Thread: Ballyvarry Blue Bombers (Mayo)

Ballyvarry Blue Bombers (Mayo)

Could anyone tell me something about Ballyvarry Blue Bombers? The name fascinates me - how did they come up with the Blue Bombers name? Do they have a nice ground and are they any good or have they ever had a good run in Mayo football??

It's a legend name allright hamish (i see adam ceded to your request), and I would be delighted to find out how they settled on it as well.
    They currently play in the Premier Divison of the Mayo League (one below the top shelf), and have been constantly a decent to good team over the past few years, they seem to yo-yo between the top two divisions.
    I don't know much about the ground but maybe swinford or mossy (near neighbours) can shed some light.

Quote Originally Posted by gnasher
    (i see adam ceded to your request
    Howja know about that???

Thanks for all the info about the mighty Blue Bombers.

The Bombers

Quote Originally Posted by hamish
    Could anyone tell me something about Ballyvarry Blue Bombers? The name fascinates me - how did they come up with the Blue Bombers name? Do they have a nice ground and are they any good or have they ever had a good run in Mayo football??
    The Bombers play in Ballyvary (about 7 miles from Castlebar). They reached the Cup Final in Mayo a few years ago. They were beaten on that occasion, and have been on the slide ever since. They are now in Division 1 (3rd tier of Mayo football after Super League and Premier Division). They play on a Community pitch in Ballyvary - one of the best pitches around Mayo. They have dressing rooms, lights etc. All they need now are some godd players to get them back into a higher division - then again that is what most clubs need.

You will have to check with the locals to find out why and how the added "Blue Bombers" to their name - I am sure that there are a few "whiz kids" out there that might offer some suggestions.

Bestie

46 Posts
    Well done Bestie. Pretty good summation of Ballyvary Blue Bombers. Ballyvary is a few miles outside Castlebar on the main Dublin Road, its a well kept and tidy one street village. I can confirm Hamish and sorry if this will disappoint you but the Bombers doesnt have any real certain origins and has been there more or less since the clubs inception in 1985. It can mean anything you want it to mean and since there have never been any real questions of political correctness related to the name the name has stood. Apart from that the history is as Bestie describes above.Its an excellent community club with a good spirit.

Brendan

Thanks Bestie and Harpsbear - I was taking a really long shot about the Blue Bombers name. I remember when my English teacher (Mayo man) was telling us the story of the either US or British bomber that crash-landed in Mayo during World War 2. But that was near Charlestown, wasn't it? In fact, I think there's a plaque or something there to commeemorate it.
    Anyway, I guessed that the Ballyvarry founders might have some connection to all this and then chose the colour blue for their jersies for their club colours. Add in a few pints and some alliteration and there you have it - Ballyvarry Blue Bombers.
    That surely mist be one the daftest explanations ever given in Foot.ie....BUT...
    Lads, I'll tell you one thing - I've seen clubs founded for even dafter reasons in my time. No kidding.

Howja know about that???

Thanks for all the info about the mighty Blue Bombers.
    While trawling through some forum I came across a veiled request to remove the 'sir'. I'm not psychic although I have been called a psycho.

Quote Originally Posted by gnasher
    While trawling through some forum I came across a veiled request to remove the 'sir'. I'm not psychic although I have been called a psycho.
    Jayney Gnasher I can't remember posting anything to Dahamsta about dropping the "Sir" bit - I did PM him a couple of days ago - not private now, I mean the sir is gone, iinit?

You?? Psycho??

Nah.

But Psychic?? Maybe so.
    Last edited by hamish; 03/05/2006 at 5:22 PM.

Blue Bombers

This could be completely wrong but I heard somewhere before that the Bombers were named after some Canadian Ice Hockey team called the Blue Bombers! Don't know where in Canada but I think Vincent Kenny, one of the founding members, was responsible.
    But knowing Vincent that could be a myth that he started himself just to confuse things further.
    I still think Dynamo Rooskey is the funiest name in Ireland although the Bombers have to get an honourable mention

46 Posts
    Thanks Bestie and Harpsbear - I was taking a really long shot about the Blue Bombers name. I remember when my English teacher (Mayo man) was telling us the story of the either US or British bomber that crash-landed in Mayo during World War 2. But that was near Charlestown, wasn't it? In fact, I think there's a plaque or something there to commeemorate it.
    Yeah....no. No connection to the might that is the Blue Bombers. Its something I gave little or no thought too until now and I did hope to dream up a mythical legend but 1985 wouldnt be all that mythical. However if I'm approached by American's on the subject I'm sure i'll oblige.

Add in a few pints
    Very likely. I imagine it was a few pints that saw the formation and more often than not demise of a few pub teams.

Brendan

46 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by OscarBravo
    This could be completely wrong but I heard somewhere before that the Bombers were named after some Canadian Ice Hockey team called the Blue Bombers! Don't know where in Canada but I think Vincent Kenny, one of the founding members, was responsible.
    But knowing Vincent that could be a myth that he started himself just to confuse things further.
    I still think Dynamo Rooskey is the funiest name in Ireland although the Bombers have to get an honourable mention
    Oh myth but it could gather weight since we dont currently have a myth.Thanks OscarBravo. Nice to get an honourable mention.Every club deserves one at some stage or another.Mind ours is far more honourable than Dynamo Rooskey. Possible that originated over a pint or two.

Brendan

Harpsbear - here in Beeslow we had a club for a good while called Dubarry Apaches - trained them for a while. They were mostly workers in the Dubarry shoe factory and the Apaches was a popular brand of shoe that Dubarry made. They amalgamated with Beeslow. Theplayed in the Roscommon League for about 15 to 20 years.
    Monksland United, on the Roscommon side of Athlone, used to be called Carrols All Stars FC. Fine set up they have now.

Back to Mayo - did Ballina Rovers (used to play them in Connacht Senior League) and Ballina Town amalgamate or did one club cease to exist?? The latter also played in the Connacht Senior League.

Quote Originally Posted by OscarBravo
    O my lord thats the funniest name ive heard in ages thanks for that OB it but a smile on my face for the day. Its nearly asd bad as C.P Ajax in Roscommon (Castleplunket)

i was flicking through the evening herald one time and saw a dublin nightowls league team by the name Real Sosobad,thought it was a good'un

46 Posts
    Harpsbear - here in Beeslow we had a club for a good while called Dubarry Apaches - trained them for a while. They were mostly workers in the Dubarry shoe factory and the Apaches was a popular brand of shoe that Dubarry made.
    Who sponsored them by the way. Ya see ya dont get that kind of quality thesedays.Imagine turning up with a pair of Apaches. I mean it just has that rhyme. Can't say as I could ever afford a pair of Apaches.

Back to Mayo - did Ballina Rovers (used to play them in Connacht Senior League) and Ballina Town amalgamate or did one club cease to exist?? The latter also played in the Connacht Senior League.
    Thats interesting and I'll leave that one for Ballina Town to answer too.

What I can tell you however is how chuffed I am that the thread was cut and Ballyvary Blue Bombers has a thread all to itself. I mean how cool is that. Now after careful consideration and thought a theory which just might have some legs has been proferred to me on the origin of our club name. It goes back to a very famous Irish historical event, evocing imagings of pikes, yellow bellies, Wolfe Tone and Salt and Vinegar Hill. General Humbert and his army of marauding frenchies arrived at Killala circa 1800. There are a few famous associations in Mayo to this such as the Humbert School and The Races of Castlebar (talk about diversion from the objective at hand). Anyhow all across Mayo are signposted 'The Humbert Way'. In any case this route takes us through Ballyvary and please dont ask how they managed to get into a battle with the locals here but they must have done and some sort of a skirmish ensued with artillery fire, bombers etc. How they managed to meet their opposition on the routes they took is anyone's guess and its my opinion that their objective was to get as far as possible into the country without making any enemy contact. This is of course to be taken entirely with a pinch of salt and a drop of vinegar but I felt the need to explain a name generating so much interest.

Brendan

Thumbs up yesterday years

I would have thought the name the blue bomber was given to them by there founder Vincent Kenny,
    Having known this man for the passed 20 odd years.
    the poupose of calling such a name add alot of punch to rallie his troups when under pressue to put the fire back in there bellys.
    he would have been seen on a side line shouting the odds you even might have heard him say
    ya not men ya animals just to stir them up or clinching his fist striking the air
    the like of him is missing from the game what a pitty.

46 Posts
    I think renovator thats as straight forward an explanation of the name as their actually is. Just thought I might add a little bit of colour through that particular story as was told to me.

On the field the Bombers 'B' team visited Cross Celtic yesterday in the league. Absolutely fantastic day, as nice a day as any to head to Cong where the only thing of any relevance was to continue good league form and collect all 3 points. We escaped somewhat fortunately after going 3-1 up and cruising we conceded a penalty and Cross scored a second goal to level the score. It was however to be the Bombers day as we deservedly scored a late winner to leave the score Cross Celtic 3-4 Ballyvary Blue Bombers 'B'.

The A Team were less fortunate going down 2-0 away at Knock/Kiltimagh Utd in Knock yesterday. Knock/Kiltimagh scored an excellent 2nd goal from a free kick. In fairness there was nothing our keeper could have done as it nestled in the bottom left hand corner.

Brendan

Harris

How is Harris getting on with ye? He used to play for us a couple of years ago. I hear he is marshalling your left wing these days, you might know him as keith but Harris is his proper name.

46 Posts
    Only known him as Keith but I'll try Harris on friday night. I'm assuming thats his surname. He's grand. I caught him in a training game on Friday Night and he limped off against Knock/Kiltimagh Utd so it seemed to be the same thing.Wile civil and not the worst player or hardest player I've come across though he leaves me dead for pace.Our 'A' team is just not getting the results this season, their better than the results suggest.

Sure surely it was a step up for Harris coming to the wonderful facilities that the Bombers pocess. Their are weird things going down around the Bombers of late, something of a baby boom. The future is bright with all the baby bombers.

Brendan

A group from Galway used to play Bombers every christmas for a good few years in a memorial match for Noel O'Brien in a beautiful pitch (?) called McKeon's field. At that time you had a few players that had trials in England.