Quote Originally Posted by Troy.McClure
    Im a Cork feen at heart sure. Those dubs all look the same to me sure
    Except for me,you can call me the handsome one

246 Posts
    5-0 at Home to Zimbru for me. The worst feeling I've ever had (or expect to have) after any match. What makes it worse was the high expectations we had before the game. I agree with Dr Nightdub, we've never really recovered from that night. Honourable mentions to 2 cup final defeats as well, 96 to Shelbourne and 2003 to Longford. (By the way, how can any Longford fan complain about the League Cup that year ? Greedy bastids, I know which cup I'd rather have won.)

47 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by sirhamish
    Did you play Ros. League, Ronnie B? - was involved with that League too. What club did you play for?
    Used to play the odd game with Lough Harps before injury and laziness took over

1991 against Dundalk.......last game of the season.....a draw and we'd win the league.....we lost....i was 10.....i cried!!!

and by twisted bitter attitude to everything started on that day!

Quote Originally Posted by TonyD
    By the way, how can any Longford fan complain about the League Cup that year ? Greedy bastids, I know which cup I'd rather have won.)
    Because we still had never won a senior trophy(how times have changed ) and in this game unlike the bohs game in 2001 we had a good chance of winning.Expectations were high and there was a huge buzz around the town and the club,we brought 2,000 up which was as big if not bigger then the home crowd.We outplayed ye and to go from the high of getting a last minute penalty to be taken by barry who had never missed a peno for us(how times have changed ) to an immediate low and then the sound of the final whistle.At the time it was a huge dissapointment but looking back now I couldnt give a ****
    If you can keep your head when all around you have lost theirs, then you probably haven't understood the seriousness of the situation.

71 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by bigmac
    Haven't been going to games long then?
    Tis true. Doesn't change the fact they've only been hammered once before my eyes though.

Quote Originally Posted by Bosco
    Because we still had never won a senior trophy(how times have changed ) and in this game unlike the bohs game in 2001 we had a good chance of winning.Expectations were high and there was a huge buzz around the town and the club,we brought 2,000 up which was as big if not bigger then the home crowd.We outplayed ye and to go from the high of getting a last minute penalty to be taken by barry who had never missed a peno for us(how times have changed ) to an immediate low and then the sound of the final whistle.At the time it was a huge dissapointment but looking back now I couldnt give a ****
    summed up perfectly Bosco

20 Posts
    Most memorable was a game I didn't even see. Early in the 2001/02 season we lost 6-0 in Dalymount. Fifteen minutes after full time Aertel had a latest score of 0-0 . I rang the lads and got the bad news.

Of those I watched probably the 3-0 defeat to Bohs in a Cup replay in 2000. Had great hopes after a 3-3 draw away but two questionable goals cost us the match. Was gutted.

That both games featured Bohs is a coinicidence I'll blame on Aertel.
    Check out my new sports blog http://www.action81.com

71 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by Aberdonian Stu
    Most memorable was a game I didn't even see. Early in the 2001/02 season we lost 6-0 in Dalymount. Fifteen minutes after full time Aertel had a latest score of 0-0 . I rang the lads and got the bad news.
    Given who I support and all that shouldn't be too funny but sorry, I find that hilarious.

It brightened my mood coming out of Dalymount that day I must say!

71 Posts
    Btw Aberdonian, I've heard you don't "do" away games even in Dublin. Is this true?

Erm...probably away to Waterford last year. Think it turned out to be Giller's last League match in charge (don't quote me on that) either way ANY points from the game would've given us a shout of getting off the bottom.
    Went 3-0 down in the first half and were playing absolute muck.
    Dave McGill and Weso Byrne (where is he now?) scored for us in the second and we played some great stuff. In the last minute of the game we were awarded a penalty when Dan Connor punched Gary O'Neill in the face ( ) ...
    Keith Foy stepped up to face the sub goalie after Connor had been sent off...his shot hit the butt of the right-hand post, flew across the length of the goal-line and out for a goal-kick

The rest as they say, is misery.

has to be 1991 against dundalk...never saw so many people packed in the cross only to be let down.
    for some reason one of me first ever games as well against shels when some bulgarian fella on trial scored an OG (Borissov or something like that?) Anyone remember the 3 or 4 Bulgarian lads who were with city for a short spell around 87-88?????????

95/56 League Cup Aggregate Shels 2 Sligo Rovers 2

Had to be this game. Went up to dublin a goal to the good in the first leg. Ended up losing 2-1 at full time. Hit the bar in the last minute of extra time and then lost on penalties.

I was sickened cos it was the best game of football I had ever seen between two irish sides. It was open attacking football all night. We had never won the league cup and Shelbourne had once again gotten one over on us. We managed to win it two years later against shels, in what was prob the worst game (2nd leg) i've ever seen. All downhill after that though, until now.

An awful lot of results you'd expect here.....I hadn't expected three pages...

Results like Derry and Athlone and Shels and Cork on last days etc. and 1-0 by Bohs in the semi in 2001, but not as many hammerings as I thought...

Maybe goes to prove how close the league is that the niggling, close defeats are often the worst for the fans...
    The Model Club

Tell all the Bohs you know
    that we've gone and won two-in-a-row
    and it's not gonna be three
    and it's not gonna be four
    it's more likely to be 5-1.

Glad to see pats featuring so high on your lists... To the Cokr lads about the 1-0 98 game in Inchicore, get over it, it was never over the line, and it was never handball....

Mine is the Cup Final defeat to Longford. Worst performance ever... At least againstZimbru we can say we should've been a goal or two up. Against Longford we just never turned up...

Quote Originally Posted by Dodge
    To the Cokr lads about the 1-0 98 game in Inchicore, get over it, it was never over the line, and it was never handball....
    I assume you're taking the pi$$ Always hated loosing to Dolan and felt that we were a great team that season. Unfortunitly, so were ye

Bad memories of those games
    As I say, we're just young & a bit nieve.

cup semi final vs bohs in 2000. daylight robbery. perfectly good goal disallowed, tarzan punched in the face, just one dodgy decision after another. i honestly amn't usually one to complain about refs, but that match sickened me.

first round of the cup, losing 4-0 at home to fanad united. i still have a deep fear of non-league teams

Longford 0-2 Bohs, in the cup after beating them 2-0 the week before in the league the night after kenny left,which was one of my most memorable victories.The programme was full of stuff on kennys departure unlike the week before because of short notice.I'll always remember when kenny came into the stand and got a standing novation and spent the rest of the game in tears.It was a tough defeat as we finally thought we had got one over on bohs only for them to knock us out of the cup,which was more important to us at the time
    If you can keep your head when all around you have lost theirs, then you probably haven't understood the seriousness of the situation.

Quote Originally Posted by Zayed9
    1) Losing 2-1 away to Bohs in the FAI Cup Semi Final in 2000.

2) Its not a defeat but it definitely felt like 1. We drew 1-1 with Dublin City in 2003. They got the dodgiest penalty ever and meant we lost out on promotion. How the ref gave a penalty when he was on the half way line I’ll never know!
    The other way 'round for me , both cr*ppy day's though.

Page 3 of 4 FirstFirst 1234 LastLast