Page 78 of 89 FirstFirst ... 2868767778798088 ... LastLast
Results 1,541 to 1,560 of 1779

Thread: 2023 Season, Arrivals and Departures

82 Posts
    Apologies for breaking up the Ian Ryan v Neale Fenn debate but Bohs have signed Louie Holzman on loan from Reading. He's listed as a CB. Hopefully he can play LB as well as we need some cover there

146 Posts
    E.Doyle retiring from football, bit of a shock that. In other news city are due to sign their 3rd keeper of the season, oliver byrne from altrincham. lets hope this guy doesnt get injured in his first game like the other two .

130 Posts
    Think one of Doyle's kids has been unwell and that's played a part in his decision, as far as I know he's been omitted from a couple of match day squads recently because of it.

All the best to him anyway. On a footballing level I think he did better than he was given credit for last season, but obviously just didn't live up to expectations. This season has been a write off though and he's really looked like age has caught up with him, even though he had a contract up until the end of next season I was expecting him to be off at the end of this year as he can barely move anymore.

146 Posts
    good luck to himself and his fam in that case. cant be easy to get yourself going for games, especially at his age, when stuff like that is going on in the background

294 Posts
    Best of luck to Doyler, and hope the personal issues work out ok. I think a lot of people seemed to have expectations befitting of a 28 year old Eoin Doyle rather than the reality of him being 34 at the time. 15 goals last season was a very decent return. As mentioned he had a big drop off in performance level this year compared to last but that’ll happen to most at 35 years old. 635 games and 208 goals is a sensational career for any LOI player, particularly considering the vast majority of those were across the water.

For Pats it will mean they’re down a body but with Doyle not having featured much at all recently I don’t think they’ll bring in a replacement with just 4 days left in the window, despite the big wage that's now been freed up. It will probably mean more game time for Lonergan and Melia in support of Carty. Unless of course Daly has had a potential replacement lined up but we'll see how it pans out over the weekend
    Last edited by 2 Year Contract; 27/07/2023 at 2:59 PM.
    Paaatrick's Agletic

297 Posts
    I’m not in a place to comment on Doyle’s personal life. I can only judge his departure as a positive for the team. If we can use the money to better affect elsewhere then it can improve the side.

448 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by Jd2793 View Post
    E.Doyle retiring from football, bit of a shock that. In other news city are due to sign their 3rd keeper of the season, oliver byrne from altrincham. lets hope this guy doesnt get injured in his first game like the other two .
    He goes by Ollie. We've literally signed Ollie Byrne the day before we play Shels. He'll be the 5th keeper to start a game for us this season, and this will mean Jimmy Corcoran gets dropped for the 4th? time this season.

190 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by El-Pietro View Post
    He goes by Ollie. We've literally signed Ollie Byrne the day before we play Shels. He'll be the 5th keeper to start a game for us this season, and this will mean Jimmy Corcoran gets dropped for the 4th? time this season.
    How has Corcoran done for you this year overall?

146 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by Philosophizer View Post
    How has Corcoran done for you this year overall?
    not good. decent lad by all accounts but hes too small and hes terrible under a cross. not good enough for a premier div team

106 Posts
    Sixth I think, Mannix started against Waterford in the Munster Senior Cup.
    A man can have no greater love than give 90 minutes for his friends.

225 Posts
    Kerry have had an eclectic record, to put it mildly, when it comes to keepers - now Callan Scully has left the club, replaced by Arthur Nganou from Midleton:

https://www.independent.ie/regionals...933236614.html

246 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by Jack B View Post
    Think one of Doyle's kids has been unwell and that's played a part in his decision, as far as I know he's been omitted from a couple of match day squads recently because of it.

All the best to him anyway. On a footballing level I think he did better than he was given credit for last season, but obviously just didn't live up to expectations. This season has been a write off though and he's really looked like age has caught up with him, even though he had a contract up until the end of next season I was expecting him to be off at the end of this year as he can barely move anymore.
    Thought it strange that he didn’t see out the season, but if there is family issues then it makes more sense. Jon Daly said after the Dudelange game that he didn’t travel because his mother in law wasn’t well. Whatever the issue is, I wish him all the best. I agree he didn’t do too badly last season. Didn’t really live up to the expectations we had for him, but maybe we were expecting too much given his age. I wouldn’t fault his attitude anyway.
    Out for a spell, got neglected, lay on the bench unselected.

1,104 Posts
    It'd be incredibly fitting if ye fecked up his registration somehow and ended up losing points.

195 Posts
    Almost afraid to log in here lest Finn harps might sign me up so fingers not crossed?

2,446 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by ToberonaTornado View Post
    Almost afraid to log in here lest Finn harps might sign me up so fingers not crossed?
    Okay.

430 Posts
    Matt Connor signed for Bray until the end of the season....
    Irish by birth ,Harps by the grace of god.

294 Posts
    Conor Kane gone back to Drogheda on loan
    Paaatrick's Agletic

130 Posts
    Yet another Hull loanee in for Shels, striker Will Jarvis this time. See some of their fans aren't best pleased by it.

82 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by Jack B View Post
    Yet another Hull loanee in for Shels, striker Will Jarvis this time. See some of their fans aren't best pleased by it.
    Lad looks to have little or no senior football experience so I can certainly understand their frustration but based on Hulls managers comments before any deal was struck you can hardly be surprised deals like this are being done.

430 Posts
    Corey Chambers and Adam Lennon signed for Treaty…
    Irish by birth ,Harps by the grace of god.

Page 78 of 89 FirstFirst ... 2868767778798088 ... LastLast