Thread: Imitatition is the sincerest form of flattery...

Talking Imitatition is the sincerest form of flattery...

Not only do certain clubs follow what Shamrock Rovers fans do first off the pitch (tifo flags, ultra groups, fighting ), now Cork ****ty decided to copy our 'half time hero' idea.

It involves introducing a club legend at half time, having a Q&A and awarding him a pennant. For example, the hero on Friday was 4 in a row winner who went from the hoops to Chelsea, John Cody (fair play to the 200 SPA fc supporters who bothered to travel the 2 miles to the game, the only away 'fans' so far to try and disrupt it, even the gypo's behaved. Pure class).

Who do c awk introduce in their attempt? Some former CORK HIBERNIANS player . Not one former Cork City player deemed worthy. Well done you yokels. I'd call it pathetic but no doubt Colm will close this thread as well if i do.

Who gives a **** what other clubs copy! If it helps in anyway to boost the attendances of eL clubs then i am all for it

Quote Originally Posted by Dyl10
    Who gives a **** what other clubs copy! If it helps in anyway to boost the attendances of eL clubs then i am all for it
    grand, but if you are going to rip something off, best not to make k nobs of yourselves doing it.
    i mean, introducing a former player of another club as your first legend? thats outrageous. but amusing nonetheless...

Isnt that what you just did with Cody or are you seriously trying to say that Shamrock Rovers is the same as this one.

That Rovers played on the Southside, owned a ground and not a burberry baseball cap in sight.... Probably a bit more different to the crowd you follow than Hibs and and their natural successors City. Next you'll be accusing Pats, Bohs and City of ripping off your copyright on hooliganism....
    Mick D. for Ireland!

Quote Originally Posted by Number 4
    Isnt that what you just did with Cody or are you seriously trying to say that Shamrock Rovers is the same as this one.
    its the same club ffs. so yes.

hibs and city arent. so no.

keep up please.

Quote Originally Posted by Roverstillidie
    Not only do certain clubs follow what Shamrock Rovers fans do first off the pitch (tifo flags, ultra groups, fighting ), now Cork ****ty decided to copy our 'half time hero' idea.

Are you losing it altogether ???? ..... What are you on man ????

Are you seriously trying ot make out that Rovers are the only club that can introduce past players to the home crowd ?? Have you got a patent on this ?? So were the first ever club to do this ever ??

Come down out of the clouds or you'll hurt yourself ya tool !!

Unreal ..... i have heard it all now .... Un-fúcking-real !!

How many holding companies of the club have folded owing loads only for another new company to spring up and 'trade' as Shamrock Rovers at this stage. Same club? Well, using the same name I'll give you that.

Keep up ? Its hard to keep up with each new Shamrock Rovers.

Imitatition is the sincerest form of flattery...
    Yawn.

No one cares about this especially when you have to submit half the posts to this thread yourself.

71 Posts
    Indeed because Shamrock Rovers are the first ever club to come across the highly unique idea of taking a former player onto the pitch at half time and acknowledging their contribution.

Quote Originally Posted by northside hoop
    I think he's making the point that Rovers introuduce past players who played for Rovers.
    To be totally honest .... i dont really care who they played for ..... the player in question was a huge Cork legend .... it doesn't matter who he played for.

By the same token, Davie Barry used to play GAA ... and he is still welcome and got a huge reception the last time he was introduced. [SIZE=1]He hit the bar too[/SIZE]

71 Posts
    I think he's making the point that Rovers introuduce past players who played for Rovers.
    I think he's making an arse of himself.

...which, of course, you do have the uniqueness of doing.
    "I don’t want to tempt fate, but Thierry Henry is not having one of his best nights." - RTE co-commentator Jim Beglin, minutes before TH struck the stunning winner.

League titles Oh dear !

BTW: I wonder will the GAA sue rovers for plagiarism?

even the gypo's behaved. Pure class).

what you sayin here....the gypos are pure class for not ripping the píss out of your half time hero - so the chant on Friday is true???

"Bohs and Rovers....the best of friends"

im not laying copyright to introducing players at half time, or tifo flags etc. Its just we were the first Eircom League club to do them. There is a pattern of other clubs copying what we do. Shels Briogad Dearg, half a dozen clubs with tifo stlye flags etc. Even, if you want, the burberry thing.

Then cork do the 'half time hero' (my understanding is thats what they called it... word for word) about 2 months after we start it, and introduce a former player of another club!?!

its a fair dig!

Quote Originally Posted by wws
    what you sayin here....the gypos are pure class for not ripping the píss out of your half time hero - so the chant on Friday is true???

"Bohs and Rovers....the best of friends"

the class comment was directed at you... thats very unfortunate grammer!!!

and i'll take your word for it, we couldnt hear you, something to do with no-one being there to sing it....

No its not - other clubs have introduced former 'hero's' at certain times a long time before 2 months ago. Jeez.

Just stop it please !

the class comment was directed at you... thats very unfortunate grammer!!!

and i'll take your word for it, we couldnt hear you, something to do with no-one being there to sing it....

yeah you're right rovers had 2,000 at it and pats had 300, oh im so embarressed by our lack of support

ure half time show was drowned out by pats slaggin and ure mc admittted as much after the game....sure why would you even mentioned the pats fans above if you couldnt hear them?????!

......Best of Friends...

In fairness he has a point to an extent though is very petty bringing it up as rovers (as does every club in the country) copy stuff too.

Rovers were the first Eircom League club to have tifo flags, the first EL to have the number 12 jersey for fans and the first with the half time hero thingy.

However thats not to say that Rovers dont copy stuff like this from elsewhere - im sure all of the above 3 were seen in numerous places before rovers did them, just not in the EL.

Tbh though this is a stupid thread, who gives a f**k who copys what from where. Sure if we're going to go into it, does anybody notice the amount of songs that Rovers eh 'borrow' from man utd (not saying that theres anyone in the league that doesnt copy songs just making the point that everyone copys everything in football !!)
    DAN CONNOR HATES CITY, HE HATES LANGERS