Page 1 of 4 123 ... LastLast

Thread: Setanta Cup Extended

137 Posts

Setanta Cup Extended

Monday 22nd August 2005: Following a review of the Setanta Cup between the Football Association of Ireland, the Irish Football Association and sponsors, Setanta Sports, it has been decided to extend the Tournament to eight teams.

The winners of the eircom League Cup and the CIS Cup in Northern Ireland will join the League winners and runners-up as well as the National Cup winners of each Association.

Further details in relation to the next Tournament will issue in due course.
    Celebrating 130 Years of Athlone Town Football Club - Pride of the Midlands Since 1887

Quote Originally Posted by atfconline
    The winners of the eircom League Cup... will join the League winners and runners-up as well as the National Cup winners of each Association.
    Wow, the FAI must be confident of Shels beating us tonight!

Or not!
    God

To be fair to all teams I think the FAI, for once, have made the correct decision. If they had announced this tomorrow after Shels had beaten UCD (I hope UCD beat Shels) everyone would have said that they waited to make sure that UCD were out before making the decision. A win tonight for UCD would be interesting. If Cork & Derry stay 1-2 in the league and Derry win the league cup UCD would probably go through. Imagine UCD in the Setanta Cup. It could happen...........

71 Posts
    Oh oh. Then why has Pete Mahon said this:
    UCD boss Pete Mahon says he will keep
    faith with fringe and Under-21 players
    for tonight's first eircom League Cup
    semi-final at Tolka Park.

'I'll pick the same players that have
    got us this far,' said Mahon.

'We've drawn twice with Shels already
    this season so we don't fear them.'

With Jim Crawford, Glen Fitzpatrick and
    Gary O'Neill having returned to
    training, Shels are at full strength.

----------------------------------------------

Us in the Setanta Cup is nothing to fear. On our day we can hold our own with any of the top sides in this country so why not the island? Our rowdy horde of fans may be a fearful prospect for Glens and Linfield though.

Btw, I'd imagine protocall is that if Derry win the LC that 3rd place in the league gets the Setanta spot and not the runners up.

If everybody knew that there was a Setanta place at stake before the competition began, teams would have taken a different aproach to it. Some clubs didn't bother with this to much, and it seems unfair to them to award the place now that we are at the semi-final stage.

71 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by patsh
    If everybody knew that there was a Setanta place at stake before the competition began, teams would have taken a different aproach to it. Some clubs didn't bother with this to much, and it seems unfair to them to award the place now that we are at the semi-final stage.
    We're one of the ones who didn't bother too much.

yeah ironically UCD have played literally none of their first team players in the competition to date.
    Where you start is not as important as where you finish!!!!

Quote Originally Posted by Poor Student
    Oh oh. Then why has Pete Mahon said this:
    UCD boss Pete Mahon says he will keep faith with fringe and Under-21 players for tonight's first eircom League Cup semi-final at Tolka Park.
    In fairness they're probably more likely to score than the first team at this stage.

Btw, I'd imagine protocall is that if Derry win the LC that 3rd place in the league gets the Setanta spot and not the runners up.
    That's how it works for the FAI Cup place I think so presumably the same will happen with this (hope not though!)

Quote Originally Posted by patsh
    Stop press! patsh makes sense shock!

71 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by Schumi
    In fairness they're probably more likely to score than the first team at this stage.

Reckon today's announcement will change his mind? Although I reckon we'll see Dupuy/Doyle and Byrne up front tonight and as you say they're more likely to score. McAniff and Shorthall are two of the U-21s who got us there anyway who are basically first teamers now. Gannon too.

Quote Originally Posted by Poor Student
    Reckon today's announcement will change his mind?
    Oh, I thought you meant that he'd said that in reaction to the Setanta Cup announcement. It'll be interesting to see what he does so. The first team played on Friday and have a big cup game on Saturday so I doubt it'll be a full strength team anyway.

UCD are a good side, playing good football.
    I think (yes, hope) they can beat Shels. I heard P. Fenlon on the radio congratulating himself for the great performance his team put in the other night. I don't think even he believes that, even if he has forgotten that it was against 10 men and boys.
    er, come on the students!

Quote Originally Posted by Cop on
    Aw, you beginning to moan & whine now that you think you may not actually do the business & win the league ??
    No, we enjoy our football down in Cork, we watch great stuff week in, week out, except when we have to suffer the perrenial mid-table mediocrities Longford, getting to play 11 men on their goal-line hoofball.
    We took it seriously, more or less, but some clubs didn't.
    Of course that does not include mid-table mediocrities like Longford, who think that winning the League Cup is the greatest thing in the world.
    Whinger Matthews tosses off at the thoughts of it.

71 Posts
    Oh, I thought you meant that he'd said that in reaction to the Setanta Cup announcement. It'll be interesting to see what he does so. The first team played on Friday and have a big cup game on Saturday so I doubt it'll be a full strength team anyway.
    That comment was put on aertel this morning. Thing is you can say we have a big cup game at the weekend but this is as big if not bigger due to the financial implications of us winning this and the final. The TV exposure of the Setanta and everything would do the club great.

71 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by BohDiddley
    UCD are a good side, playing good football.
    I think (yes, hope) they can beat Shels. I heard P. Fenlon on the radio congratulating himself for the great performance his team put in the other night. I don't think even he believes that, even if he has forgotten that it was against 10 men and boys.
    er, come on the students!
    Why don't as many as possible of you Bohs lads who were in Tolka last week come and get behind us.

Im glad the Setanta Cup has more teams in it next year, it just means there are more teams for Shelbourne FC to beat

Quote Originally Posted by thejollyrodger
    Im glad the Setanta Cup has more teams in it next year, it just means there are more teams for Shelbourne FC to beat
    More like 'more teams for Shelbourne FC to be'. You wouldn't have had any chance to qualify otherwise.

Over 300 minutes!
    God

More like 'more teams for Shelbourne FC to be'. You wouldn't have had any chance to qualify otherwise.

Shelbourne FC is a proper club with real ambitions.

UCD ??? go back to ur books, shouldnt even be in the league

Page 1 of 4 123 ... LastLast