View Poll Results: Who would you prefer to see as Limerick manager?

Voters
31. You may not vote on this poll
  • Mike Kerley

26 83.87%
  • Noel O'Connor

5 16.13%

Thread: Kerley or O'Connor?

Kerley or O'Connor?

At the request of Nempton I'm posting the following poll. Who would you prefer to see as Limerick boss - Mike Kerley or Noel O'Connor listed alphabetically here in the interests of fairness I might add!)

Quote Originally Posted by banterboy
    he must get some credit for backin nolan though as the games i saw he was rubbish and fans felt the same..seem like hes gettin the goals at the moment.
    who ye got in next game..is it at home?maybe i will meet some of ye for a few pints..do ye have a local before matches
    I wouldn't be quite as keen to praise NOC for Jamie Nolan's recent upsurge in form. Nolan's recovery has been since he started playing up front, the position that he's always played. He spent half a season out wide playing pretty poorly for the most part to accomadate Rio O'Brien so I dunno... how long should it have taken for him to get a chance up front?

And we're away in Athlone on Tuesday and at home (against Kilkenny if I remember correctly) this Friday night.

I'm not voting cos I want to give O'connor till the end of the season. I'm interested in seeing where Sweeney, Keating and Buckley fit in, whether more u21's are given a chance and whether he stops playing players out of position. And of course whether we start to play some football, because we have the players for it.

Quote Originally Posted by 4tothefloor
    I'm not voting cos I want to give O'connor till the end of the season. I'm interested in seeing where Sweeney, Keating and Buckley fit in, whether more u21's are given a chance and whether he stops playing players out of position. And of course whether we start to play some football, because we have the players for it.
    I would have thought that Sweeney/Keating would be a good partnership in the middle of the park with Buckley and Finni at the back.Put Tommy up front with Robbie and see where it takes us.

1. Mooney, 2. Wolfe, 3. McGauley, 4. Buckley, 5. Finnucane, 6. Sweeney, 7. O'Mahony, 8. Keating, 9. Kelliher, 10. Barrett, 11. Donnellen..........

Just thought I throw that in there to see who'd agree/dissagree!!!!!!!!
    Unity is Power, Power if shared is Strength, Limerick 37 serving the Community of Limerick.

mm

Quote Originally Posted by banterboy
    yeah it makes a lot more sense to leave nolan out now that hes scoring!!!oh wonder about ye 'fans'!!
    hes scored two pens and a lob! you really dont know what our club is about do you? we sold our top scorer so what makes nolan whos scoring any diff?

Quote Originally Posted by gael353
    hes scored two pens and a lob! you really dont know what our club is about do you? we sold our top scorer so what makes nolan whos scoring any diff?
    Two pens?

A class goal in Cobh and apparently a good goal last Friday night too - before the penalty. Lads, its okay to be wrong about something. Maybe it just took Nolan a while to find his feet (he hadn't played a lot of eL football before this season) - in Cobh he did very well and you can't argue with three goals in two games (even if one was a penalty). Just because a guy was criticised doesn't mean he can't be given credit when he does the business.
    "It's impossible to make a man understand something when his livelihood depends on him not understanding" Upton Sinclair

I'm not voting on this either - why is neither not an option? I don't particularly want Mike back - I wouldn't be unhappy if he was appointed but why a choice between Mike and NOC?

Kerley's treatment left a lot to be desired but he's gone - let's move on.

If Roddy Collins was on the list i would pick NOC ahead of him - but I'd rather Stephen Kenny please.
    "It's impossible to make a man understand something when his livelihood depends on him not understanding" Upton Sinclair

Jamie Nolan is playing better now that he's finally been moved into his position. Fair play to him and I mean that. I stand by my opinion that he was a brutal winger. It looks like he might cut the mustard as a striker and that's good to know. It is a pity that it took half a season for Noel O'Connor to realise this.

That said I'm not voting either. I'd sooner take Kerley than O'Connor at the moment but if NOC was to be sacked I'd like to see us look a little further afield and not just grab the first available guy on offer like we seem to have done this time.

tru

Quote Originally Posted by LFC in Exile
    Two pens?

A class goal in Cobh and apparently a good goal last Friday night too - before the penalty. Lads, its okay to be wrong about something. Maybe it just took Nolan a while to find his feet (he hadn't played a lot of eL football before this season) - in Cobh he did very well and you can't argue with three goals in two games (even if one was a penalty). Just because a guy was criticised doesn't mean he can't be given credit when he does the business.
    true he got a cracker in Cobh but my main point was that it dont matter how many u score you could still be out on ur tod no matter how many uve scored. As i also said hes done better since moving up front and combines better with robbie then Cant Pass. so Nolan has got four goals so level with robbie and Donnellen.

Quote Originally Posted by sadloserkid
    That said I'm not voting either. I'd sooner take Kerley than O'Connor at the moment but if NOC was to be sacked I'd like to see us look a little further afield and not just grab the first available guy on offer like we seem to have done this time.
    I think you will find the team were playing tonight have quite a good new manager

Quote Originally Posted by Lim till i die
    I think you will find the team were playing tonight have quite a good new manager
    I don't quite get the awe in which Gill is held around these parts (and others admittedly). He spent a load of money on mercenaries and got Dublin City promoted (just about) and then lasted half a season in the Premier. He didn't exactly set the league alight with Kildare County either. No, I'd rather MK than him I think.

Maybe I should wait until tomorrow before sticking my neck out here.

I don't quite get the awe in which Gill is held around these parts (and others admittedly). He spent a load of money on mercenaries and got Dublin City promoted (just about) and then lasted half a season in the Premier. He didn't exactly set the league alight with Kildare County either. No, I'd rather MK than him I think.

Maybe I should wait until tomorrow before sticking my neck out here.
    Proven right by Noel Mooney
    In fairness to the guy hes only been with Athlone a few weeks so we will give him a chance. They were absolute sewage last night tho

I don't quite get the awe in which Gill is held around these parts (and others admittedly). He spent a load of money on mercenaries and got Dublin City promoted (just about) and then lasted half a season in the Premier. He didn't exactly set the league alight with Kildare County either.
    Firstly he wasn't boss at Kildare, just number 2 to Dermot Keely. And also it has to be remembered that it was the first managerial pairing ever at the club, so finishing as high as they did was fairly impressive, i think they were fourth / fifth over the first two seasons.

Secondly, the year he got promoted, there were no mercenaries, just a good group of decidedly average footballers, who wanted to be at the club, wanted to be playing with each other, and really wanted to win the league. John was the catylst for that, he instilled the winning belive in those lads, and some extremely average players played out of their skins and were central to a championship winning side. For example, Gavin Doyle, Alan O'Connor, Andy Noonan, Robbie Dunne, Robbie Farrell, Terry Gleeson. The only players brought into the mix were Robbie Horgan, Tony O'Connor and Wes Byrne, who i thought were model professionals in all aspects of their contribution to the club.

His only fault at Dublin City was bringing in mercenaries once we had got promoted, not too tar everyone with the same brush though, some of the lads were excellent, Gary O'Neill was a revelation, but at least he had the foresight to see that it wasn't working out, and left in plenty of time to retrieve the situation. We were only a handful of points behind second last at the time with half the season remaining. Only for the other gimp who came in after him. If giller had stayed on, i'm confident that we would have come through, and even if we had been relegated, he would have us back where we are now.

Take That LFCIE

So he is a one-season wonder then is what you're saying.