Page 8 of 18 FirstFirst ... 678910 ... LastLast

Thread: Republic of Ireland V France - Monday, 27th March 2023 - Euro 2024 Qualifier

430 Posts
    Can’t ask much more of that team against one of the best in the world,Ogbene and Coleman were excellent I thought,just a pity about the mistake and goal…..
    Irish by birth ,Harps by the grace of god.

410 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by RiffRaff View Post
    Good performance and great last ditch effort. Have we moved forward under Kenny though. Unfortunately I dont think so
    Genuinely, what does this mean? We played well but we haven't moved forward enough to beat the WC runners up?

Do even the positive performances have to turn into a referendum on the manager?
    21 leagues and 25 cups.

1,025 Posts
    Just a shame that the goal we conceded was one we gave away so easily.

Apart from that, it was a solid performance all round, and we did give them a scare at the end.

Disappointing for Ferguson but it was always going to be that way for the lone frontman.
    Last edited by osarusan; 28/03/2023 at 8:10 AM.

959 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by paul_oshea View Post
    If Kenny really trusts his players why does he wait so long before making substitutions. Especially when losing and nothing is happening
    Its actually becase he trusts his players to come good. Im sure people can see the good and the bad in terms of taking someone off early. As Ive said before, its one area that baffled me on occasions when he was at Dundalk - a tactical change doesnt need to reflect on the player or indeed the managers starting off thinkig.

Ok so we were beaten by one of the outstanding teams in world football, one pass goes astray and we were punished. But by and large that was a good erformance and yes some will say its a result base game but once again we see how this squad is being developed. They were fearless considering who they were facing, not hammered by any means. The French will grab those points as not just with the Collins effort we finished on the font foot and they killed the game with subs and getting frees. To be expected! I'm a bit disappointed not to have gotten a result and thats is a guage of where things are going imo.

41 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by ontheotherhand View Post
    Genuinely, what does this mean? We played well but we haven't moved forward enough to beat the WC runners up?

Do even the positive performances have to turn into a referendum on the manager?
    Meaning we were losing narrowly at home to top teams when Kenny took over

Collins header was a completely free one. Awful marking he had a lot to aim at
    https://twitter.com/leflofloo/status...lBYqBB9pofQ_og

675 Posts
    That was really strong, probably should have got something out of it. As ever, it's about making that level of performance the absolute floor going forward, being consistent and doing it against Greece and beyond.

If the team and Kenny has finally unlocked that, we'll do OK.
    Ou-est le Centre George Pompidou?

2,771 Posts
    Kenny got that game totally right and deserves credit even from the most staunch of the anti-Kenny faction. One mistake and the best in the world will punish you. That’s what it came down to. Greece will be the best gauge.

Ogbene, O’Shea, Collins and Doherty were brilliant. Egan solid. Molumby was a warrior but was tiring in the last 25 mins. Knight had a better second half. I was terrified that Coleman would be exposed but he did really well and Ogbene really supported him well. Bazunu pulled off some good stops.

Again, very much a full team performance and they all executed well. The substitutes were effective (McClean gave us a lift and the right type of energy, Idah impressed too) although Johnston didn’t see much of the ball apart from that carry thru midfield just after he came on.

505 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by osarusan View Post
    Just a shame that the goal we conceed was one we gave away so easily.

Apart from that, it was a solid performance all round, and we did give them a scare at the end.

Disappointing for Ferguson but it was always going to be that way for the lone frontman.
    That's the the sickener about it is it was a sloppy mistake rather than a great piece of play from France that won them the game.

Yeah Ferguson had the thankless job of being the lone front man today but should see himself and Obafemi maybe back starting together for Greece away.

959 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by osarusan View Post
    Just a shame that the goal we conceed was one we gave away so easily.

Very League of Ireland in Europe of us....Kenny out!!

41 Posts
    Wouldnt be surprised if Ogbene got some interest from French clubs on the back of that performance. He's definitely better than championship level

2,771 Posts
    It was a world class save. The second one in two minutes.

410 Posts
    Meaning we were losing narrowly at home to top teams when Kenny took over
    Did you think changing our style of play was going to result in us beating the best teams in the world? Can you bottle that optimism up and send me some? I might need it for the current LoI season.
    21 leagues and 25 cups.

3,491 Posts
    Wouldn't be too hard on Collins; it was a good header and one of the best saves I've seen. Two quality saves in a row in fact, having had nothing to do all game.

Really does feel like a point dropped. Has to be said France were dreadfully lethargic which obviously helped us and though I think we kept great defensive shape throughout, we weren't the cause of the French lethargy.

But to concede the goal we did and see those two late saves... Also we did waste far too many set pieces before then.

Would almost have preferred no MotM award tbh; that was a great team effort. Pretty much the great performance I had hoped for beforehand and yet it feels an awful result. That's football I guess.

Question now is can we play that well against Greece and Gibraltar in June? Completely different ask as we've seen time and again under Kenny.

27 Posts
    Brilliant effort from both the manager and the players all game ,most of these lads at championship level putting in that performance against players from PSG,AC Milan,Real Madrid etc.

1,159 Posts

Anthony Barry and/or John Eustace would be proud of that performance.

23. Thanks From:

410 Posts
    Wouldnt be surprised if Ogbene got some interest from French clubs on the back of that performance. He's definitely better than championship level
    He was excellent. Mbappe can't have had many quieter nights and a lot of that was down to Ogbene helping out. Great call by Kenny. That Ogbene was still our biggest threat going forward as well is fairly amazing given the job he had. Would like to see him play at RWB against the weaker sides where we don't need him and Coleman working too much defensively. Just let him get forward and rely on his pace to get back when needed.
    21 leagues and 25 cups.

959 Posts
    I think thats why he seemd so annoyed with himself at FT. If he had hit the bigger target of the goal it was probably in, he took the glancing header instead and the keeper was up to it. Retrospective thinking by him free header or not. He hit the target, didnt go in and thems the breaks.

215 Posts
    Credit to the team and on the whole Kenny too. Maybe some of the substitutions could have been made earlier and Smallbone would have been a more progressive option in midfield, and offered better set piece quality, when Knight was obviously struggling. Frustrating lapse for the goal, but as others have said, we've been here before - decent performances against better teams without getting the result we maybe deserved, but it's whether we can perform against the likes of Greece and Gibraltar. That's the acid test for Kenny.

959 Posts
    Did you think changing our style of play was going to result in us beating the best teams in the world? Can you bottle that optimism up and send me some? I might need it for the current LoI season.
    It'll be fine, Bradley will be fine, he has his LoI service under the belt for when he gets the Ireland job in July!

28. Thanks From:

Page 8 of 18 FirstFirst ... 678910 ... LastLast