Page 21 of 45 FirstFirst ... 11192021222331 ... LastLast

Thread: 2023 FAI Cup

238 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by Nah Nah Nah Nah View Post
    Funny watching Mahers antics during the shootout. Feck all use it did him.
    Best laugh I had during the match was the co-commentator (Sean Hargan I think ) looking for Derry to inject some “p1ss” into the game !
    Out for a spell, got neglected, lay on the bench unselected.

383 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by joey B View Post
    Derry looked miles better than Pats for most of it ,Joe Redmond is immense though and should be looking for a raise or a move acros the water,terrible penalties from Duffy and Mulreaney who was shocking when he came on I thought....
    Cup looks wide open now,Pats,Bohs and Dundalk will fancy their chances...
    Will all depend on the draw, 2 of these 3 could easily draw each other in the next round then it opens up even more. Dundalk are not playing well so the draw even more important, but if you have hopes of getting to the final you will need to beat decent clubs at some point, actually keep forgetting we did that already in the first round !

We only played Bohs once in a final in modern times (2002) but I don't think we have ever played Pats in one.
    #DundalkFC - First Irish club to win an away game in Europe (1963), first Irish club to win points in a group stage in Europe (2016).

909 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by Nah Nah Nah Nah View Post
    Funny watching Mahers antics during the shootout. Feck all use it did him.
    Did he pick up a few things from that ass of a Tobol keeper? He was one chap that Id like to see get a right slap for his messing and smugness (not a Derry fan obviously and he got right under my skin so he is getting it right I suppose).

59 Posts
    Philip Quinn had an excellent article in the Mail on Sunday today about the FAIs lack of preparation with the storm last friday and the FAI cup. He has some great points that the FAI have more immediate realities which is a sad reflection !
    Any links to same, please!

Quote Originally Posted by Dermobohs View Post
    Well aware of Rocky’s clubs, he’s a mate.
    was surprised to hear a bohs fan mention him as a Sligo player first, that’s all .
    no offence meant.
    Absolutely none taken.

909 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by EalingGreen View Post
    Interesting thoughts there.

Might it also be that in the absence of a realistic chance of attaining Senior status, clubs are instead concentrating on expanding their community involvement - boys/girls/women/Football For All etc? So that if they do raise a bit of money (Social club, sponsorship, advertising etc), rather than paying 1st team players a wage, or investing in the stadium to attract extra spectators etc, they instead divert it towards subsidising membership, or extending playing facilities (eg artificial training pitches)?

Also, may it be harder now to attract players from GAA, if there is a barrier to how far they can go in our code? Am open to correction here, but if GAA is raising its game generally (no pun intended), including improving facilities and (shall we say) pushing the boundaries of Amateurism etc, might it be that Intermediate soccer is now less attractive by comparison?
    In the past Inter/Junior clubs would have looked down their noses at LoI, without any significant reason or stats to do so. Often they were clubs full of LoI rejects and so behaved like big fish in a very small pond. Their desire to move up grades to senior level wouldnt have been on the agenda as it would have acknowledged that the senior game was the actual elite level of the domestic game. There was no amount of suggesting that European paricipation, higher levels of support, zero non-league winners of trophes where senior and lower levels met etc would convince these clubs that they were not as good as they believed. There may have been an argument for player wages being comparable to 1st division and lower premier clubs at dfferent stages but not for a sustained period. They did have a collective srength at FAI AGM's which held development back and allowed the likes of Delaney to buy votes and help install himself as an autocratic head and then also bin rules that were to prevent squaled dens of corrupt cronies. So in relation to yer highlighted point I dont think that there is a ceiling now that is any more than was non-league clubs' choice in the past in the main.

Im not so sure that GAA has significantly pushed on on very local parish levels in terms of facilties, relatively small scale stuff - better numbers of qualified coaches yes for sure. Regional projects have really kicked on since they finished with the 3/4 stadium done at Croke Park - PuíC, Semple, Casement (in due course) and and a good few others with single stand improvements done and is impressive albeit a bit of a sickener with the single sport policy, and is where the very obvious gap that could influence and attract the young multi sport player to specialise.

Amateurism never existed in GAA for as long as Ive been on this planet. Latter 1990's when still in my teens and at a well known Sports/PE University in England. lads were flown home regularly for club games, even my own small intermediate level parish shower in one of the weakest GAA counties. Figures of £10-15k were not unknown but were called a 'generous contribution to player education', and not necessarily elite players as much depended on having a particular surname synonymous with the locality for 1000 generations. Those figures climbed for intercounty level and more mature player and simply written off as sundry expenses. Mick O'Dwyer is a good one - was on just shy of 6 figures at Wicklow and that info came directly from the then county chairman at a meeting at Croke Park but due to the one off nature of the payment it was 'compenation for player development consultancy'. In an effort to be balanced, Im sure every GAA club at very GAA level had different methods of compensating those involved in the game and those not compensated should always wonder why they were deemed as expendable!!

All this in mind the poorly resourced and run domestic Association Football 'Garrison Game' (as it was always referred to in my old primary school) has shown quite a remarkable resiliance. Yup decades behind where it could be as a result but wasnt dealt a deadly blow for all the attempts. Survived internal civil wars also. Ive rambled a tad above (its between rounds and 1/4 final draw so no harm) but we still have growing vibrancy around the game which is often enhanced by the cup. I hope that the weakening non-league game is part of the strengthening of the senior game we are seeing, a shift in the powerbases, and that it isnt something that down the line will become apparent as some sort of dip in participation/standards etc. that could spread to the senior level. If it is then early identifying why and doing something about it - hence my questions and probing as to what has caused this trend. Maybe it is directly to do with dismissal of a former CEO and the resources he provided while cementing his position.

22 Posts
    Potential relegation/play-off final rehearsals tonight, enjoy!

909 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by SPXcyan View Post
    Potential relegation/play-off final rehearsals tonight, enjoy!
    Sensible hedging of bets lol. Drogheda could get sucked in though I think they are too good not to pick up enough points. Never discount a UCD lazarus effort.... and of course in LoI There is always the slightest of chances of an asterisk

I am looking forward to the Munster derby game and It will be super entertainment if UCD pull ahead in that best of 1 and a half fixture! As far as th 1/4 final draw UCD and probably Cork tbh would probably be the preferred sides to progress. Nobody would wnat to have to go to Waterfor or Galway in a cup tie as things stand and with the premier division sides not really being that consistant over the season in general.

1.05mins and Cork ahead, very soft goal.
    Last edited by Nesta99; 21/08/2023 at 6:50 PM.

22 Posts
    1 minute is all was needed for Cork, I'm off to the local Rebels pub! feck!

222 Posts
    Cork and Galway both go 2-0 up
    Paaatrick's Agletic

22 Posts
    The gulf in quality is evident, our lads are just.. Sargeant lad, wake up.

383 Posts
    Waterford came into it a bit since,had a good chance to score….

I’d really fear for us against a Premier division outfit,we could get hockeyed I think….
    Irish by birth ,Harps by the grace of god.

3,352 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by joey B View Post
    I’d really fear for us against a Premier division outfit,we could get hockeyed I think….
    Or even against Galway...

Galway 4 up at the break

383 Posts
    Or even against Galway...
    Yeah they’re a Premier division team in all but name…

I would be interested to see how they’d get on against a Pats or Bohs though….
    Irish by birth ,Harps by the grace of god.

1,083 Posts
    Ollie Horgan has managed to get himself sent off. They're 4-0 up, what could he possibly be that upset about? He must cost a fortune in fines on top of his wages.

238 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by oriel View Post
    Will all depend on the draw, 2 of these 3 could easily draw each other in the next round then it opens up even more. Dundalk are not playing well so the draw even more important, but if you have hopes of getting to the final you will need to beat decent clubs at some point, actually keep forgetting we did that already in the first round !

We only played Bohs once in a final in modern times (2002) but I don't think we have ever played Pats in one.
    I think we beat you in the semis in 2012 in Oriel, and in 2021 at Richmond.
    Out for a spell, got neglected, lay on the bench unselected.

909 Posts
    Waterfrod just look like a side who need to play against better opposition weekly and not so much that there is a big Premier/1st Division gap. If they are promoted there is something there to work with. Not watching UCD v Galway but 6 goals in less than a full 90mins tells its own story. Galway are well resourced, have had a few bites at promotion so knew whats needed ie Ollie Horgan! I doubt anyone will get an easy night if drawn away to Galway.

Quote Originally Posted by Longfordian View Post
    Ollie Horgan has managed to get himself sent off. They're 4-0 up, what could he possibly be that upset about? He must cost a fortune in fines on top of his wages.
    He just prefers the view from the stand, get the boots off and the feet up and wanted to give Caulfield the chance to feel reponsible for an odd win here and there!
    Last edited by Nesta99; 21/08/2023 at 8:22 PM.

An ignominious end to Mylers time at UCD. Things caught up with him ultimately, players won't play for him.

909 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by TonyD View Post
    I think we beat you in the semis in 2012 in Oriel, and in 2021 at Richmond.
    Played 2 St Pats in 2012. Dundalk reached a ridiculous amount of FAI Cup semis last decade thinking back now. While we won the odd one there was plenty of disappointment too!

Page 21 of 45 FirstFirst ... 11192021222331 ... LastLast