Page 24 of 52 FirstFirst ... 14222324252634 ... LastLast

Thread: FAI Junior Cup 2005/06

carew have an objection after yesterdays defeat. castlebar's keeper was not signed in time.........an objection was sent in after the last round but the junior council decided that the keeper was signed but just was not registered.
    this is like what happened to carew last year. if it goes to senior council carew will win the appeal. senior council will go by the book

Quote Originally Posted by mossy
    First of all Congrats to Mayo 3 teams left and 3 home draws. What a year !!
    Who now are the best teams left - probably Pike/Westport/Celtic/portmarnock/clonmel/killester in no apparent order.
    Westport at home are infinately worse than Westport away Pitch is very by Mayo standards. C/Bar Celtic while not pretty are awfully hard beaten. Ballyheane are work like but are carrying a few too many players forwardshave no teeth. How did Athreny lose to Manulla ? This is the second time in a month !!
    Any views from Limerick re Carew ? Did the Muinteoir screw ye ?
    Muinteoir = Idiotic Ref in Mayo Looks the part but in reality hasn't a clue
    Athenry beat manulla earlier in this competition, should have won yesterday in the connaught cup really but went a man down after 20 mins and that killed it more or less.good luck to manulla in it,sound lads.

any one know where the latest odds are posted??

646 Posts

Latest Odds

2006 FAI Junior Cup

Carrick Utd 9/2
    Killester Utd 6/1
    Pike Rovers 6/1
    Portmarknock 7/1
    Westport Utd 7/1
    Clonmel Town 9/1
    Castlebar Celtic 10/1
    Deen Celtic 10/1
    Salthill Devons 12/1
    Athenry FC 14/1
    Neilstown Rangers 14/1
    Waterford Crystal 16/1
    Dublin Bus 18/1
    UL Aisling Annacotty 18/1
    Ballyheane FC 25/1
    Oldbridge 33/1
    Dungarvan 66/1
    Valley Park Utd 66/1

FAI Junior Cup 7th Round Draw

Dungarvan V Portmarnock
    Carrick Utd V Pike Rovers
    Dublin Bus V Athenry
    Old Bridge V Clonmel Town
    Ballyheane V UL Aisling Annacotty
    Castlebar Celtic V Neilstown Rgs
    Salthill Devon or Valley Park Utd V Deen Celtic or Waterford Crystal
    Westport Utd V Killester Utd

TIES TO BE PLAYED 4TH & 5TH FEBRUARY 2006

"5 teams from Connacht in last 18, how times have changed."
    Ya there's 7 teams from Leinster and 6 from Munster..the change must be very slow
    "The theory of football is not just a study of how to win.Equally as important is how not to lose."

[QUOTE=Athenryboy]Athenry beat manulla earlier in this competition, should have won yesterday in the connaught cup really but went a man down after 20 mins and that killed it more or less.good luck to manulla in it,sound lads.

How can you lose to Manulla after destroying Ballyheane. It makes no sense. The Heane have lost to Manulla only once in the last 18fixtures, yet ye hammered them 4 - 1 and could not defeat a Manulla side who struggled in this years Super League. Examples might help perhaps

Manulla 3 Celtic 6
    Manulla 0 Westport 5
    Celtic 4 Manulla 0
    Westport 3 Manulla 0

As opposed to

Ballyheane 1 Celtic 2
    Ballyheane 1 Westport 0
    Celtic 3 Ballyheane 2
    Westport 3 Ballyheane 0

Just makes no sense thats all. Had ye the same squad in all the matches or was that super striker not interested in Manulla ?
    Just does not make sense
    I will agree that their manager is sound Mossy is his name. Not Me, by the way and they have only just shafted him at their last AGM !!!
    Anyway best of luck in the FAI Cup as 5 Connaught Clubs remaining
    Last edited by mossy; 23/01/2006 at 3:40 PM.

yea we had a couple of absentees yesterday, one of our best players was dismissed after the manulla striker boxed him after 20 mins and the ref only seen our man pushing him, but i must say the ref was very one sided(Mike something, i recall him reffing our college games) gave manulla everything, he was the same for gmit when i played with them gave us all the decisions, but anyway that happens in football.

we were by far the better side even with ten men but fair play to the manulla keeper, pulled off about 5-6 great saves. not to worried about the result,the footie was v good, i think the League is the main priority for us this year then the FAI cup, we lost in 2-1 ina playoff last year to mervue after leading the premier all year, so were out to make sure that doesnt happen this season.

Quote Originally Posted by magicman
    carew have an objection after yesterdays defeat. castlebar's keeper was not signed in time.........an objection was sent in after the last round but the junior council decided that the keeper was signed but just was not registered.
    this is like what happened to carew last year. if it goes to senior council carew will win the appeal. senior council will go by the book
    Carew have every right to feel aggrieved, the three peno's were questionable to say the least. Check out the Mayo Junior soccer and Connaught Cup threads to read more on Ciaran Kelly and the transfer, you could find some juicy info.
    I think, if I remember right, that the FAI and the Connaught FA have cleared him for all competitions.

If I were Carew i'd complain about the ref though, woefully unfair to them at times (the Carew centre half was fit to chew blocks after ten minutes, such was his disbelief at some of the decisions). It's about time ref's from other districts were used for all rounds where the draw is open. Cost more but fairer.

Quote Originally Posted by HuRya
    FAI Junior Cup 7th Round Draw

Dungarvan V Portmarnock
    Carrick Utd V Pike Rovers
    Dublin Bus V Athenry
    Old Bridge V Clonmel Town
    Ballyheane V UL Aisling Annacotty
    Castlebar Celtic V Neilstown Rgs
    Salthill Devon or Valley Park Utd V Deen Celtic or Waterford Crystal
    Westport Utd V Killester Utd

TIES TO BE PLAYED 4TH & 5TH FEBRUARY 2006

"5 teams from Connacht in last 18, how times have changed."
    Ya there's 7 teams from Leinster and 6 from Munster..the change must be very slow
    Not to be too hung up on this but I'd hazard a guess that there are more teams in Munster and Leinster than in Connacht three times over. What about all the 'big' teams down there? Where are they now? Oh, that's right, they're in Geography class!

646 Posts
    624 teams entered this year, 123 from Connacht.

Quote Originally Posted by gnasher
    Carew have every right to feel aggrieved, the three peno's were questionable to say the least. Check out the Mayo Junior soccer and Connaught Cup threads to read more on Ciaran Kelly and the transfer, you could find some juicy info.
    I think, if I remember right, that the FAI and the Connaught FA have cleared him for all competitions.

If I were Carew i'd complain about the ref though, woefully unfair to them at times (the Carew centre half was fit to chew blocks after ten minutes, such was his disbelief at some of the decisions). It's about time ref's from other districts were used for all rounds where the draw is open. Cost more but fairer.
    Mayo referees have come under the microscope often enough and the performance yesterday from the referee was as good as the actual game-shocking!!
    Never play leapfrog with a unicorn!!

Question straight talk

Quote Originally Posted by magicman
    Protest Lodged??
    I have received a call today that it has been alleged that a protest has been lodged with the F.A.I. regards the eligibility of C.K. in the game which took place yesterday 6th Round of the F.A.I. Cup, I would hope that a source from the club involved might confirm.
    We wait with interest.

Quote Originally Posted by Athenryboy
    yea we had a couple of absentees yesterday, one of our best players was dismissed after the manulla striker boxed him after 20 mins and the ref only seen our man pushing him, but i must say the ref was very one sided(Mike something, i recall him reffing our college games) gave manulla everything, he was the same for gmit when i played with them gave us all the decisions, but anyway that happens in football.

we were by far the better side even with ten men but fair play to the manulla keeper, pulled off about 5-6 great saves. not to worried about the result,the footie was v good, i think the League is the main priority for us this year then the FAI cup, we lost in 2-1 ina playoff last year to mervue after leading the premier all year, so were out to make sure that doesnt happen this season.
    J.d. makes sure the right ref is at manu you dont get much from them

straight talk

Quote Originally Posted by gnasher

Connaght never cleared him the Fai noted that the Mayo League regraded him
    not quite the same thing.
    read rule-42 fai.

Quote Originally Posted by renovater
    read rule-42 fai.
    So, if Carew do lodge an objection on Rule 42, who is going to be the sacrificial lamb out of all this morass? This would be a disaster for Celtic if Carew object on Rule 42 and it is upheld. The question is, on the flip side, if Castlebar Celtic were aware of Rule 42, why bother trying to play this guy and try to get away with it, if they knew that there could be a problem? I can sense a little bit of deja vu from this.
    Never play leapfrog with a unicorn!!

Quote Originally Posted by renovater
    read rule-42 fai.
    Do you ever actually attend matches or are you still trying to get those rule books surgically removed from where the sun don't shine?

Does anyone think it is right that the Mayo League teams should be penalised
    because they start the league 5-6 months earlier than everyone else?

In the Mayo League you cannot sign players after a certain date, 31 July?
    That means a Mayo league team, according to the rule book anoraks, have to use the same squad from August to May, if they reach the Junior cup, or indeed Connaught Cup Finals. 10 months?
    So what happens if you sign for a Mayo league team, between September and January, which is after the Mayo Leaque season has finished, but early enough to be eligible for the Junior Cup. Are you now signed for next seasons Mayo League.

Would the introduction of two forms be a solution. One for Local Soccer, ie Mayo League, and one for Connaught and Junior Cup. This need only be applied to Leagues who play summer soccer.

Forgive me if the dates are incorrect,.

International Prospect abbeyvale's Avatar
    32 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by Athenryboy
    2006 FAI Junior Cup

Carrick Utd 9/2
    Killester Utd 6/1
    Pike Rovers 6/1
    Portmarknock 7/1
    Westport Utd 7/1
    Clonmel Town 9/1
    Castlebar Celtic 10/1
    Deen Celtic 10/1
    Salthill Devons 12/1
    Athenry FC 14/1
    Neilstown Rangers 14/1
    Waterford Crystal 16/1
    Dublin Bus 18/1
    UL Aisling Annacotty 18/1
    Ballyheane FC 25/1
    Oldbridge 33/1
    Dungarvan 66/1
    Valley Park Utd 66/1
    Give me a break!!! UL/AA 16/1 what bookies are these prices from???

Also
    Just to give you an indication of what Portmarnock will be up against here is a result from last Sunday's Waterford Premier League reads.....Waterford Crystal (16/1 for FAI) 1-2 Dungarvan (66/1 for FAI)....
    68, 99, 08

Quote Originally Posted by abbeyvale
    Give me a break!!! UL/AA 16/1 what bookies are these prices from???

Also
    Just to give you an indication of what Portmarnock will be up against here is a result from last Sunday's Waterford Premier League reads.....Waterford Crystal (16/1 for FAI) 1-2 Dungarvan (66/1 for FAI)....

Ladbrokes.ie!!

fai Junior Cup ..... Carew Park........ Reminds me of the movie,
    Groundhog day

Page 24 of 52 FirstFirst ... 14222324252634 ... LastLast