Thread: McCourt moves to Derry

Quote Originally Posted by Passive
    We got him for nothing, he left for nothing, what have we lost: nothing!

Of course McCourt is a massive loss
    Which one is it Passive, just a little bit contradictive don't you think???
    Sitting pretty!!!

This is probably confirmed by now, but just in case, here's another website running with the story:

http://news.bbc.co.uk/sport1/hi/foot...sh/4730621.stm

Edit: I've just noticed MartyC beat me to it.
    Last edited by steveyg2004; 30/07/2005 at 12:52 PM.

Quote Originally Posted by Drumcondra Red

I think he was talking in monetary terms that they have lost nothing, but player-wise they have lost a big gun.

Quote Originally Posted by Drumcondra Red
    Well, I was being slightly light-hearted in my initial comments.

Paddy McCourt is a footballing genius, there is no doubt about that. He's the best player I've seen since Tony Sheridan, and that's the highest praise I can offer any footballer.

I'd have love to have held onto him, but in the current situation it wasn't possible and, like every other Rovers fan, I wish Paddy the best. To be honest, I'm happy he's gone to a club like Derry because it would have killed me to see him join b***s.

As for relegation, of course we're massive favourites to go down, but we still have to play Harps and Waterford. I do think both Harps and ourselves might stay up at the expense of our friends in the south-east.

Quote Originally Posted by dancinpants
    Lads apart from soccercentral this story isn't being carried anywhere else. So I don't think theres been any official confirmation yet.
    It was on BBC Ceefax p. 391. And they quoted Kenny commenting on his latest signing.
    Extratime.ie

Yo te quiero, mi querida. Sin tus besos, yo soy nada.

Abri o portão de ouro, da maquina do tempo.

Mi mamá me hizo guapo, listo y antimadridista.

Well, I was being slightly light-hearted in my initial comments.

Paddy McCourt is a footballing genius, there is no doubt about that. He's the best player I've seen since Tony Sheridan, and that's the highest praise I can offer any footballer.

I'd have love to have held onto him, but in the current situation it wasn't possible and, like every other Rovers fan, I wish Paddy the best. To be honest, I'm happy he's gone to a club like Derry because it would have killed me to see him join b***s.

As for relegation, of course we're massive favourites to go down, but we still have to play Harps and Waterford. I do think both Harps and ourselves might stay up at the expense of our friends in the south-east.
    Just for the record mine was also a lighthearted comment!! Shero, what a player! Rumour has it he's gone to rovers???
    Sitting pretty!!!

71 Posts
    I'm delighted this talent is staying in our league. Are Derry totally full time by the way?

Quote Originally Posted by Poor Student
    Are Derry totally full time by the way?
    I think so. Kenny got all the players to move to Derry at the start of the season.

Quote Originally Posted by DE TOWN
    I think so. Kenny got all the players to move to Derry at the start of the season.
    Clive Delaney does not live in Derry, travels up

71 Posts
    I heard that Clive trains with us during the week. I was just wondering if McCourt is full time as I had heard he likes to enjoy himself if you know what I mean.

Quote Originally Posted by Roo69
    Clive Delaney does not live in Derry, travels up
    My apologies Roo

Now we can really challenge the 'Langers'
    Go lí cúnna ifrinn do thóin bheagmhaitheasach

Formerly: wild rover
    I won't accept relegation until the division one fixture list comes out and I see Shamrock Rovers listed.

We're two points behind a managerless and fairly brutal Harps side; and six behind a managerless, chairmanless, pennyless Waterford side who have lost their last ten games.

Hardly mission impossible.

Our next four games are against Bray, Pats, Waterford and UCD. We'll know a lot more about our chances in a month's time.

stick to harps!..roddrick you never cease to suprise me.you can beat those other 3 teams too

Surprised there was no fee involved, he was the only one that they wanted money for.

I'd have thought they could have had plenty of takers even for a small fee of say EUR10,000. That would have helped along with getting him off the wage bill.

We will see if McCourt is as good as we all think when playing with good team now.

Think he might ensure 2nd place for Derry now.

71 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by pete

You think Shelbourne will leapfrog them too for the title?

Quote Originally Posted by pete
    We will see if McCourt is as good as we all think when playing with good team now.

Just to refresh your memory Pete - the gap in the league between Derry and Shels and Derry and Cork are both 7 points, and we have a game in-hand over you's. We're therefore probably less likely to get overtaken by Shels than we are to overtake you at the top. And if we do finish the year in 2nd place, then it will be due to the work done by the team up to now - and not due to McCourt.

I fully expect Cork to be Champions this year - but I wouldn't go making arrangements for your celebration party just yet.....

You just said you "fully expect" us to win it, but not to plan any celebrations at the same time??why not if you "fully expect" us to win
    "They have the internet on computers now!" ,Homer Simpson

I think you read my post incorrectly. I was saying McCourt will ensure 2nd place i.e. signing of McCourt will ensure Shels don't have chance at 2nd place.

I think ye will need to win at the Brandywell when City visit in few weeks - then title race will be very close.

If we beat shels and derry in the next few weeks then i think that should wrap up the title,but a win against shels and a draw up in derry would be fairly handy aswell considering we'll have derry at home again,2 draws wouldnt be a disaster either but im fully convinced we'll win at least 1 of those games,if not both,not forgeting the battering we'll give waterford friday of course!
    "They have the internet on computers now!" ,Homer Simpson