Page 17 of 28 FirstFirst ... 7151617181927 ... LastLast

Thread: Tom Cannon F Sheffield Utd b.2002

If Everton - who are desperate for goals - are getting rid of Cannon then, from their perspective, he is behind at least two or three dozen strikers who are eligible for the English team. If he wants to play international football (and potentially go to tournaments) then he'd be an idiot not to declare for Ireland - and even then its unlikely he would be anything like an automatic choice, he'd just have less competition.

944 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by Jolly Red Giant View Post
    If he wants to play international football (and potentially go to tournaments) then he'd be an idiot not to declare for Ireland
    Sadly, right now it's more a case of if he wants to play international football (and still have his summers off) then he'd be an idiot not to declare for Ireland...
    Hello, hello? What's going on? What's all this shouting, we'll have no trouble here!
    - E Tattsyrup.

Quote Originally Posted by Eminence Grise View Post
    Sadly, right now it's more a case of if he wants to play international football (and still have his summers off) then he'd be an idiot not to declare for Ireland...
    Well if he declares for England - unless he improves pretty spectacularly - he will have every summer off for the rest of his career.

491 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by Jolly Red Giant View Post
    If Everton - who are desperate for goals - are getting rid of Cannon then, from their perspective, he is behind at least two or three dozen strikers who are eligible for the English team. If he wants to play international football (and potentially go to tournaments) then he'd be an idiot not to declare for Ireland - and even then its unlikely he would be anything like an automatic choice, he'd just have less competition.
    This. He is an idiot

International Prospect CraftyToePoke's Avatar
    979 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by liamoo11 View Post
    This. He is an idiot
    I think he's just English, which to be fair he is, born there raised there in their football culture by ( as I understand it ) parents born there too. The odds are long on an England career but its telling where his heart is that that long shot chance is sufficient to make him step away from us. We know when we pick these lads what the score is at this stage and we shouldn't be crying too much when English people turn out to be English. Mark Sykes took the odds in a different set of circumstances and missed out on our latest squad, he'd be central to NI but he is Irish so he wanted to play for Ireland. Its the same thing broadly.

All that said, we should 100% tell Cannon to pick now, and not hold the door open under the false illusion of dual nationality complexities jargon. We are in a position to do that & it's not being done.

491 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by CraftyToePoke View Post
    I think he's just English, which to be fair he is, born there raised there in their football culture by ( as I understand it ) parents born there too. The odds are long on an England career but its telling where his heart is that that long shot chance is sufficient to make him step away from us. We know when we pick these lads what the score is at this stage and we shouldn't be crying too much when English people turn out to be English. Mark Sykes took the odds in a different set of circumstances and missed out on our latest squad, he'd be central to NI but he is Irish so he wanted to play for Ireland. Its the same thing broadly.

All that said, we should 100% tell Cannon to pick now, and not hold the door open under the false illusion of dual nationality complexities jargon. We are in a position to do that & it's not being done.
    No problem with him.picking england . No problem with him having allegiances to 2 nations. The issue is simply showing disrespect by not mak8ng a devision since June

979 Posts
    No problem with him.picking england . No problem with him having allegiances to 2 nations. The issue is simply showing disrespect by not mak8ng a devision since June
    He doesn't have allegiances to two nations. He has a career choice luxury afforded to him by ancestry which he has used to leverage himself to where he wants to be - on England's radar.

491 Posts
    He doesn't have allegiances to two nations. He has a career choice luxury afforded to him by ancestry which he has used to leverage himself to where he wants to be - on England's radar.
    Grand so. That doesn't stop him making his decision public last June regarding which under 21 side he wants to play for

At 20 he is still a kid - and a kid who has been closeted by Everton for the last 10 years. Players who sign at a young age for big clubs in my opinion take a long time to grow up and realise who they are and what they want to do.

We are fortunate that Brexit has stopped the flow of young Irish kids to British clubs and more of them are staying at home and learning their trade in the LOI - it will mean they will be a bit more mature when they head off at 18 and have a better chance of not being chewed up and spat out by the system over there. Its the opposite for players born in England where, as a result of the club academies, they are very much cotton-woolled from the outside world and many of them haven't a clue what they are doing even when they hit 20 or 21. The stats are startling about the number of academy players who, when they get dumped, end up so disillusioned with football that they stop playing all together. My daughter-in-law has a brother who spent time at Leeds as a 16-17 year old - didn't make it - spent a short while playing in the LOI first division and now, at 24, doesn't play anymore. He had the talent (like so many others) but didn't have the maturity and had to give up playing so that he could grow up.

979 Posts
    Grand so. That doesn't stop him making his decision public last June regarding which under 21 side he wants to play for
    It does because it loses him his leverage, his switch renders him just another long odds maybe striker like a bunch of others.

That's my whole point of why we should shut that door & stop getting played.

491 Posts
    It does because it loses him his leverage, his switch renders him just another long odds maybe striker like a bunch of others.

That's my whole point of why we should shut that door & stop getting played.
    What leverage? Leverage to force us to play him with the seniors or leverage for England to pick him for the 21s? I don't see what it matters to us, he has shown us ongo8ng disrespect by not making a decision

3,491 Posts
    Ah it's more complicated than that I think. I said earlier that he'd likely take a few months to consider it. See how the club form goes the first half of the year and see if he's likely to have something to push for. He doesn't need to announce a change just to keep some internet punters happy.

979 Posts
    What leverage? Leverage to force us to play him with the seniors or leverage for England to pick him for the 21s? I don't see what it matters to us, he has shown us ongo8ng disrespect by not making a decision
    If he didn't have the Ireland option he wouldn't be getting touched up and winked at by England, that leverage. The one him and his people are using.

1,075 Posts
    If he didn't have the Ireland option he'd already be in the England Under 21 squad. They really don't have that many centre forward options at that age group.

491 Posts
    Ah it's more complicated than that I think. I said earlier that he'd likely take a few months to consider it. See how the club form goes the first half of the year and see if he's likely to have something to push for. He doesn't need to announce a change just to keep some internet punters happy.
    But then we should leave him be regardless of whether he announces he wants to play with us or not. He will still have the option to play for England whenever he wants of we don't pick him. What sort of values are you developing in irish football at all levels if tou allow him to behave in this manner?

491 Posts
    If he didn't have the Ireland option he wouldn't be getting touched up and winked at by England, that leverage. The one him and his people are using.
    But sure he was always going to be in the mix for an England 8nderv21 striker position they are nearly as weak as us in Central striking roles in that age group. Holding out for that has only got him a Championship move so what's left to be gained? A few caps for the England 21s won't gey him a premier league move unless he scores goals at leicester

3,491 Posts
    But then we should leave him be regardless of whether he announces he wants to play with us or not. He will still have the option to play for England whenever he wants of we don't pick him. What sort of values are you developing in irish football at all levels if tou allow him to behave in this manner?
    We can't really afford to leave him be though. He outperformed every one of our forwards last year bar Ferguson.

979 Posts
    But sure he was always going to be in the mix for an England 8nderv21 striker position they are nearly as weak as us in Central striking roles in that age group. Holding out for that has only got him a Championship move so what's left to be gained? A few caps for the England 21s won't gey him a premier league move unless he scores goals at leicester
    Not until very recently did he show that kind of form. Thing is, you & me agree here, he needs to call this. Maybe a few clips of a hurley would settle him, but then again Tom Cannon doesn't know what a hurley is.

59 Posts
    100%, once you turn down a place in a squad you've made a decision in my opinion. He's made his. Move on and wish him the best with his england career.

1,075 Posts
    There's plenty of evidence from other examples to show that's not necessarily how it always goes though.

Page 17 of 28 FirstFirst ... 7151617181927 ... LastLast