3,286 Posts

89 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by tetsujin1979 View Post
    Maybe it?s the cynic in me but I?m suspecting it isn?t after the first 30 minutes but is Tom Mohan turning into abit of a Noal King and picking below par English born players in the hope one comes good and declares? All of them have appeared to be totally anonymous.

89 Posts
    2-0 win for Ireland ensures progression to the elite round.

717 Posts
    Good win, important to go on now and top the group to try and get a better elite round draw than last year. Hopefully holding a few would be starters back today for the Hungary game will help with that.

89 Posts
    Really need to aim to win 3/3

The u19s qualifying is very unforgiving, we really need to leave no stones unturned to give us a fair shot of qualification.

3,286 Posts
    Beat Hungary 1-0 to top the group with 3 wins from 3 games. Of the other completed groups, only Germany and England have a better record - both teams have +10 goal difference compared to Ireland's +9
    What's interesting is Italy finished third in their group on goal difference with two wins, and might go out despite having a better record than some group winners
    A really bizarre set of results saw Poland, Estonia, and Italy finish with identical records - a win against Bosnia, and a win and a loss in their other two games
    https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/2023_U...cation#Group_5

3,286 Posts
    Seedings announced ahead of the Elite Stage draw tomorrow: https://www.uefa.com/under19/news/02...draw-thursday/
    Seeding pots
    Pot A: Portugal, Germany, Ukraine, England (holders), France, Serbia, Republic of Ireland
    Pot B: Spain, Greece, Romania, Croatia, Poland, Türkiye, Slovenia
    Pot C: Belgium, Czechia, Denmark, Norway, Israel, Estonia, Iceland
    Pot D: Luxembourg, Northern Ireland, Latvia, Slovakia, Hungary, Sweden, Italy

451 Posts
    Seedings announced ahead of the Elite Stage draw tomorrow: https://www.uefa.com/under19/news/02...draw-thursday/
    An ireland Spain Belgium and Italy group with one to qualify would be tasty

3,286 Posts
    Group drawn: https://www.uefa.com/under19/news/02...und-draw-made/
    Elite round groups

Group 1: France, Romania, Norway, Northern Ireland
    Group 2: Germany, Slovenia, Belgium, Italy
    Group 3: Ukraine, Spain, Denmark, Luxembourg
    Group 4: Portugal, Croatia, Czechia, Sweden
    Group 5: Republic of Ireland, Greece, Estonia, Slovakia
    Group 6: Serbia, Poland, Israel, Latvia
    Group 7: England (holders), Türkiye, Iceland, Hungary

Hosts/dates TBC
    No bad, have a chance of topping that group
    Greece topped Group 1 - beat Switzerland and Andorra and drew with Czech Republic
    Estonia finished second in Group 5 - beat Italy and Bosnia and Herzegovina, and lost to Poland
    Slovakia finished second in Group 12 - Drew with Belarus, beat Armenia, and lost to Germany
    Last edited by tetsujin1979; 08/12/2022 at 1:52 PM.

3,197 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by liamoo11 View Post
    An ireland Spain Belgium and Italy group with one to qualify would be tasty
    How in absolute jaysus is that group a possibility?!

Edit - Italy the best of the third placed teams in the first round, and so technically last to qualify, even though they got more points (6) than 11 other teams, including four group winners. That's a bit of a daft way to do seeding, albeit that underage seeding can be hard.
    Last edited by pineapple stu; 08/12/2022 at 1:49 PM.

418 Posts
    How in absolute jaysus is that group a possibility?!

Edit - Italy the best of the third placed teams in the first round, and so technically last to qualify, even though they got more points (6) than 11 other teams, including four group winners. That's a bit of a daft way to do seeding, albeit that underage seeding can be hard.
    Was talks that they'll be using a similar set up as the Nations League to these age groups to decide who qualifies for the final tournament.

3,286 Posts
    Ireland confirmed as hosts for the Group: https://www.fai.ie/ireland/news/uefa...-for-u19s-u17s
    Next up for the squad are three Group 5 games against Slovakia, Estonia and Greece, with Ireland acting as hosts for those crucial qualifiers

2022/23 UEFA Under-19 European Championship Elite Round
    Wednesday, March 22 | Republic of Ireland v Slovakia
    Saturday, March 25 | Republic of Ireland v Estonia
    Tuesday, March 28 | Greece v Republic of Ireland
    Strong home turnout for the three games could give us the edge to top the group

622 Posts
    Ireland confirmed as hosts for the Group: https://www.fai.ie/ireland/news/uefa...-for-u19s-u17s

Strong home turnout for the three games could give us the edge to top the group
    Regardless of host country, we should be winning that group. Great chance now to make the finals in.... Malta?.
    Here they come! It’s the charge of the “Thanks” Brigade!

536 Posts
    with the 17s qualifying, the 19s are playing in Wexford in the elite round next...

no idea who is injured etc but if everyone was fit, this would be my squad:

1. Maguire
    2. Byrne
    3. S Curtis
    4. Abankwah
    5. Okagbue
    6. Grehan
    7. Murphy
    8. Clarke
    9. McJannett
    10. Coleman
    11. Ferizaj
    12. Mullins
    13. Vata
    14. Umeh
    15. Zefi
    16. Nzingo
    17. Moore
    18. O’Mahony
    19. Pearce
    20. Lonergan

With my backups being these lads:
    1. Jauny
    2. Storer
    3. Seary
    4. O’Reilly
    5. Nevin
    6. Yoro
    7. Heffernan
    8. Ryan
    9. Gibbard
    10. Vaughan
    11. Gallagher
    12. Maher
    13. Quinn
    14. McGuinness
    15. Caprani
    16. Kenny
    17. McGrath
    18. Fraser
    19. McLoughlin
    20. McConnell

Wouldn't have too much of an issue if a theoretical player from list A was replaced by someone on list B, for example John Ryan instead of John Clarke or Cathal Heffernan over David Okagbue etc etc. It'd a very deep group - probably could have gone well beyond the 40.

It's an unusual age group cause they lost u17s, so we have less info than most age groups.

Looking back at the previous round, that would have Luke Pearce coming in for Nathan Fraser. Not sure why Pearce hasn't been used more, thought he was an excellent u18 and he's a year older than Fraser.

Cian Coleman also coming in, another excellent u18, not sure why he hasn't been involved. Jamie Mullins another lad coming in - with Gallagher, Vaughan and Maher all going out of midfield - all 3 are players i'd like to see more of, as I like what I've seen but amn't convinced entirely yet.

Glory Nzingo played in the elite phase last year but wasn't involved in the squad this year - but I think he's very talented. Finally Sean Moore is the last player. Michael O'Neill has said he's been offered a call up by NI u19s - I think he's really talented so I'd want him definitely involved. Harry Nevin is the last lad I've got missing out...

I'd be surprised if Pearce, Coleman or Nzingo were involved but that'd be my squad anyway

19. Thanks From:

International Prospect Razors left peg's Avatar
    842 Posts
    Impressive knowledge of the players at that age group elatedscum, fair play

418 Posts
    Squad is being named on Wednesday along with the U21s. Would be surprised to see James McManus finally get his first call up for the U19s. Not sure whether he was injured or not but was very good for the U17s and they missed him big time in last seasons Elite Phase.

2,337 Posts
    If he continues to perform at LOI level, I wouldn't be surprised to see Daithi McCallion make the switch from the north at some point over the next year. 17 years old, and currently in N.Ire 19's, starting week in, week out in the LOI and looks fantastically comfortable and a real leader on the pitch.

24. Thanks From:

116 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by nigel-harps1954 View Post
    If he continues to perform at LOI level, I wouldn't be surprised to see Daithi McCallion make the switch from the north at some point over the next year. 17 years old, and currently in N.Ire 19's, starting week in, week out in the LOI and looks fantastically comfortable and a real leader on the pitch.
    He is the Son of former SF MP Elisha McCallion so you would be surprised if he and family didn’t look for that move.

His Mother had a similar switch of allegiances of sorts as was in the Seanad after being a Westminster MP so it runs in the family.

Good wee player for sure.

26. Thanks From:

622 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by elatedscum View Post
    with the 17s qualifying, the 19s are playing in Wexford in the elite round next...

no idea who is injured etc but if everyone was fit, this would be my squad:

1. Maguire
    2. Byrne
    3. S Curtis
    4. Abankwah
    5. Okagbue
    6. Grehan
    7. Murphy
    8. Clarke
    9. McJannett
    10. Coleman
    11. Ferizaj
    12. Mullins
    13. Vata
    14. Umeh
    15. Zefi
    16. Nzingo
    17. Moore
    18. O’Mahony
    19. Pearce
    20. Lonergan

With my backups being these lads:
    1. Jauny
    2. Storer
    3. Seary
    4. O’Reilly
    5. Nevin
    6. Yoro
    7. Heffernan
    8. Ryan
    9. Gibbard
    10. Vaughan
    11. Gallagher
    12. Maher
    13. Quinn
    14. McGuinness
    15. Caprani
    16. Kenny
    17. McGrath
    18. Fraser
    19. McLoughlin
    20. McConnell

Wouldn't have too much of an issue if a theoretical player from list A was replaced by someone on list B, for example John Ryan instead of John Clarke or Cathal Heffernan over David Okagbue etc etc. It'd a very deep group - probably could have gone well beyond the 40.

It's an unusual age group cause they lost u17s, so we have less info than most age groups.

Looking back at the previous round, that would have Luke Pearce coming in for Nathan Fraser. Not sure why Pearce hasn't been used more, thought he was an excellent u18 and he's a year older than Fraser.

Cian Coleman also coming in, another excellent u18, not sure why he hasn't been involved. Jamie Mullins another lad coming in - with Gallagher, Vaughan and Maher all going out of midfield - all 3 are players i'd like to see more of, as I like what I've seen but amn't convinced entirely yet.

Glory Nzingo played in the elite phase last year but wasn't involved in the squad this year - but I think he's very talented. Finally Sean Moore is the last player. Michael O'Neill has said he's been offered a call up by NI u19s - I think he's really talented so I'd want him definitely involved. Harry Nevin is the last lad I've got missing out...

I'd be surprised if Pearce, Coleman or Nzingo were involved but that'd be my squad anyway
    As always ES, much appreciated.
    Here they come! It’s the charge of the “Thanks” Brigade!

717 Posts
    Here's the squad. Decent picking from ES, particularly in the forwards. Great to see Sean Moore in.

Goalkeepers: Reece Byrne (Bohemians), Owen Mason (Kettering Town, on loan from Mansfield Town)

Defenders: James Abankwah (Udinese), Sam Curtis (St. Patrick’s Athletic), Sean Grehan (Crystal Palace), James Golding (Oxford United), Alex Murphy (Newcastle United), Harry Nevin (Preston North End), John Ryan (Sassulo)

Midfielders: Justin Ferizaj (Shamrock Rovers), Oisin Gallagher (Barwell, on loan from Lincoln City), Ed McJannet (Lecce), James McManus (Bohemians), Harry Vaughan (Hull City), Rocco Vata (Celtic)

Forwards: Tommy Lonergan (St. Patrick’s Athletic), Sean Moore (Cliftonville), Mark O’Mahony (Brighton & Hove Albion), Franco Umeh (Crystal Palace), Kevin Zefi (Inter Milan)
    Keane O'Shea Given Best Smallbone

Page 2 of 5 FirstFirst 1234 ... LastLast