Thread: Drogheda United statement - just released a few minutes ago

Drogheda United statement - just released a few minutes ago

Released on www.droghedaunited.ie
    Last edited by Cosmo; 10/08/2005 at 9:11 AM.
    DAN CONNOR HATES CITY, HE HATES LANGERS

Quote Originally Posted by Cosmo
    In our view this type of behaviour has no place in the eircom league and we expect the League and the F.A.I. to take appropriate and firm action on these matter at the earliest possible opportunity.'

Its all up to the league and FAI now !!

Lets just see what they do shall we !!

He was deeply shocked and traumatised by this incident. The official in question was Mr Oliver Byrne and the assault was witnessed by a number of Drogheda club members and the incident was photographed.
    Hope the photos come out somehow. I'd say they'll be great

And I'd love to see that scumbag talk his way out of it

BTW, what ever happened his evidence against Rovers fans ?
    Last edited by joeraki; 09/08/2005 at 9:35 PM.

The official in question was Mr Oliver Byrne and the assault was witnessed by a number of Drogheda club members and the incident was photographed.
    I thought Drogs might fudge the issue but i suppose when you are in no way to blame you have to go on the offense like that.

If Oily travels to the cross on Monday he going to get some slagging.

full marks to drogs for speaking out -maybe now the league will act seeing that the ball has been thrusted into their hands
    The lunatic is on the grass
    Remembering games and daisy chains and laughs
    Got to keep the loonies on the path

I understand that the photographer in question received a fractured nose in the incident. Lets hope he makes a complaint to the Gardai.

82 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by iceman
    I understand that the photographer in question received a fractured nose in the incident. Lets hope he makes a complaint to the Gardai.
    If this is true this is a Gardai issue. It is a criminal act and should be dealt with by the proper authorities.

I really hope the photographer and Drogheda pursue this through the guards. Pursuing FAI sanctions are a cop out.

Ideally the guilty party would be prosecuted, convicted and then the FAI could step in and apply its sanctions to the club and individuals.

BTW from what I remember Gardai are usually on duty in Tolka behind the Drumcondra goal at the turnstiles corner, I wonder did they see anything? My understanding in the Roddy v Oily mismatch is that this is a civil case as presumably said Gardai weren't there because it happened well before the game kicked off.

It's a pity the statement is so badly worded. An impression is given that Ireland's number 1 was the person who assaulted the photographer.

Oliver. LOL
    Extratime.ie

Yo te quiero, mi querida. Sin tus besos, yo soy nada.

Abri o portão de ouro, da maquina do tempo.

Mi mamá me hizo guapo, listo y antimadridista.

Shelbourne player Jason Byrne, on scoring in the 94th minute raced to the area where Drogheda Supporters were seated and gave them a crude two-fingered gesture.
    If the rest of the statement is as accurate as that then it's as worthy of notice as Pat Dolan, and the celebration is on EL weekly for anyone with it taped to see that is complete fabrication. There was no two fingered gesture whatsoever.

To be honest with you it's sad to see the league washing its provrebila dirties in public like this. However - everyone knows how ineffective the FAI and the league is at dealing with issues like this, so the Drogs have been left with no real option. If we had a proper disciplinary procedure/rules etc then this wouldn't need to happen.

Anyways - I'll bet the FAI are praying it'll go through the courts, as that gets them off the hook. Then whatever the court decides they can just say 'sure the courts have already dealt with the matter' and do nothing themselves

A very public stand needs to be taken against Olly Byrne - not in court, but within the realms/corridors of Irish football. The man is a feckin lunatic. Someone needs to push the FAI hard on this and not let them dodge making a decision we all know needs to be made.
    Last edited by dcfcsteve; 10/08/2005 at 12:25 AM.

I am very angry at what happened last night as an eircom league fan..Ollie Byrne has been causing trouble up and down the country for a long time..he has tried it at Turners X and many other grounds so many times and always gets away with it..i say well done to Drogs for making a stand...what is it with Shels..do they think they are not allowed to get beaten?..there is always trouble when Shels lose..i say shame on you Ollie Byrne and also shame on you Pat Fenlon...add the likes of Owen Haery and David Crawley to that...i hope they try this Monday night at the X because there would be murder..Cork City FC and its fans will not be bullied by a bunch of scumbag thugs...

This is not aimed at Shels fans..when you change your manager and chairman and in fact some of your players you will look back and wonder how were they allowed to run your club...

1,550 Posts
    Did anyone else assume Drogheda were in finacial difficulty when they saw the title of this thread?

It'll be interesting to see those photos.

From today's Irish Times

Paul O'Hehir

The photographer involved in an incident with Shelbourne chief executive Ollie Byrne at the end of Monday's fractious Premier Division match between the league champions and Drogheda United has made an official complaint over his alleged mistreatment to the Eircom League.

Terry Collins, Drogheda United's PRO, will lodge the complaint through the club after he was grounded after the final whistle. He was taking photographs as players made their way to the dressingroom tunnel.

Collins claims Byrne forcefully took hold of his camera lens. Both men grappled with the camera and Collins ended up on the ground but it has been confirmed neither party was punched.Byrne says he simply requested Collins to stop taking photographs. He admitted placing his hands on the camera lens.

It has also emerged Shelbourne's Stuart Byrne was sent off by Feighery in the tunnel after the match. The midfielder slapped the ball out of Feighery hands while confronting the referee after the whistle.
    Foot.ie's entire existence is predicated on the average idiot's inability to ignore other idiots

Heard lastnight that the photos MIGHT be in todays Drogheda Independent .

As for Jason Byrne, I didn't see him give the 2 fingered salute myself and was sorry that this part was in the statement - like even if he did, who cares? - the statement shouldve just stuck to ollie.

Still though, at least we've stood up to him - ball is now in the FAI's and EL's court

OLIVER byrne could be easily wound up if he goes for his usual pint in the horseshoe next monday night

Saw on the shels mb that there's photos in todays star and sun

Anybody able to put them up here?

Quote Originally Posted by thecorner
    OLIVER byrne could be easily wound up if he goes for his usual pint in the horseshoe next monday night
    he gets in and we dont!!!

the mind boggles....

144 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by bigmac
    It has also emerged Shelbourne's Stuart Byrne was sent off by Feighery in the tunnel after the match. The midfielder slapped the ball out of Feighery hands while confronting the referee after the whistle.
    Does this mean Stuey will miss Monday nights game at the Cross ?
    "Must you tell me all your secrets when it's hard enough to love you knowing nothing."

http://worddok.blogspot.com

Heard lastnight that the photos MIGHT be in todays Drogheda Independent .

As for Jason Byrne, I didn't see him give the 2 fingered salute myself and was sorry that this part was in the statement - like even if he did, who cares? - the statement shouldve just stuck to ollie.

Still though, at least we've stood up to him - ball is now in the FAI's and EL's court

Yeah i thought the same myself, i seen him running the lenght of the stand but did'nt see him what so ever give the oul fingers...... and as you say, who cares if he did. This is about Ollie.

The FAI/eL really needs to come down hard on Shels this time, enough is enough FFS. Lenghty bans and a points deduction would do.

If anyone gets there hands on the snaps can we post them here ?