Thread: Derry 2 Bohs 1

Quote Originally Posted by dancinpants
    Yip Doc's injured, will be for a while...medial ligament I think.

****e!!! good couple a months that!!
    We shall not be moved!!!!
    Red & White Army
    BEST FANS IN THE LAND

Huge game on the 19th August.

Very good result for Derry City. Showing ye have the class to win the big games.

Just a quickie in relation to a comment above re : Pat Mc Court, trust me he did anything but take a pay cut to join Derry, on the contrary he practically trebled his wages allowing for the rate of exchange for sterling! FACT!! He also said his expenses would also be significantly reduced as he could stay in his parents house & not pay rent etc

No other club came remotely close to matching Derry's offer BTW!

Koh
    Thomas Davis have said they will be the last man standing, they were WRONG!!

SRFC will NEVER die!!

43 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by btid1
    I accept that totally.Oman should have know better but we certainly dont have larger resources than ye lot.You beat us to McCourt signature by offering better wages.We couldnt match you.We had 6 or 7 U-21's in the squad tonight.You we missing Hargan thats it.

Bohs Till I Die!
    We didn't offer Mc Court wages higher than anyone else.. he just wanted to come play for his home town team and took a paycut to play for the team his family supports. When the Bohs fans sang " you dirty dublin**S&A%D" to him last night when he came on - do they know he is from Derry or was this some ironic chant due to the fact he played for shamrock rovers?

Quote Originally Posted by pete
    Showing ye have the class to win the big games.
    In fairness Pete, it's been a while since a game v Bohs was considered "big."

City v Derry is the only big game left this season and we've got two of them to look forward to.

Quote Originally Posted by Peadar
    In fairness Pete, it's been a while since a game v Bohs was considered "big."

City v Derry is the only big game left this season and we've got two of them to look forward to.

Jeez....and Cork have been winning how many leagues over the last 5 or 6 years?

The nerve of some people !! Cork finally have a team to compete and this is what you get from their supporters. Just enjoy it but dont try to kid us that Cork are anything more than this season's form team......yet.

Quote Originally Posted by lofty9
    . When the Bohs fans sang " you dirty dublin**S&A%D" to him last night when he came on - do they know he is from Derry or was this some ironic chant due to the fact he played for shamrock rovers?
    Lofty9, I think it was 'You Dirty Northern Bast**d' they were singing.

As for the match, Bohs had plenty of chances. The Derry defence made a few timely blocks in the the area.
    I think had Bohs concentrated on playing football, which they did quite well for part of the game, instead of trying to kick lumps out of the Derry front men, we could have had a different score line.
    Bohs were very lucky not to finish the game with 9 men as Des Byrne spent the entire game kicking McGlynn and on one occasion busted his mouth with a well placed elbow.

Wasn't the best display from Derry but we still managed a 3-1 victory

Quote Originally Posted by Number 4
    Jeez....and Cork have been winning how many leagues over the last 5 or 6 years?
    Face it boy, Bohs are has beens.
    They can no longer be considered a "big" team.
    Your home support shows that.
    Just because you won the league a few years ago doesn't mean you earn the right to be called a big club forever. You're beginning to sound like Rovers fans now.

But don't they call themselves the "big club". They even have flags with it printed.

Thats been changed to the "Big Pub", because we all know that Bohs fans are very self-critical and always tell the truth about themselves...

Face it boy, Bohs are has beens.
    Your home support shows that.
    Just because you won the league a few years ago doesn't mean you earn the right to be called a big club forever. You're beginning to sound like Rovers fans now.
    Without getting into this debate, as I think it pointless and there are no big clubs, how does our home support show anything. Looking at the attendance thread we get the third highest average attendance after Cork and Derry, and last year I think it was the second highest average after Cork. So does that mean all clubs below us are even "smaller"!

Quote Originally Posted by chippie0001
    So does that mean all clubs below us are even "smaller"!
    It just means that Bohs were a small club, are a small club and always will be a small club...with a big pub...
    Last edited by patsh; 03/08/2005 at 10:04 AM.

Quote Originally Posted by chippie0001
    So does that mean all clubs below us are even "smaller"!
    Yes!
    As I've said, Cork City and Derry City are the only two big clubs left.

Yes!
    Shels must be tiny then - just forget their titles etc its all about attendances. Cork are massive - win **** all but put bums on seats and thats the main thing isn't it.

Jesus lads, talking about attendances in this league is pathetic and a pointless exercise.

Anyway, according to the Bohs fans coming back from the match 3-1 wasn't a true reflection as Bohs were much more in the game than that and had to suffer from some shocking home-town decisions. But fair play to Derry you can only beat what is put out in front of you.

I was wishing Cork well for their first title in ages because I always knew Bohs were never going to do it this year and, let's face it, who want's to see Shels win (apart from Shels fans) but where's all this anti-Bohs bitterness coming from Cork fans, from reading this board I think I'll switch my good will to Derry.

When we were in the Cross this year we were getting a really hard time from the over-aggressive stewards with one of them even going so far as stealing a bag from one of the Bohs fans. Cork fans don't get treated like that in Dalymount.

Yes!
    That explains it so, are you sure its City that are massive and not some other Cork team that have folded doen the years for lack of support etc. Its great when you are winning hey.

PS Slagging apart I hope Cork win the league, they play the best football in the league and do have the best support. Also if we can't get second I hope Kenny and Derry do, anything to get Shels into the inter toto

'Slagging apart I hope Cork win the league, they play the best football in the league'

For me, Bohs are still the best team I've seen in the league - I must'nt have seen cork on their 'best' days, either live or on the box.

Btw out of the remaining potential winners I also hope cork win the league
    DAN CONNOR HATES CITY, HE HATES LANGERS

Its Derrys title as far as I can see. amazing back to back 3.1 wins home and away, strengthened with mccourt - he offers a flair option - while no great 90 minute man that wont matter in a squad full of hard workers - it will all condense in the last 4/5 matches and both cities will be neck and neck - in those circumstances it wil be interesting to see how cork and rico in particular respond - shels late surge wont win them the league but it will knock cork or derry off their stride - all to play for - but I'll stick with Derry

Jeez ye certainly take the bait easily.

BTW City have 7 wins in Europe which puts them in 3rd place in eL European list. All this in only 21 years.

71 Posts
    Jeez ye certainly take the bait easily.

BTW City have 7 wins in Europe which puts them in 3rd place in eL European list. All this in only 21 years.
    With the introduction of several qualifying rounds and the Inter Toto, European wins are easier to accumulate in recent times.