Page 23 of 89 FirstFirst ... 1321222324253373 ... LastLast

Thread: 2023 Season, Arrivals and Departures

3,251 Posts
    Number 3 is a bit of a Glenn Whelan type player I think. Quiet but effective. You don't notice him until he's gone.

59 Posts
    They must be defensively brilliant. None of them has been at fault for any goal last season.

31 Posts
    Rory Feely off to Barrow in League 2 apparently, I've seen it all now if lads like him are getting moves over there.

27 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by nigel-harps1954 View Post
    Ryan Connolly signs for Treaty.

Have to say, I wasn't expecting that one at all. Gutted by that. He's stupidly injury prone, and also loves a yellow card and suspension, but on his day is a fantastic player and will easily be one of the best midfielders in the First Division when he's arsed.
    Some signing for Treaty and with the retention of Curran means serious quality in the squad.Only thing is Tommy Barrett will have to drop his constant ..we have the lowest budget in the league.....jibe now .

332 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by RealJohn91 View Post
    Rory Feely off to Barrow in League 2 apparently, I've seen it all now if lads like him are getting moves over there.
    Have Barrow actually seen him play!

539 Posts
    We have signed James Doona from Cork City and Derek Daly from Crumlin Utd. Didnt even notice that DD had gone non league!

409 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by ger121 View Post
    he'll be on barrowed time from day one I'd say.

354 Posts
    Ryan Rainey resigns for Harps...
    Irish by birth ,Harps by the grace of god.

Paddy Barrett signs for Shels. Had a good season with us in 2021 but wasn’t the same player after a long layoff in 2022. Had a year left on his contract but we agreed to release him. For his own sake I hope he can get himself back to somewhere close to what he was.

58 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by da bishop View Post
    Some signing for Treaty and with the retention of Curran means serious quality in the squad.Only thing is Tommy Barrett will have to drop his constant ..we have the lowest budget in the league.....jibe now .
    To be fair they probably still have the smallest budget. It's well known that Wexford have double theirs to ~€5K/week.

We have signed James Doona from Cork City and Derek Daly from Crumlin Utd. Didnt even notice that DD had gone non league!
    They're a bit uninspiring in my view. Doona did nothing for City, interesting to see how Longford do.

142 Posts
    doona is finished. lost 2 yards of pace and cant beat his man off a dribble anymore.

354 Posts
    Are Longford working off a far smaller budget this year?
    Irish by birth ,Harps by the grace of god.

76 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by ger121 View Post
    If he doesn't do well, his career might be on the Furness. Seriously though, and it's a topic that comes up from time to time on social media, and it's an uncomfortable truth, but the majority of League 2 clubs all have bigger budgets than nearly all clubs here bar Rovers,Dundalk and Derry. And as long as that's the case, players will always leave a LOI club that potentially could be in Europe for the mundane safety of double or triple his wages, slogging it out in the early rounds of the FA Cup or FA Trophy.

539 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by joey B View Post
    From what I heard before the playoffs yes is the answer.

27 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by Shearer View Post
    To be fair they probably still have the smallest budget. It's well known that Wexford have double theirs to ~€5K/week.

They're a bit uninspiring in my view. Doona did nothing for City, interesting to see how Longford do.
    Maybe but i doubt it , smaller than Cobh,Athlone,Longford,Kerry....hardly,no way the likes of Ludden,Curran,Connolly and the two or three more expected signings are playing for peanuts.The rest have bigger dosh no doubt about that.

27 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by joey B View Post
    Budget slashed by all accounts.

145 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by patsdad View Post
    Paddy Barrett signs for Shels. Had a good season with us in 2021 but wasn’t the same player after a long layoff in 2022. Had a year left on his contract but we agreed to release him. For his own sake I hope he can get himself back to somewhere close to what he was.
    I see he only made 3 starts towards the very end of last season, if he has a full injury free pre-season under his belt he could be a very shrewd signing for us replacing Negru we are well stocked in central defence with his addition so not dependent on him playing all 36 games
    The Leinster Senior League needs a strong Bohemians

42 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by CorribsideSteve View Post
    If he doesn't do well, his career might be on the Furness. Seriously though, and it's a topic that comes up from time to time on social media, and it's an uncomfortable truth, but the majority of League 2 clubs all have bigger budgets than nearly all clubs here bar Rovers,Dundalk and Derry. And as long as that's the case, players will always leave a LOI club that potentially could be in Europe for the mundane safety of double or triple his wages, slogging it out in the early rounds of the FA Cup or FA Trophy.
    I think Gers point was that Rory Feely is a terrible footballer and likely one of the worst players to make the switch to the UK recently. It only makes sense as a signing if Barrow haven't actually seen him play.

107 Posts
    Feely is a good athlete and that is about the extent of it as far as I've seen. Fair play on getting the move.

194 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by CorribsideSteve View Post
    Also the value that a player will get noticed by top sides 100x if playing in England-, 1000x if playing well more than the LoI. Harsh truth.

25. Thanks From:

Page 23 of 89 FirstFirst ... 1321222324253373 ... LastLast