Thread: Leon Best in England squad

Leon Best in England squad

He's included in the England U-20 squad to face Russia on the 16th August.

Seems like he's opted to go for England over us despite being in our Under 19's at the end of last season, although he can play for either nation until he's called up for one of the U-21 sides.

When I find a link online I'll post it up.
    My other posts are intelligent and witty. This one is an exception.

www.kerins.org

Playstation Network: DanK_SFC

www.kerins.org

2,690 Posts
    **** him.

82 Posts
    Sure he's fallen behind Jones and Blackstock as Southampton premier young strikers.

Judas.

Its always a shame to loose a player in the striking area, however just remember people like Gallen and Whelan - never really went anywhere in their careers.

We have a few strikers coming through the ranks and a few players who have just moved clubs, so hopefully they will settle in and not make the loss that bad.

He has'nt set the world alight and it seems the lad is confused about were his loyalties lie. Don't get me wrong everybody is entitled to play for his country but you wonder if somebody is giving him wrong guidance.

Not bitter

131 Posts
    He's only a blow in anyway. He was always pulling out of our squads. I'd rather have committed Irish strikers than England reject strikers. Saying that Morrison has been generally good for us.

Anyone hear anything of Mark Quigley the U19 irish striker from Millwall? He was starting to make a breakthrough to the first team last season but I think he's been let go.

If that fella Livehead is around, maybe he could confirm what happened. I remember him being fairly adamant that Best wanted to play for Ireland, that he knew him, or something.

Quote Originally Posted by Donal81
    If that fella Livehead is around, maybe he could confirm what happened. I remember him being fairly adamant that Best wanted to play for Ireland, that he knew him, or something.
    Is that the fella who said he went to school with him or something?

www.kerins.org

3,306 Posts
    What about timlin at Fulham? Coleman seemed to be impressed with him in preseason.

Too right about Best, if you can't be bothered playing for us, well good luck and thanks
    Last edited by tetsujin1979; 04/08/2005 at 3:02 PM. Reason: reply was a bit too strongly worded for my liking..

Quote Originally Posted by Zidane
    He has'nt set the world alight and it seems the lad is confused about were his loyalties lie. Don't get me wrong everybody is entitled to play for his country but you wonder if somebody is giving him wrong guidance.
    I remember Andy O'Brien said the only reason he played for England U-21's was because of pressure from Bradford at the time. Best's mother is Irish. His father is African I think. The likes of Kilbane and Breen were brought up with Irish fathers afaik and they wouldn't let them be anything but Irish. Best considers himself English I'd say but I wouldn't know. I just feel its much different being brought up abroad with an Irish father than Irish mother.

Quote Originally Posted by Stuttgart88
    **** him.
    Couldnt put it better myself. He is no great loss. He thinks he is better than he is. If he dont want to play for us **** him.
    Honest! I am not a secret Tim nor a closet Sham - I really am a Seagull.

26 Posts
    sorry just back from ireland meself today....as far as i know this is suprising. i will probably see a lad who is still very close to leon tomorrow n maybe he will know more but feck sake, he really will go somewhere. he always considered himself irish...that is all i know n thats a fact.

Was Dublin, then Madrid, then Paris, now London
    BTW - Leon Best has just signed for Sheffield Wednesday on a month's loan.

OK we can all stop pretending he is Irish now Best of luck Leon on your future career with England!

He will end up regretting that decision like Gallen did. He wasn't very impressive on loan at QPR last season so can't say Im that fussed if he goes off to play for England. He either considers himself Irish or he doesn't and I think if he really wanted to play for us he would have made it clear long ago.

I think that generally these lads -the gallens, whelans , bests etc... tend to come under pressure from their clubs AND agents if there's a chance to get into an England squad as it demonstrably raises their value within the English market if they're an England player.

the lad's only exercising his rights as they stand.
    " I wish to God that someone would be able to block out the voices in my head for five minutes, the voices that scream, over and over again: "Why do they come to me to die?"

2,690 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by robbie_B
    He wasn't very impressive on loan at QPR last season so can't say Im that fussed if he goes off to play for England.
    I looked out for the match reports when he was at QPR. In The Times' Monday football supllement they singled out Best for having a stinker in one game. I think he was actually dropped by QPR towrads the end of his spell.

I had a good look at him in the second leg of the FA Youth Cup Final last year & saw nothing special. Very athletic but very careless. In my view Stephen Elliott is a far better prospect (only 1 year older?). Kevin Doyle too?

I wonder why he was left out of recent Irish underage sqauds - not considered good enough, club commitments or had he nailed his colours to the English mast? Again, The FAI's communications have let them down badly.

After his loan, there was talk that he was actually injured but kept it from Sothampton because he was desperate for first team football. Most QPR fans were glad when he was gone, good turn of pace but that was really it, easily pushed off the ball, didn't score a goal and Holoway stuck him on the bench in the end. What is the lad Corr like at Sheff Wed like? Burgess at Hull is a decent player. More of a target man, very good left foot.
    Last edited by robbie_B; 05/08/2005 at 9:56 AM.

2,690 Posts
    QPR vs SWFC is live on TV in August so I'll watch that from my couch but I'd be interested in going to the Reading and Hull games in November.