Thread: Has the door been opened?

Has the door been opened?

With last night's shocker result from Sligo,now's the time for us to make up some ground on the leading pack!6 poinst there for the taking tonight at Athlone & Friday night v Kilkenny before a series of difficult games on the horizon!I always maintained that it ain't over & that Sligo & Dublin would suffer a slump in fortunes,just as we & Cobh have!With our late goal clinching victory the other night,maybe our luck has changed!The only thing is,we can't afford another loss of form!C'mon Blues!!!

We should on form win the Athlone match but I'm not so sure about the Kilkenny game, they are on a good run at present(5 wins from 5) beating Sligo and Dub. City along the way. Hopefully things will get back on track starting tonight.............

Just one other point!!!! Has the transfer window shut ( we are now in Aug.)
    The reason I say this is because in our Chairmans address in last weeks programme (against Monaghan) he mentioned that some new faces would be introduced, but at the time of writing his article talks with these individuals were still ongoing.Anyone know of any new faces coming in apart from Brian Buckley...............
    Unity is Power, Power if shared is Strength, Limerick 37 serving the Community of Limerick.

didnt galway beat kilkenny 2-0 monday night?

d

well ye did beat us last night, fair play
    that is 6 defeats on the trot, we are in a bad wway

i think the transfer window closed on sunday evening, i could be wrong there
    Peter Griffin, Family Guy "I'm not drunk, I'm just exhausted from being up all night drinkin'"

Heine Fernandez is a tactical genius!!!!!! HB

Glad to get out of Athlone with 3 points any day.

The transfer window has closed - but it does not apply to junior players being signed if that is what was meant by the Chairman's comments.

Yes Kilkenny are in crisis. They lost to Galway and so are in the middle of a losing streak. Scully must go.
    "It's impossible to make a man understand something when his livelihood depends on him not understanding" Upton Sinclair

Athlone game was pretty much a repeat of Cobh except I wouldn't fancy Athlone toscore goals if we played without a keeper. Excellent in the first half ,fell deep and hoofed all over the place in the second

Noel Mooney- Infairness to Athlone he was absolutely superb. Made two world class saves, the second of which will actually live long in the memory-9

Wolfie- Worries me doesn't seem to know his own best position and makes some questionable decisions. Also made a few good interceptions tho-6

Finny- Solid-8

Conor- Not sure if hes a centre half but didn't do a hell of a lot wrong-7

Tobin- Brilliant. Busted everything that moved-9

Kerins- Fairly good hour out of him. Still noting special-6

Tommy- Works so hard in the middle of the park at stopping the opposition playing. Wrecked tired looking-7

Brendan- Not as good as the Mons game but adds so much. Clever and got stuck in-8

Keatso- Worked really hard won loads of ball in the air-7

Robbie- Worked his ****** off as usual-8

Jamie- Actually starting to kind of warm to the guy. CP he ain't. Unlucky not to score a screamer in the second half, could still do with putting himself about a bit more-7 (Make that a lot more)

Stevo and Donnellan both came on and got stuck in. Nice to see

Overall a good result, (draw would have been fair) but worth remembering Athlone are absolute shocking muck. Their no.11 put in easily the worst performance I have seen in my life and I remember Paddy Doyle

Noel if your reading this keep the ball on the ground, push up the park. It Works

Dare I say it,but last night's victory & Dublin City's draw at home to Kildare adds credance to my post!Please lads don't throw it all away on Friday night!

84 Posts
    Excellent in the first half ,fell deep and hoofed all over the place in the second
    Totally true. With probably the best playing surface that you are likely to see anywhere why do we revert to that.

Noel Mooney- Infairness to Athlone he was absolutely superb. Made two world class saves, the second of which will actually live long in the memory
    Very true.

I wouldn't fancy Athlone toscore goals if we played without a keeper
    Give Anthony Flood a bit of time. His first match for us last night on loan from St Pats

Follow Us on Facebook and Twitter

Greetings from Rhodes lads...37 degrees, 2 quid a pint (in those hard to find tavernas) and really a fantastic, cultural and educational holiday .

Great results in my absence....I'm back Sunday so I fully expect us to whack Kilkenny, then slump again upon my return.

See ye all soon.

Quote Originally Posted by Castle Barracks
    Please lads don't throw it all away on Friday night!
    Let's hope they don't. And dare I even look so far forward to our next two matches after that against Sligo and Dublin. If we do win against Kilkenny we have a great chance to close the gap on the top two. Deja vu or what? We blew it the last time, please NOC don't do it again.

Quote Originally Posted by Lim till i die
    Noel if your reading this keep the ball on the ground, push up the park. It Works
    Totally agree. I'm sick of saying it all season.
    If you don't like John 3:7...
    There's always Limerick 37!

To answer my own question,Yes,it had,but it looks like it's been firmly shut now!What the hell happened?

Hope you don't mind me using your post again Lim till i die, but we told him so!!!!!
    If you don't like John 3:7...
    There's always Limerick 37!

Quote Originally Posted by Kerry Blue
    Hope you don't mind me using your post again Lim till i die, but we told him so!!!!!
    Not atall, I mean Je$us does Noel O'Connor not read my tactical notes on Foot before games or something

I was just starting to ask myself the same question but realised how ridiculous it was.
    "It's impossible to make a man understand something when his livelihood depends on him not understanding" Upton Sinclair

Quote Originally Posted by LFC in Exile
    I was just starting to ask myself the same question but realised how ridiculous it was.
    True, It's blindingly obvious that he doesn't

Dublin City & Sligo's continuous failiure to open up any kind of gap keeps it slightly ajar,don't you think?

Beat Dublin City and the gap between us and them is down to 5 points, so I'd say its very much ajar.

However, this season the only consistent thing in this division is inconsistency. Nobody can get it right on a regular basis, so expect plenty more ups and downs between now and November...

Quote Originally Posted by joeSoap
    so expect plenty more ups and downs between now and November...
    there'll be no clean sheets so...wahey! sid james lives on!
    you gowl!