Thread: Gareth Farrelly in The Star...

386 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by Cosmo
    'the big pub'

Sorry for going a bit off topic but I love that phrase - it's defo catchy, like I've started to call them that now while talking to people about them
    Big club, big pub... who's cares you're still the big joke club!!! Come back to us when you've won something

Quote Originally Posted by ger121
    Big club, big pub... who's cares you're still the big joke club!!! Come back to us when you've won something
    Touchy

I'm sure its only a joke but seriously it is catchy .

Eh by the looks of it we aren't going to win something for a LONG time while Paul Doolin's in charge. But sure we've never won anything so mentioning that we never won anything is hardly going to wind me up is it ? (well used to it by now)
    DAN CONNOR HATES CITY, HE HATES LANGERS

The Big Pub is a great name and one I am only too happy to be associated with. But I think Cork fans are just jealous because in their endless talking themselves up they never thought of the "Big Club" moniker first.

I took this from the Bohs board on the subject of players not getting protected...

[quote]
    Maybe George O'Callaghan has hit on the answer then. He is a skillful player and I'm sure he's had his fair share of neandrathals trying to kick him out of the park. Nowadays he just throws himself onto the ground as soon as an opposition player gets within a yard of him and it works well as the referees don't have a clue.

Maybe it's time the more skillfull teams took diving seriously as a tactic. It certainly developed on the continent and EPL as a result of the hatchet man tactics that as still prevailant in the EL.

Diving is cheating, but voilent play is cheating as well. Why is one considered "worse" than the other.
    [quote]

Any comment patsh.

The skillfull players in this league need more protection if we're to develop this league as a spectical. Players like Kelly, Hoolahan, O'Callahan, McCourt and the rest do get a rough ride from referees. Dolan made the point that European football suits Wes Hoolahan more than Irish football as he gets more space. The reason he gets more space is if players commit small, niggly little fouls on him the continental referees punish them. Here, nothing happens, so players like him are denied space and can't show their array of talents as players are constantly getting away with little fouls on them. We need to be promoting the skillfull aspects of the game and Farrelly is right, the referees need to clamp down more.

Quote Originally Posted by Slash/ED
    The skillfull players in this league need more protection if we're to develop this league as a spectical. Players like Kelly, Hoolahan, O'Callahan, McCourt and the rest do get a rough ride from referees. Dolan made the point that European football suits Wes Hoolahan more than Irish football as he gets more space. The reason he gets more space is if players commit small, niggly little fouls on him the continental referees punish them. Here, nothing happens, so players like him are denied space and can't show their array of talents as players are constantly getting away with little fouls on them. We need to be promoting the skillfull aspects of the game and Farrelly is right, the referees need to clamp down more.

The whole thing in a nutshell ..... good post !!

Quote Originally Posted by Vitruvian Man
    The Big Pub is a great name and one I am only too happy to be associated with. But I think Cork fans are just jealous because in their endless talking themselves up they never thought of the "Big Club" moniker first.

I took this from the Bohs board on the subject of players not getting protected...

Maybe George O'Callaghan has hit on the answer then. He is a skillful player and I'm sure he's had his fair share of neandrathals trying to kick him out of the park. Nowadays he just throws himself onto the ground as soon as an opposition player gets within a yard of him and it works well as the referees don't have a clue.

Maybe it's time the more skillfull teams took diving seriously as a tactic. It certainly developed on the continent and EPL as a result of the hatchet man tactics that as still prevailant in the EL.

Diving is cheating, but voilent play is cheating as well. Why is one considered "worse" than the other.

Any comment patsh.
    The biggest cheat in this league is that filthy knacker Connor with Drogheda. FOR YEARS this slimeball has been acting the maggot, stamping on players, endlessly elbowing forwards, attacking players at every chance he gets, and he gets almost total protection because he is a goal keeper. City, Bohs and plenty of other clubs can attest to his level of cheating, yet no one complains about him.
    As someone who sees George play almost every single week, he does frustrate me when he overdoes his reactions to tackles at times. His "diving" is of course wildly exaggerated, mostly by bitter $hel$ fans, who completely ignore the utter thuggery of cheats like Rogers, Heery, Harris, Honker and the slyest little thug of all, Crawley, and totally ignore the fact that for many years, $hel$ players went out to kick the sh*t out of any player they saw as being dangerous.
    This season, George has "cheated" once, that was in the game against Ekranas. Cue the howls of outrage, but the fact remains that George gets incredible levels of punishment in most games, and the event that started off him being called a cheat was the Setanta Cup game against $hel$ when virtually every $hel$ player on the pitch kicked him at some point or another. Crawley was going in for yet another attack on George when George decided he had enough and did what he did to protect himself.

Quite a few people refer to George as a "ponce", but what about snivelling little cowards like Heery? When he played against Roy O'Donovan, he got the shock of his life when Roy wouldn't take his intimidation and physical assaults and gave plenty of it back. The same when he was whining about George to the papers. Cowards like Heery love to dish it out, but cannot handle it when players stand up to them. That league game up in Tolka, Heery had to be taken off before he was sent off.

I don't agree with any player diving, and that includes any City player, (I was disgusted with the carry on of a lot of Steaua players last night). However, the greater sin against all football fans, is the likes of Heery et al, who cheat everybody by making up for their lack of skill by deliberate physical attacks on far superior players.

Quote Originally Posted by Slash/ED
    Have to agree with all of the above.

Anyone see the challenge on George O Callaghan on EL weekly last night. The Pat's player got sent off and rightly so. But in the analysis they said there was no contact. The Pat's player clearly left the foot in when George was clearing a ball. Fair play to the Ref for doing the right thing, but some attitudes have to change.

82 Posts
    Meanwhile, back at the ranch.......

Just to get back on Farrelly, he has a point re refereeing standards, we all know they are atricious and something needs to be done pronto.

However I'm not sure the time to make the point is after a match where 7 odd of your players have been booked and 1 sent off.

Quote Originally Posted by patsh
    the big pub's
    Still don't see where your getting that from?
    I suspose your another Corkie idiot

Quote Originally Posted by BohsFans
    Still don't see where your getting that from?
    I suspose your another Corkie idiot
    Well you must be another big pub idiot if you can't even understand a simple joke...
    and here's a few rolleyes for you too...

386 Posts
    Well you must be another big pub idiot if you can't even understand a simple joke...
    We may be the big pub club but u lot r the anti-Dub club We could give every team in the league a nick name. Any suggestions??

Cork should be called the Inferiority Complex Club.

Come back to us when you've won something
    see you when the season finishes so

386 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by thecorner
    see you when the season finishes so
    That actually to Cosmo about Drogheda coz I know they won't win anything. God I really hope Derry win the league now

I know your type now, the typical Corkie who has a massive chip on their should towards the world outside Cork.
    That's really sad, a bit like the name "the corner boys", I fell around the place when I first heard that name.

Quote Originally Posted by BohsFans
    I know your type now, the typical Corkie who has a massive chip on their should towards the world outside Cork.
    That's really sad, a bit like the name "the corner boys", I fell around the place when I first heard that name.

Your wrong there...i am a Corkman and in fact i like nothing better than going to Dublin for a good ****-up..always loved the place and i find Dubs great craic..there is no way Cork people give as much a toss about Dubs than you lot do about us..chip on our shoulder??..grow up lad..are you so worried a small little village like Cork could steal your thunder and win the league..well get used to it because its about to happen..see you in Dublin for a pint sometime..

Quote Originally Posted by RedX
    there is no way Cork people give as much a toss about Dubs than you lot do about us..chip on our shoulder??..grow up lad..are you so worried a small little village like Cork could steal your thunder and win the league..well get used to it because its about to happen..see you in Dublin for a pint sometime..
    Nail on the head right there. No-one in Dublin could care less about Cork. I think that is why you all have such a complex!

64 Posts
    Comical stuff from Farrelly seeing as he's always the first player over to the ref trying to get the opposition player booked

Farrelly giving out !! The last time I seen him in action was ploughing through some UCD player. lucky for him JPK had kicked the player first.. and got sent off added in other red cards they've got this season and whats he on about ?

Quote Originally Posted by joeraki
    Farrelly giving out !! The last time I seen him in action was ploughing through some UCD player. lucky for him JPK had kicked the player first.. and got sent off added in other red cards they've got this season and whats he on about ?
    You would want to get your eyes tested so considering Farrelly was off the pitch at that stage getting 5 stitches in his ankle after a dreadful tackle from Tony McDonnell.That was Dessie Byrne you saw so get your facts straight before you comment on this situation!

Bohs Till I Die!
    Bohs Will Be Back!!!