Page 4 of 5 FirstFirst ... 2345 LastLast

Thread: Rosenborg

nah, in tolka we can win the match so why move ?

beat rosenborg and you can play all the group stage games you want in lansdowne

Ive just put up my reasons as to why we have to move .. Ive done it about 10 times in various threads..

Unless we have improved our stadium since last season or UEFA have different rules. You can keep saying keep it in Tolka we will win but its not an option as far as I know.

Even if it was, I feel 24,000 fans in Lansdowne is worth something!! Tolka will have about 8 with the Ballybough end for Rosenborg Id say. I dont think teams are too afraid to play there. This tight little ground thing doesnt matter to teams like Rosenborg. Get them to Lansdowne mark the pitch the way you want and get 22,000 EL fans shouting for the home team.

We should be better off having played there last season and of course with so many internationals on the team they will feel at home
    John Delaney!! GET OUT!!!
    www.ssdg.ie

IF the singers actually went to the Riverside we'd be better off in Tolka as the atmosphere would be amazing, far better than in Lansdowne.

Quote Originally Posted by higgins
    I feel 24,000 fans in Lansdowne is worth something!! Tolka will have about 8
    Chin up higgins, your support isn't that poor. There'll be four there from UCD alone.

It'll be the first and only time i'll post in this thread.It's nearly 5 pages long now

Can we please see if we get to the next round first
    Last edited by Anto McC; 02/08/2005 at 11:17 PM.

Quote Originally Posted by Anto McC
    It'll be the first and only time i'll post in this thread.It's nearly 5 pages long now

Can we please see if we get to the next round first
    Best post in the thread.....FFS, worry about it IF ye get there!

176 Posts
    3rd Round Champions League would sell out against any team. Im sure of it Most EL fans would be there for a start.
    Er, no it wouldn't. Lansdowne sold out last year because everyone wanted to watch a Spanish side playing. They didn't care when Shels played Lille. You would do very, very well to sell 15,000 tickets if you played Rosenborg in a qualifier at Lansdowne. But sure Olly doesn't care whether his team wins the tie or not, if he thinks he'll get a half-full Lansdowne for a game, he'll throw away his home advantage, and play it in Lansdowne instead to get his money.

Tolka cant be used due to floodlights I think and also the fact the media dont have any space in Tolka.
    What is this, the European Championships or something?? Only Irish and Norwegian media would bother coming to a CL qualifier. No other country's media would give a sh-it about it. As for Tolka's lights, are Lansdowne's lights better, with just a set of bulbs on one stand covering half the stadium?

We would have a good crowd from Norway over for that one Im sure along with all other countries keeping an eye on the new kids on the block.
    Well, Rosenborg would have one fan there, namely Gerrit. But most Norwegian fans don't travel in numbers. In fact, most foreign fans don't travel to away games anywhere. Last year, Coruna brought with them a grand total of 8 fans to Lansdowne.

Tolka couldnt cope.
    It coped in 2000, so it can cope now.
    Last edited by mypost; 03/08/2005 at 5:32 AM.

Quote Originally Posted by mypost
    Er, no it wouldn't. Lansdowne sold out last year because everyone wanted to watch a Spanish side playing. They didn't care when Shels played Lille. You would do very, very well to sell 15,000 tickets if you played Rosenborg in a qualifier at Lansdowne. But sure Olly doesn't care whether his team wins the tie or not, if he thinks he'll get a half-full Lansdowne for a game, he'll throw away his home advantage, and play it in Lansdowne instead to get his money.
    Rovers fans were trying to convince themselves we wouldn't sell out v Deportivo too.

You can't seem to grasp the concept that the difference between now and 2000, if we get there and we probably wont, is that the winner gets a group stage spot. The media buzz after knocking out Steaua and with all the talk of us making the group stages would ensure a sell out, there was none of that in 2000. To say it would be exactly the same as then shows a complete lack of intelligence.

We have to get there though and we probably wont.

176 Posts
    As it turned out, the debate was much ado about nothing.

It seems to me that Shels think they own Lansdowne, and can play there when it suits them. Last time I looked, the IRFU owned it, and they decide who plays there, not Ollie Byrne or Finbar Flood.

You can have all the hype you like, but neutrals will only come to watch glamour teams in this country. Friendlies between NL clubs against the likes of Liverpool, and other well-known English sides/Celt-ic will sell out, games against the likes of Portsmouth/Kilmarnock won't. Rosenborg are not glamourous, Lille are not glamourous, but Coruna are, despite having no fans in this country. That's the only reason why your game against them was sold out, as you had no chance of beating them, so all the "10 million Euro" stories, and "made for life" hype was PR bullsh-it.

Will Cork demand to play in Lansdowne in next year's CL qualifiers? Highly unlikely. They'll demand home advantage, i.e. Turner's Cross, not Lansdowne. Playing your "home" games in Lansdowne, is like hosting your birthday party in someone else's house. It's just not the same.

Quote Originally Posted by mypost
    Will Cork demand to play in Lansdowne in next year's CL qualifiers? Highly unlikely. They'll demand home advantage, i.e. Turner's Cross, not Lansdowne. Playing your "home" games in Lansdowne, is like hosting your birthday party in someone else's house. It's just not the same.
    If they make the third qualifying round, they'll probably have to. I don't think their floodlights are up to the required standard either (which forced Shels to play in Lansdowne against Deportivo and Lille, whatever crowd they expected).

71 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by Schumi
    If they make the third qualifying round, they'll probably have to. I don't think their floodlights are up to the required standard either (which forced Shels to play in Lansdowne against Deportivo and Lille, whatever crowd they expected).
    Is there a change in ground standard once you pass the 2nd qualifying phase?

I think a big crowd would have turned up had Shels progressed. Bohs sold out Dalymount (9000 tickets) for the Rosenborg game a couple of years ago a day or two before the game, in the 2nd qualifying round.

I would have fancied Shels to make the group stages in the circumstances surrounding Rosenborg this year. I think there would have been a lot of hype surrounding the games and the 20,000 or so seats in Landsdowne would have been filled I think (if the IRFU allowed them to play there).

Quote Originally Posted by Poor Student
    Is there a change in ground standard once you pass the 2nd qualifying phase?
    Yes.

[SIZE=1]Needless text to lengthen my message to at least 5 characters.[/SIZE]

176 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by Schumi
    The floodlights at Tolka are like floodlights everywhere else. They light an arena, that's all. They should not be a factor in where you play a home tie in Europe. Shels use it as a flag of convenience to play CL qualifiers at the home of another sporting body, which can, and should veto it. There was no logical reason for Shels to play Lille at Lansdowne last year except greed. It backfired on Shels spectacularly, as only 7,000 showed up. Lille were never going to sell out Lansdowne, neither would Rosenborg.

Cork won't have to change. They have a stark choice: Play at your home ground and maximise your chances in the tie, or effectively throw the tie by playing somewhere else, just to get a few thousand Euro more from the gate. There's no reason why any Irish club in Europe in 2005, should move games elsewhere. It makes us look a laughing stock to the opposition, and provides the club concerned with extra unnecessary hurdles to overcome, as if they didn't have enough already.

The floodlights at Tolka are like floodlights everywhere else.
    Thats an idiotic thing to say !!!

You think that fllodlights are floodlights??? Its nearly as bad as saying they only have bulbs on one side of Lansdowne to light it up

How can someone who has the know how to use a computer post such a daft comment?

The FACT is and you may not agree but UEFA officials have visited Tolka before and measured the amount of light coming from the floodlights. They are not strong enough to host games in the 3rd round for some reason!! They mark the pitch out into small squares of about 10ft by 10ft and go around getting the strenght. It doesnt meet the standards required for the third round. Thats what they say.

You probably know better
    John Delaney!! GET OUT!!!
    www.ssdg.ie

For us (and I'm referring to Rosenborg ; confusing I know when I use the same term for Shels) this game vs Steaua will be massively important. With the title going away from Trondheim for the first time in 14 years, it means we need the Champions League cash to stay the biggest club in Norway and to stay interesting for talented Norwegian players... I don't want Valerenga and Brann to pick them all from our dish
    Visit my favourite teams :

www.kvo.be - www.shelbournefc.ie - www.rosenborg.info

176 Posts
    You think that fllodlights are floodlights??? daft

The FACT is and you may not agree but UEFA officials have visited Tolka before and measured the amount of light coming from the floodlights. They are not strong enough to host games in the 3rd round for some reason!! They mark the pitch out into small squares of about 10ft by 10ft and go around getting the strenght. It doesnt meet the standards required for the third round.
    And I think it's daft to rule out the use of a club's home ground, over the strength of light coming from floodlights. They're all the same everywhere, and unless they pose a serious threat to public safety (which the Tolka lights don't), their strength should not be an factor.

Tolka is one of the biggest grounds in the country, and can cope with European games, bar CL group phase games. You got your licence from the FAI partly because your ground's facilities were perceived to be up to scratch. Surely, yous have enough money available to upgrade them if they weren't.

Tolka has been hosting European club games, and Internationals for decades. The lights there haven't changed in all that time. If they were good enough to host them then, they're good enough to host them now.
    Last edited by mypost; 06/08/2005 at 4:39 AM.

I think upgrades to the lights are overlooked due to the cost and that we don't expect to be in Tolka for much longer, so it would be wasted money.

If UEFA say Tolka can't be used, then it can't be used. No amount of bickering here will change that! If they say the strength is a factor, then it is a factor (it may have something to do with television).
    God

Quote Originally Posted by EnDai
    I think upgrades to the lights are overlooked due to the cost and that we don't expect to be in Tolka for much longer, so it would be wasted money.
    You could bring the bulbs to your new ground.

The floodlights in Tolka are an issue for Europe as the summer draws to a close, hence the ever earlier kick off times as we progress as there is less natural light later in the day as we get further. That was why we had to host the Lille game there or kick off very early. Not sure what time we would have had to kick off if we played Rosenborg there.

Page 4 of 5 FirstFirst ... 2345 LastLast