Page 7 of 8 FirstFirst ... 5678 LastLast

Thread: Longford Town, please forfeit future European games

Quote Originally Posted by DE TOWN
    Where do you start? We never showed up. Didnt look interested from the off. Our defence was a shambles. 5 goals were EASILY avoidable, Carmarthen didnt have to work hard to go through, we handed it to them on a plate.
    Idiots

Before the first leg the papers were full of quotes from Longford management and players saying they weren't gonna be complicant and learn from the mistake of Vaduz last year.
    I don't believe the not turning up thing one bit.
    Longford don't have the ability to play in Europe full stop, with the exception of quality players like Keego, Paisley and Baker.

First mistake was a throw back to the old days, getting the boat to the game, THE F UCKIN BOAT FFS!
    Also the Welsh team were a bunch of amateurs, they were trying to get a convicted football hooligan out of jail to play up front for them against Longford
    Finally I couldn't be happier for Barry Ferguson, saw him havin a good cry after the game, C UN T
    Last edited by BohsFans; 31/07/2005 at 1:49 AM.

Quote Originally Posted by BohsFans
    I don't believe the not turning up thing one bit.
    were you there?
    with the exception of quality players like Keego, Paisley and Baker.
    Shows what you know if you think Keego and Dessie are "quality players".
    First mistake was a throw back to the old days, getting the boat to the game, THE F UCKIN BOAT FFS!
    1) We don't exactly have a money tree growing out in Flancare, so it was the cheaper option.
    2) There is no airport near Newtown, so why fly to Cardiff and then have to drive miles?

Quote Originally Posted by Lux Interior
    So, Longford dudes ....

Any room in your stand for a few disillusioned Glenmen?
    Too much room Bring your whole crowd if possible, Fill up Flancare Pk a bit

Quote Originally Posted by BohsFans
    Suggest an alternative form of transport.

Newtown is roughly equal distance from Birmingham, Cardiff and Holyhead. Personally speaking, I took the boat, very comfortable and your not as packed up as being on a plane. The check-in times for a boat and luggage are excellent too. It's a very enjoyable method of visiting wales and I have absolutly no time for anyone who begrudges LT their choice of travel.
    Reporter: "Gordan, can we have a quick word?"
    Strachan:"Velocity"

For you guys who need it spelt out for you, the "forfeit" comment was sarcasm.

1,553 Posts
    I've travelled to Wales a number of times on the fast ferries and they're a great way to travel. They've far more room than aircraft obviously and given that there are no airports particularly near that ground it was a perfectly reasonable decision.

Longford got a terrible result- but they earned the right to participate fair and square. I think a lot of people rate our league a hell of a lot higher than they should- it's not too long ago that our super-duper European Giant professional outfits were getting crap results too. Shels barely managed to get past an Icelandic midtable last year and it's not too long since they lost at home to a team from Malta on live TV. Every club that's particpated in Europe has got bad results- now is that because the clubs in question let us down or because our league is of a very poor standard?

The cup represents a chance for every club to dream of the chance of getting into Europe. And that's the way it should be. Some people on this board seem to think that we should basically put the same teams into Europe every season so they can get the hang of it. Sod that- if we had a better league we'd get better results, simple as that. Even the best, most professional teams in the country on their best days aren't capable of matching even modest European teams for technique and passing ability. That's what's depressing, and that is what people should be worrying about.

Píss off

Are you generally stupid? I said the AVERAGE wage is about €300-350. Ferguson is probably on €500-600 a week. But you have to take into account the likes of Gary Murphy and Cassin who would bring the AVERAGE down.

You really are deluding yourself if you think Longford's average wage bill is €300-350, cop on to yourself. There is absolutely no way its anywhere near that low. I would imagine even the likes of Harps or Waterford wouldn't even have a wage bill as low as that.

If you lads are saying that some of the players are on 600 or 700 euro a week then why are they not full time? You also say you have NO fulltime players at Longford. I didnt know that

Apart from that the reslut in Wales was the worst one ever in my opinion. Saying Shels and Pats etc got bad results in the past doesnt take away from it. Losing to a Welsh team in 2005, 5-1!! Whats done is done but you didnt learn from your mistake last season and from comments by Longford Town fans now it appears you have not learned it this time either.

Am I right that your team was clapped off the pitch it Wales?

You should have beat them off the pitch in Wales. Your negative useless manager is to blame. Why you accept that your no better then a cup win and finsh 5th in the league side I'll never know. No other set of fans would defend what went on. Matthews appears to be one big idiot.
    John Delaney!! GET OUT!!!
    www.ssdg.ie

Quote Originally Posted by higgins
    If you lads are saying that some of the players are on 600 or 700 euro a week then why are they not full time? You also say you have NO fulltime players at Longford. I didnt know that

Apart from that the reslut in Wales was the worst one ever in my opinion. Saying Shels and Pats etc got bad results in the past doesnt take away from it. Losing to a Welsh team in 2005, 5-1!! Whats done is done but you didnt learn from your mistake last season and from comments by Longford Town fans now it appears you have not learned it this time either.

Am I right that your team was clapped off the pitch it Wales?

You should have beat them off the pitch in Wales. Your negative useless manager is to blame. Why you accept that your no better then a cup win and finsh 5th in the league side I'll never know. No other set of fans would defend what went on. Matthews appears to be one big idiot.

They most certainly did clap them off the absolute complete and utter wastes of space. Clapping that sh*t was one of the worst aspects of it for me.Aside from I and a few other bright souls the rest seem to think Matthews is a good manager they are completely deluded but I dont care im sick to death giving out about him. They are never going to listen!

Quote Originally Posted by higgins
    It started last season when they lost to a poor side. YES I know they are in the Swiss second division but thats exactly the point they are in the f**king swiss 2nd division.
    Give over.

Vaduz are far from a poor side and have a budget of about €3 million.
    Work's Bogey

Who had never ever won a game in Europe before.

Quote Originally Posted by Feech
    Give over.

Vaduz are far from a poor side and have a budget of about €3 million.
    True, but Mathews went into the games expecting a walk in the park, having not even gone to watch them play before. If you're going to represent your country on an international stage, the least you can do is aproach the game in a profesional manner, Longford didn't against Vaduz.

Quote Originally Posted by Luke O'Riordan
    True, but Mathews went into the games expecting a walk in the park, having not even gone to watch them play before. If you're going to represent your country on an international stage, the least you can do is aproach the game in a profesional manner, Longford didn't against Vaduz.
    I happen to know that Longford had Vaduz watched before they played them. Which is what you would expect them to do.

So what if they'd never previously won in Europe - they only got promoted to the Swiss NLB 4 years ago. There's a first time for everything.

Until a few weeks ago Longford had also never won in Europe!
    Last edited by Feech; 31/07/2005 at 7:48 PM.
    Work's Bogey

Vaduz are rubbish ..

They cant get into the Swiss 1st Division
    Imagine that!! for a team that are decent. Do you think if Shels drew a team from Switzerland in the Champions League or UEFA Cup that they could expect to get hammered?? and that would be from a team in their top division!

Vaduz are a poor side and their results in Europe and their league shows this. As I said before Shels beat FC Chiassio or whatever way they spell it 4-1 when we were pre season and they are swiss 2nd division team.

It all goes again to prove the lack of ambition at Longford that they are happy to lose to s 2nd division swiss side. The only team you could get worse then Vaduz is possably a Welsh cup runner up
    John Delaney!! GET OUT!!!
    www.ssdg.ie

"Vaduz are a poor side and their results in Europe and their league shows this"

Well, without meaning to be rude, I do know a lot more about Swiss football than you.

Vaduz were in the playoffs the last 2 seasons in a row - this would suggest they are the 12th best team in all the Swiss leagues.

Beating a team in a friendly to be honest, doesn't mean a lot unless you are Brian Kerr.

When Bohs beat Spurs in a friendly would you use that to say Bohs would finish ahead of Everton in the Premiership?

You could, but you'd be stupid to do so......
    Work's Bogey

71 Posts
    Obviously Longford were not pleased to go out to Vaduz but anyone who follows European football very closely would not have been surprised. They're a club who have made massive progress recently and have plenty of internationals and European experience. For the 2nd year in a row they've progressed a round now.

Quote Originally Posted by Xlex
    Suggest an alternative form of transport.

Newtown is roughly equal distance from Birmingham, Cardiff and Holyhead. Personally speaking, I took the boat, very comfortable and your not as packed up as being on a plane. The check-in times for a boat and luggage are excellent too. It's a very enjoyable method of visiting wales and I have absolutly no time for anyone who begrudges LT their choice of travel.
    FLY

getting the boat smacks of minnowism!

were you there?

Shows what you know if you think Keego and Dessie are "quality players".

1) We don't exactly have a money tree growing out in Flancare, so it was the cheaper option.
    2) There is no airport near Newtown, so why fly to Cardiff and then have to drive miles?
    1. No I wasn't there, but it's generally a stupid excuse used by crap managers FACT!

2. No one has a money tree, but you still were able to afford to sign 2 (?) players in the transfer window

Quote Originally Posted by wexford boy
    How in gods name can a rovers fan come on this site and slag another club off.They are an absoulute joke.There not even fit to be a football club.Getting so far in the red and needing the court to wipe out all those "loans" is a disgrace.You dont even have a home ALL your squad can leave on a free so you have no right (weather you have apoligised or not)to comment on another club.As for longford i say good club under achieving squad decent manager take it on the chin and make all these morons eat there words.
    Clown. We have every right to comment on that result. You have no right to comment on something you obviously know nothing about. When one of the longford players calls it a disgrace I dont think further comment is needed. They have let down the credibility of the league and IMO there is no excuse for that.

Far too much talk about shame / embarrassment to the league. All teams are entitled to a bad result. Who are Longford an embarrassment to? The Eircom League fans in the face of the Premiership barstoolers? Those same Eircom League fans who were hoping Deportivo beat Shels 10-0 last year?
    I remember everyone jumpingup and down claiming we'd shamed the league by losing 1-0 at home to Hibs of Malta 2 years ago. Fact was, they barely got out of their half for 91 minutes, and then hit us a sucker blow. No shame. Just the way football goes sometimes.
    Kenny didn't deserve the boot last year, and Matthews doesn't deserve it now.
    No Elvis, Beatles or the Rolling Stones
    In 1977

Page 7 of 8 FirstFirst ... 5678 LastLast