Thread: UCD supporters 0-c.20 Dublin City supporters

3,487 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by el tk
    Sounds like you lack a captain who can yell loud enough to galvanise the team into action.
    My throat is actually a bit hoarse from shouting, actually! Think everyone gave us listening to me after a while though!

Nope, I think it goes a bit deeper than that, to be honest.

You're supposed to be the captain and your team is sitting down? You're not shouting loud enough or long enough IMO.

811 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by pineapple stu
    My throat is actually a bit hoarse from shouting, actually! Think everyone gave us listening to me after a while though!
    I suspect the fact that you were ignoring most of your own advice didn't help.

Nope, I think it goes a bit deeper than that, to be honest.
    Nothing deep about it. They're a lot better than us.
    You can't spell failure without FAI

811 Posts
    You're supposed to be the captain and your team is sitting down? You're not shouting loud enough or long enough IMO.
    Mick McCarthy couldn't have done enough shouting to keep us under 20-0 yesterday.

1,550 Posts
    I'm just stunned that DC had the numbers to field a team

Was Ronan Seery playing?

811 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by Galway Harps
    I'm just stunned that DC had the numbers to field a team

Was Ronan Seery playing?
    Not that we noticed, though one of their players resembled Mick O'Byrne.

3,487 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by John83
    I suspect the fact that you were ignoring most of your own advice didn't help.
    I'm a whore of a player when we're doing badly. I can see everything that's going wrong, but that doesn't mean I can play any better! Unfortunately, people were letting DC players roam through midfield, I'd go to them and by necessity leave my man to do so, who was passed to, who'd score. If I'd've stayed put, the same would've happened.

I did claim one corner and one or two crosses, plus get a nice turn on some lad to send Joey away down the wing, which is more good than I usually do in a game!

811 Posts
    I'm a whore of a player when we're doing badly. I can see everything that's going wrong, but that doesn't mean I can play any better!
    I'm not immensely different, but a lot less vocal. For instance, I think at one point you basically asked me, possibly the least fit player on the field, to play box to box. Which probably only serves to emphasise how utterly lacking in good players we were.

Did nobody think of just committing niggling fouls and playing with a lot of physicality so they'd lose interest in the game?

811 Posts
    Did nobody think of just committing niggling fouls and playing with a lot of physicality so they'd lose interest in the game?
    They were bigger than us. Seriously, I'm a big guy, but I would have been ploughed out of it by them. Most of our attempts to kick people caught the wind of their passage.

Actually adding injury to insult

Just to add insult to injury or injury to insult, or whatever, I think I may have broken my left leg, or injured it pretty badly. I would have gone to casulty today but I'm going to see the Presidents Of The United States Of America in the Templebar Music Centre tonite & was afraid that if I did go I'd be in hospital & miss it. Probs have to hit St Vincents tomorrow morning. I'm afraid you'll have to count me out of the Friday half time extravaganza.

Must say thought twenty four nil or smenty four nil, it was still good craic.
    "I always likened him to a Rolls Royce. You just used him once a week & he'd be flawless"
    Townsend on McGrath

811 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by Colie
    Just to add insult to injury or injury to insult, or whatever, I think I may have broken my left leg, or injured it pretty badly. I would have gone to casulty today but I'm going to see the Presidents Of The United States Of America in the Templebar Music Centre tonite & was afraid that if I did go I'd be in hospital & miss it. Probs have to hit St Vincents tomorrow morning. I'm afraid you'll have to count me out of the Friday half time extravaganza.
    Hard luck man. I hope it's not broken.

Must say thought twenty four nil or smenty four nil, it was still good craic.
    Very true.

Have to give credit where it is due here actually lads. Despite the scoreline mounting, none of our goals came about by any of the UCD players simply giving up and allowing us to score. Every player did his best until the 90 minutes were up, and that was commendable. Personally I enjoyed the game, and that surface was a joy to play on (although perhaps had the game been closer, slide tackles and the likes would have been made nigh on impossible)

Just as a point of note that was our 4th game together as a team since last year. We've only played Shamrock Rovers once and Shelbourne twice.
    We don't train together or anything, but 90% of our players would be playing some kind of regular competitive football. (SuperLeague would seem an obvious choice for you lads )

Oh and we've never had a problem putting a team together Galway Harp. Most Dublin City fans I know are actively involved in local football sides.
    Good luck in your future games lads, and we would be willing to play again in the future no problem. I would recommend keeping bangers to a minimum, as you wouldn't be able to rely on them showing up and it's impossible to build any cohesive style if people don't know each others names etc Our team yesterday was 98% of the team that drew 0-0 with Shels 2 weeks ago.

71 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by Maynard
    Our team yesterday was 98% of the team that drew 0-0 with Shels 2 weeks ago.
    That's means roughly 20% of one player disppeared?

Maynard if none of your goals came from our lads giving up then that is a very sad thing indeed.

Thanks for the advice though. Hopefully I can play against you lads sometime.

3,487 Posts
    Have to give credit where it is due here actually lads. Despite the scoreline mounting, none of our goals came about by any of the UCD players simply giving up and allowing us to score. Every player did his best until the 90 minutes were up, and that was commendable.
    That's even more depressing - at least if we'd given up, we could have claimed the scoreline flattered youz!

I would recommend keeping bangers to a minimum
    Definitely. Problem is, we've never played an 11-a-side game before (7-a-side at max), and with so many people out of the country or at work, we were kind of forced into a patchwork team...

Our team yesterday was 98% of the team that drew 0-0 with Shels 2 weeks ago.
    Who was the unlucky 1/5th of a player to miss out?

71 Posts
    Pineapple that post was relatively similar to mine. Great minds?

3,487 Posts
    Definitely fools!

It seems then that the first team isnt the only team in the club that struggles to score.....

Maybe lads you'll be a bit more sympathetic on McWalther and the lads in future
    Where you start is not as important as where you finish!!!!

well lads our team is set! i very much doubt we will hammer ye but may the best team win on firday!

I think heads dropped after the fifth goal, which was an unnecessary overhead kick from five yards to an empty net.
    No i think that was actually the sixth or seventh, cause i got the fifth and went on and the lad that came on decided to stick the ball away with the overly flamboyant overhead / scissors / fall over kick from four / five / two yards.

Great game, and really enjoyed it, we should set up some sort of a one day competition, if UCD were able to swing the use of the five-a-side pitches for a day, say in late october, towards the end of the season, and get a bit of publicity, shouldn't have any problem getting a bit of sponsorship for it.

What you think, i'd be prepared to do a lot of the leg work, and recruiting a panel of 12 from each of the 22 teams, come to Dublin on a Saturday / Sunday, play a champions league style competition. Could maybe even show the highlights of the final on eircom league weekly that week.

Just a suggestion.