Page 4 of 6 FirstFirst ... 23456 LastLast

Thread: Games weekend 7th to 19th April

142 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by TonyD View Post
    By the way Cork fans, what’s the story with Tunde ? Is he injured or what ? I actually only missed him after the game last night. I think he could have caused a few problems for Pats defence with the way the game went.
    injured i believe

103 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by Dermobohs View Post
    Don’t know if any of you hoops bought the programme last night, but ex bohs and rovers centre half jacko mcdonagh is not well at all at present, having suffered a stroke. His family are running a go fund me on fb to get help with treatment, be nice to see a big contribution from his former clubs’ fans.
    It’s at. www.gofundme.com/f/jacko-mcdonagh
    Thanks for putting that out…. Poor guy only 60… think all will agree he was a class act … and back in the the day his hair style alone was worthy of legend status ….

1,002 Posts
    Good for Treaty to get the win last night. But we are still dirt and Longford are no better.

From what I've seen, it's a really really poor first division.

355 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by osarusan View Post
    Good for Treaty to get the win last night. But we are still dirt and Longford are no better.

It’s shocking,seems much worse since the last time we were in it…..
    Irish by birth ,Harps by the grace of god.

821 Posts

It's absolutely horrific

60 Posts
    The First Division is particularly bad this year.
    I don't want it to sound like sour grapes because Treaty are bad but jesus it is awful.

Galway showing the benefits of being Full time because they're streets ahead of everyone else. Waterford, despite a bad start, are beginning to show same.

28 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by Calcio Jack View Post
    Thanks for putting that out…. Poor guy only 60… think all will agree he was a class act … and back in the the day his hair style alone was worthy of legend status ….
    Indeed CJ!!
    Spread the word on your end if you would

28 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by Calcio Jack View Post
    Indeed CJ!!
    Spread the word on your end if you would
    They’re short by 120k so a bit of pushing both sets of fans be reachable surely

368 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by dong View Post
    Some questionable refereeing decisions again tonight. Felt that we created a bit more in a tight game and were just about worth the win.
    Ah Sligo def deserved to win, Dundalk were too slow all night, never really got going, take 4 key players out Hoban (inj) Benson (suspended), Annsely (injured - but on a diff level was quite sick in hospital but now back) and Paul Doyle (also inj) we look toothless.

Sickner to lose the ball like that in 89th min then lose the game - but that's what you get making stupid mistakes. Confidence has to be low.
    #DundalkFC - First Irish club to win an away game in Europe (1963), first Irish club to win points in a group stage in Europe (2016).

2,358 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by Shearer View Post
    I don't want it to sound like sour grapes because Treaty are bad but jesus it is awful.

Galway showing the benefits of being Full time because they're streets ahead of everyone else. Waterford, despite a bad start, are beginning to show same.
    Galway and Waterford are so far ahead of the rest, from what I've seen so far. Some of the teams are absolutely dreadful. Have definitely seen the First Division worse, but this year is running anything previous very close. The likes of Bray and Wexford will do okay as the year goes on, but it's a case of the also-ran after that.

Only home from Kerry this evening, altogether a fairly pleasant visit and a new ground ticked off the list. People there were largely very friendly and helpful. Match night operations were fairly good. It's a grand enough little main stand, but really could do with it going the length of the pitch. The opposite end being completely bare was a bit strange.

They could do with looking at spectator facilities around the rest of the ground too. A sloped path on the away side, going uphill towards the media hut meant that if you weren't in against the fence, you were missing at least 30% of the pitch up the other end. I'm 6'2 couldn't see anything beyond the halfway line along that side of the pitch.

For their first year though, they're a great credit. Everything running really smoothly, access and exit very good with over a thousand people in, plenty of toilets, even if they were portaloos, different food options, loads of stewards around the ground, and a lot of helpful staff to help with media access afterwards.

If they can build up the ground and keep going as they have started, they'll be a brilliant addition to the league in the long run.
    Last edited by nigel-harps1954; 08/04/2023 at 4:55 PM.

27 Posts
    Important win for Treaty in a poor game overall,Longford on top first half , big improvement from Tommy Barretts men in second half with a good goal from Success Endugan the highlight.Only shock was Tommys post match interview where he ..forgot ...to mention how strong the opposition are,how they have recruited far more than Treaty and are almost fulltime,,how their budget is huge,how Treaty are amateur and have no budget,how its all about the project etc etc and how hes not using any of these as an excuse.Another big one next week in Harps.

International Prospect CraftyToePoke's Avatar
    876 Posts

Quote Originally Posted by joey B View Post
    It’s shocking,seems much worse since the last time we were in it…..
    Quote Originally Posted by outspoken View Post
    It's absolutely horrific
    Quote Originally Posted by Shearer View Post

Poor Kerry FC reading these
    Stephen Kenny Saviour, Leader, Winner, An Autobiography - In All Good Bookstores Now

142 Posts

when has the first division been anything other than poor in all truth? last season , athlone bray cobh all cat, very average city side winning the league ahead of to average teams in galway and waterford. galway have improved a lot this season, cant see them not winning the pot.

217 Posts
    Cork, Waterford and Galway were a step above everyone else last season. Only two remain and there is still a gap.
    The majority of Kerry's squad have not played at this level before. The starting XI last night had 5 changes from the previous game.
    The other 7 clubs are not at a level too different from previous seasons. A fly by night club might come in as if they invented football and are the best thing since sliced bread! Kerry have come in fully aware of the challenge, respectful of the league and have been competitive against 7 of the 8 they have come up against so far. There were signs again last night of the experience being built within the squad. People on the outside will understandably just see the results.
    https://foot.ie/forums/117-Kerry-FC
    A Championship: 4 years - 8 first teams - 0 financially ruined. First Division '14: 7 first teams.
    Opportunity lost for new clubs/regions to join the LoI family.

539 Posts
    Observations from last night in Markets Field that Hallahan GK for Treaty is cat. The amount of miskicks he made was shocking. The mans a psychopath spending more time trying to shut us up behind the goal. No wonder he was out of the loi for so long at Cobh Wanderers! Source Treatys program last night!

Very disappointed we had done so well to bring it it back to 2 all. But we gave them too much space for Treatys winner.

By the way Treatys program is superb!

67 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by nigel-harps1954 View Post
    Galway and Waterford are so far ahead of the rest, from what I've seen so far. Some of the teams are absolutely dreadful. Have definitely seen the First Division worse, but this year is running anything previous very close. The likes of Bray and Wexford will do okay as the year goes on, but it's a case of the also-ran after that.

Only home from Kerry this evening, altogether a fairly pleasant visit and a new ground ticked off the list. People there were largely very friendly and helpful. Match night operations were fairly good. It's a grand enough little main stand, but really could do with it going the length of the pitch. The opposite end being completely bare was a bit strange.

They could do with looking at spectator facilities around the rest of the ground too. A sloped path on the away side, going uphill towards the media hut meant that if you weren't in against the fence, you were missing at least 30% of the pitch up the other end. I'm 6'2 couldn't see anything beyond the halfway line along that side of the pitch.

For their first year though, they're a great credit. Everything running really smoothly, access and exit very good with over a thousand people in, plenty of toilets, even if they were portaloos, different food options, loads of stewards around the ground, and a lot of helpful staff to help with media access afterwards.

If they can build up the ground and keep going as they have started, they'll be a brilliant addition to the league in the long run.

Kerry seemingly have an ideal setup for a first year club at this level. It’s important now that as they grow as a club they also develop the ground. As Wexford also had the ideal setup when they came into the level had these big plans for ground development but the only thing that has changed since, is the condition of the temporary made permanent stand has deteriorated badly. No talk of any ground development either.
    Last edited by sulywaterfordfc; 08/04/2023 at 9:02 PM.

409 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by ger121 View Post
    We were poor last night and you were not. Was only going to be one outcome in a game like that. If we play like that on Monday we will be getting beat again. Even against a Derry side with 1 win in the last 4.
    Yeah very poor and caught us at a time when we are starting to click. To be fair most teams will struggle with Jack and Burke playing like that. Were you missing anybody?

Coote is a smashing player all the same. He was the best player on the pitch while you were on top in the first half.
    21 leagues and 25 cups.

409 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by Dermobohs View Post
    Don’t know if any of you hoops bought the programme last night, but ex bohs and rovers centre half jacko mcdonagh is not well at all at present, having suffered a stroke. His family are running a go fund me on fb to get help with treatment, be nice to see a big contribution from his former clubs’ fans.
    It’s at. www.gofundme.com/f/jacko-mcdonagh
    Fair play Dermo. Very sad.

All the comments about how bad the 1st Division is,.completely accurate, it's utter muck from what I've seen, and it speaks to why so many quality players with full time jobs elect to play LSL/MSL etc., why would you bother your arse traveling the length and breadth of our land to play that level of muck. Div 1 in reality is like PL2 in UK (just worse) it's an option for the young lads, but if you have a job, you realise that you can play at a decent level, have your summers off football to spend time with family....versus earning 150 quid a week giving up every Friday and most Bank Holiday Mondays. The whole thing is broken really. Such a shame really, because the fans are coming. But the whole league is predicated on a tiny percentage getting moves to League 1 or 2, and a tiny percentage of them attaining success. But I still f.c.ing love it, and all who sail in it.

217 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by sulywaterfordfc View Post
    Kerry seemingly have an ideal setup for a first year club at this level. It’s important now that as they grow as a club they also develop the ground. As Wexford also had the ideal setup when they came into the level had these big plans for ground development but the only thing that has changed since, is the condition of the temporary made permanent stand has deteriorated badly. No talk of any ground development either.
    Wexford and Kerry will need financial support to develop their grounds. Kerry's setup off the park in being a club for the community should strengthen their case for funding. The ground needs to be developed to sufficiently cater for the existing level of support and also for the away supporters. I'm not sure how soon that can happen. When the club is more of a household name in the league and the community there needs to be plans made public on the future development of the ground and the support of businesses and supporters will be required.
    https://foot.ie/forums/117-Kerry-FC
    A Championship: 4 years - 8 first teams - 0 financially ruined. First Division '14: 7 first teams.
    Opportunity lost for new clubs/regions to join the LoI family.

Page 4 of 6 FirstFirst ... 23456 LastLast