Page 32 of 40 FirstFirst ... 223031323334 ... LastLast

Thread: Hull City owners to take majority stake in Dundalk?

1,104 Posts
    There's more than one but it doesn't really matter.

42 Posts
    There was an article on Dundalk's financial woes in this month's When Saturday Comes. Mad that they have had 5 sets of owners in 9 years. Brian Ainscough quoted as calling Oriel Park a pigsty after he took over. He was a real emperor with no clothes who didn't even see out a full season in charge before he ran out of money.

960 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by Longfordian View Post
    There's more than one but it doesn't really matter.
    In the grand scheme no! But if wanting to present a professional front and maximise credibility especially when there is a silly tug of war going then yes it matters on some level. Its not a social media post or on a message board where its chit chat, its a formal statement and imo at the very least fix the blue and red squigley underscores. I noticed straight away, outspoken also but I did wonder whether it was something that people bother about these days. iIs not quite like one supporter group putting out a release with text talk years back when Nokia phone texts were hijacking the spoken word!

89 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by ToberonaTornado View Post
    new trust setting up.
    One of the lads behind this (allegedly) owns part of a barbers in town. I would be very worried about where his funds are coming from (not by legal means)

As for John Temple, he dosnt have a penny so I do wonder where he is getting the money to pay the first team and pay nobody else it seems

The FAI obviously let him take over the club as they didn't want the **** show of us going bust mid season and everyone's points changing

I know a few younger lads who play with the youth teams and have been told most of them have already agreed to move to new teams next season mostly Newry, Warrenpoint (they have loads lads from town playing with them as it is) Drogheda and Shels
    Can't blame them to be fair when they don't know if they will be able to have a game each week

I can't see us having a team next season, I hope I'm wrong

960 Posts
    Wow! It amazing how the key source of info in Ireland, maybe particularly about Dundalk FC in this case, start in the hairdressers and barber shops of the nation! Nobody knows whats in the works at all!

399 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by trevy View Post
    There was an article on Dundalk's financial woes in this month's When Saturday Comes. Mad that they have had 5 sets of owners in 9 years. Brian Ainscough quoted as calling Oriel Park a pigsty after he took over. He was a real emperor with no clothes who didn't even see out a full season in charge before he ran out of money.
    I like that mag, used to subscribe, usually an excellent read usually right to the point, some excellent stuff in it, and amazingly they seem to feature an Irish Football story at least twice a year, going on hols soon, will be nice reading, cheers for the shout.

Oh BA was a bluffer and no mistake.
    #DundalkFC - First Irish club to win an away game in Europe (1963), only Irish club to win a game / points in Europa League Group Stage (2016).

399 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by dundalkfc10 View Post
    One of the lads behind this (allegedly) owns part of a barbers in town. I would be very worried about where his funds are coming from (not by legal means)

As for John Temple, he dosnt have a penny so I do wonder where he is getting the money to pay the first team and pay nobody else it seems

The FAI obviously let him take over the club as they didn't want the **** show of us going bust mid season and everyone's points changing

I know a few younger lads who play with the youth teams and have been told most of them have already agreed to move to new teams next season mostly Newry, Warrenpoint (they have loads lads from town playing with them as it is) Drogheda and Shels
    Can't blame them to be fair when they don't know if they will be able to have a game each week

I can't see us having a team next season, I hope I'm wrong
    Thanks for your positive view on things dfc10 ! Quite a flippant post, mentioning a small biz owner who is only one of 20 or so founders of this group. There are 2-3 accountants, biz leaders, one former DFC chair and local authority reps on the committee, and it hasn't even launched yet, but don't let that alter your unwavering support.

Dundalk will be in biz next season, and should have a competitive budget in the FD. Time to take our medicine and get better on and off the field.
    #DundalkFC - First Irish club to win an away game in Europe (1963), only Irish club to win a game / points in Europa League Group Stage (2016).

960 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by oriel View Post
    Thanks for your positive view on things dfc10 ! Quite a flippant post, mentioning a small biz owner who is only one of 20 or so founders of this group. There are 2-3 accountants, biz leaders, one former DFC chair and local authority reps on the committee, and it hasn't even launched yet, but don't let that alter your unwavering support.

Dundalk will be in biz next season, and should have a competitive budget in the FD. Time to take our medicine and get better on and off the field.
    Out of interest is this based on solid info or a kind of hope sounding like a sttement of fact? I'll take any reassurances at this stage, within reason, licencing application and issues like floodlights and pitcg progressing unless those are deferrable for 1st Division?

399 Posts
    Christ Nesta, do we need to add you to the list of doom and gloom.

Let me re-phrase me it, Dundalk supporters both local and outside the town are moving heaven and earth to try their hardest hoping that we will have a club in business next year.

One of these is a new Trust, if you want to help out and join / contribute that would be great, if not and you want to continue posting negative messages on here while doing nothing, I am not sure how that helps things.

960 Posts
    Eh no you dont need to add me, Im already on the list, the clarification is appreciated, Im hopeful too and will step up in any way I can in due course, but I also know its the hope that can hurt! I was actually hoping that maybe there was some clarity provided by JT that Id missed or that a new trust and SC had oulled together fully.

2,446 Posts
    Out of curiosity, do Dundalk really need to be pushing a 'competitive budget in the FD' next season, or spending a year or two focusing on paying off their massive debts and being thankful to have a club at all?

862 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by nigel-harps1954 View Post
    Out of curiosity, do Dundalk really need to be pushing a 'competitive budget in the FD' next season, or spending a year or two focusing on paying off their massive debts and being thankful to have a club at all?
    Exactly. I've already had fans talking to me about pushing for europe when they get back up, mind boggling
    BetweenTheStripes.net - Home of Between the Stripes LOI podcast.

246 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by outspoken View Post
    Exactly. I've already had fans talking to me about pushing for europe when they get back up, mind boggling
    TBF, they're just echoing what their new owner was saying.

82 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by outspoken View Post
    It is exceptionally hard to have sympathy for them if this is the nonsense being pushed

I saw some Dundalk fans on social media bemoaning the fact they let Hoban and Shepherd leave the club and that they would've been challenging with them still at the club. It feels like the situation the club will be in for the foreseeable future still hasn't hit a portion of the fanbase despite everything.

862 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by RealJohn91 View Post
    I saw some Dundalk fans on social media bemoaning the fact they let Hoban and Shepherd leave the club and that they would've been challenging with them still at the club. It feels like the situation the club will be in for the foreseeable future still hasn't hit a portion of the fanbase despite everything.
    Couldn't believe that commentary either, the last thing the club needs is more contracts they can't afford.
    BetweenTheStripes.net - Home of Between the Stripes LOI podcast.

960 Posts
    But lads you are just being negative....

Lads come on Dundalk would of easily been 20 points better off if we hadn't of surrendered Hoban to Derry and had of executed the option on Shepard.

I don't believe in counter factuals but they'd of easily turned some defeats into draws and draws into wins

960 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by RealJohn91 View Post
    With hindsight having Hoban off th payroll was probably good. It wasnt good that he was let go for next to nothing imo. The thinking behind these comments, I have heard them plenty also, is that without a clamity keeper and with a striker who scores that we could be in a Euro spot, add that to the solidarity lump sum and you've added around what the debt is to income. The must be not so obvious flaw is the papering over cracks and no gaurantee that that money would have been used as it should, ye know like paying tax bills. Tbh the players that came in, including transfer fees were not on buttons and Hoban/Sheppard were not necessarily budget cuts. Cant recall which player released during the summer but was reported to have been that was on silly money like €1200pw or something, €27k pw is the reported current player wages. keeping the likes of Hoban, proven striker, well its better to pay him money you dont have than some unknown flop.

Its ok to hope for something like bouncing back to the Premier Division quickly and looking to qualify for Europe again. Its very optimistic to think it will happen, but if debts were cleared by an owner and the money is there then let people dream. I think its a load of self consoling 'sure if relegated we will just get promoted straght away and be back in Europe 2027' rather than really not getting it. Sure target the cup 2025 too abd have promotion and Europe on the wish list.

If its hard to have sympathy pity the fools!

Quote Originally Posted by nigel-harps1954 View Post
    Afraid of us gate crashing your title charge next season Nigel
    Last edited by Nesta99; 13/10/2024 at 2:01 PM.

2,446 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by Nesta99 View Post
    Afraid of us gate crashing your title charge next season Nigel
    Them's fighting words.

Page 32 of 40 FirstFirst ... 223031323334 ... LastLast