Thread: Galway 1-Sligo 1

sean conner the scorn of the league after he stuck two fingers up at fans at the galway sligo match

Angry

Quote Originally Posted by Galwayexile
    sean conner the scorn of the league after he stuck two fingers up at fans at the galway sligo match
    It's great how quick all ye Galway fans forget. As I have said already, Lally did the exact same thing in the Showgrounds after ye lost 4-1. Although from what I can remember, I think PD was the only one on here that was at that match, even though ye have terrific support!

Rover1 you will not attack GUFC fans like that, but especially when its me your attacking as well, your banned for good from posting on our forum again
    GUFC Mod.
    Last edited by Terry; 08/08/2005 at 8:25 AM.

lads i apologise if i annoyed some sligo fans, dont let this get into a slagging match.We are both even now with both managers sticking fingers up at their fans.

Sligoman i wasnt implying to you as i know your a genuine fan and i respect your views.

Ps i couldnt go to the match as i live in dublin now

We are both even now with both managers sticking fingers up at their fans.
    Agreed!

Sligoman i wasnt implying to you as i know your a genuine fan and i respect your views.
    Ok, no problem. Anyway the game is over now, it's time to forget about it. I'm finished talking about it

Ps i couldnt go to the match as i live in dublin now
    Hence the name Galwayexile?

75 Posts

Stephen Lally was sent

for protesting over Gerry Carrs Elbow in the face for Barry Moran which broke his nose and he was spat on by sligo fans as he made his way from the bench.

What Saen Connor did showed what a **** he was and could have started a riot if he did it in most other grounds unfortunately the referee or the observer didnt see the fool but our security people did and brought it to the referees attention after the game.

Quote Originally Posted by gufct
    What Saen Connor did showed what a **** he was and could have started a riot if he did it in most other grounds unfortunately the referee or the observer didnt see the fool but our security people did and brought it to the referees attention after the game.
    I could not condone what SC did, so dont get me wrong. If he did it, he is a fool, and if it is proven then he should get his punishment.
    But I saw a female Sligo fan coming down to our section at halftime with a few bottles of coke both hands. She was very distressed. I overheard her telling some friends that Galway supporters had spat at her on the way down. I told her friends to inform the Galway security. I dont know what happened after that.
    I hope she did inform the security guys.
    I have scattered my dreams underneath your feet, tread carefully, cos it's my dreams you walk on.

Quote Originally Posted by Redzer
    I could not condone what SC did, so dont get me wrong. If he did it, he is a fool, and if it is proven then he should get his punishment.
    But I saw a female Sligo fan coming down to our section at halftime with a few bottles of coke both hands. She was very distressed. I overheard her telling some friends that Galway supporters had spat at her on the way down. I told her friends to inform the Galway security. I dont know what happened after that.
    I hope she did inform the security guys.
    I'm sorry but I cannot believe that..If thats what you heard so be it but I can't see that happening in Terryland.. We were well up for the craic but as far as I know none of the lads would spit on a girl like that..
    I could be proved wrong.. but without proof I refuse to believe a true Galway United supporter acted like that

Patrick Dunne do you know of any complaints like this made by a Sligo fan?
    Last edited by Eire06; 08/08/2005 at 4:01 PM.

75 Posts

Not one complaint

from anyone except the sean connor incident and some not too nice things roared at Eric by some fools who should be sorted out by srfc.

The game was a great advertisement for el soccer and the atmosphere was brilliant so i hope this is the start of some decent relationship between the 2 clubs and lets not have a few people jibing each other on the internet blow the rivalry into something it isnt.

Personally it would be Shams and Shels i would hate more than other el teams.

Both sets of supporters ..

.. behaved themselves impeccably. As gufct said, the spitting incident was not reported to any of our stewards. Both gufct and I were at a stewards briefing after the game.

It could have happened, no-one can legislate for morons.
    One GUFC supporter spitting at a SRFC supporter doesn't make us all thugs.
    One SRFC supporter giving Eric Lavine racist abuse doesn't make all Sligo supporters racists.

I wouldnt be too bothered about the Connor "fingers" incident, it only reflects badly on him.

Yawn !

PD.
    Last edited by Patrick Dunne; 09/08/2005 at 12:21 AM.

Quote Originally Posted by Patrick Dunne
    One SRFC supporter giving Eric Lavine racist abuse doesn't make all Sligo supporters racists.
    Exactly, we have coloured players too so if we were all racist then I think it would be obvious at every game in the Showgrounds too.

Just because ..

.. club has non-white players doesn't mean that club doesn't have racist supporters.

There is a high chance that one inbred, moronic, imbecilic cretin out of a crowd of 1,000 people will shout a racist remark at an opposition (or home) player. While this would annoy me, it wouldnt surprise or shock me.

On the other hand, a group of supporters shouting or chanting racist remarks, without being confronted by fellow supporters or stewards, would suggest that club has a problem.

.. club has non-white players doesn't mean that club doesn't have racist supporters.
    I know but what I'm saying is that if a lot of our fans were racist then we would hear more of it in the Showgies.

On the other hand, a group of supporters shouting or chanting racist remarks, without being confronted by fellow supporters or stewards, would suggest that club has a problem.
    Well I have yet to hear a racist remark in the Showgrounds and if there is then they are scum!

Am not referring ..

.. to Sligo Rovers, its a general point.

The only racist remarks in the Showgrounds will be directed at you from us !

Yes, HUNS!. But it looks like we have a new name for ye so

Quote Originally Posted by sligoman
    Well I have yet to hear a racist remark in the Showgrounds and if there is then they are scum!
    There are racists and scumbags everywhere... and there's definatley been a racist remark in the showgrounds some time... so you have proved us right!