doesn't look great for a club with its own bar to be empty for a big game like this. Talking to some of the fans there seems to be a real air of depression about the place.
    Mick D. for Ireland!

Quote Originally Posted by Hecko
    7 of us and 14 of them.
    Jesus.
    14?
    Cork City: Making 'Dream Team' seem realistic since 2007.

Shels home support in the bar was shocking.

redgav got some dirty looks alright & didn't help matters with his "get that knacker off" when Richie Baker about to be sent off.

Fair play to the shels fan for sitting down with us afterwards. Overall good reception from the locals but that likely as almost outnumbered

Quote Originally Posted by Hecko
    it was a bit like an away game there to be honest - 7 of us and 14 of them. with us proviing the only "atmosphere".....though RedGav did upset the locals with some over-enthusiastic celebrations

To be honest, it doesn't look great for a club with its own bar to be empty for a big game like this. Talking to some of the fans there seems to be a real air of depression about the place.

what can I say , got caught up in the (several) moment(s)

Agree -real air of depression around the place .Guys we were talking too were very fed up with things ....particularly Fenlons tactics but the whole ollie debacle as well

Biggest shocker tho is that one of the lads was hinting at big trouble to come ....Shels are out of tolka in two years but a new stadiums at least 6-8 years away ....real possibility of a Homeless number 2 judging what he was saying

Also 2 of the lads that we met are traveling down for the Uefa game with 3 others(altho 1 is a swedish AIK fan )
    The lunatic is on the grass
    Remembering games and daisy chains and laughs
    Got to keep the loonies on the path

I couldn't make it, stuck packing the house away in the end, but I wouldn't have added to any atmosphere. I was fit for tears last night! Well, not quite, but the blind optimism I've had alot of lately has now completely worn off. I'd've probably drunk myself into a crying wreck in the corner (which tbh, would be another thing for you lads to smile about! ).
    God

Yeah, apologies from me too, I ended up going to Cork, and there was a group of us that would have been there too, were it not for travel, being in Cork or packing their gaffs away!
    Sitting pretty!!!

Lads I wasn't there because as i said i was in Cork but i would just like to say fair play to all who showed up and over exuberent celebrations were to be expected i suppose but i'm delighted to see something like this can take place amongst all the negitive sh*te in the league at the moment

Sounds like a good night was had in the Tolka bar,One of the best athmosphere i ever encountered at the cross,I hope it came across good on the tv.