Page 4 of 6 FirstFirst ... 23456 LastLast

Thread: Games weekend 5th to 7th August

817 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by DCSIL View Post
    According to some Derry fans some Dundalk have played up when they’ve come to the Brandy, you’ll have to ask Brendy or DCWA about that as most away fans (apart from Rovers a few years back) are alright. There’s a rivalry in that we’re challenging you and Rovers for trophies.

There was a bus load of lads who’d been drinking all day they might have been involved.
    Sure there was a massive punch up on the pitch after the 2019 LC final. Was at it, disgraceful scenes with both sets of fans at fault (plus poor security but nobody asked the lads on the pitch to act like savages). Since then it's been spicy enough and now the whole "Derry stealing players" nonsense has added fuel to the fire.

873 Posts
    I dont recall that 2019 incident but then maybe my attention was on celebrating winning a trophy and not seeking out someone to fight with. Whats the chances of multiple incidents same idiots!? I have to say in all the years of having Derry fans in Oriel and travelling up to the Brandywell there has never been anything but a good friendship between the respective supporters. Isolated incidents like the windows broken on the bus at the Brandywell but that was acknowledged as people not at the game or Derry fans. There was minimal security for Derry's visit on Friday - you know there's concern when there are no tickets on the night for example.

It sounds to me that one Derry fan took exception to the late equaliser, maybe some taunting, in a 'haze' entered the pitch area, got manhandled by Gardaí (there is usually moaning about them doing nothing and slow in taking action and now that they have responded to misbehavioor it's heavy handed?) and his buddies had a hissy fit so a number of the public order unit were deployed to calm things down. Havent heard anything about injuries or arrests so might just have done the job.

27 Posts
    Poor fare in the show grounds so far, bohs with the one scramble near goal.
    The big lad pinaker(?) at the back for Sligo looks good, best for bohs are mcdaid Burke and O’Sullivan, but lacking in attempts at goal so far

346 Posts
    Bohs take the lead then concede 2 in 3 minutes…..
    Irish by birth ,Harps by the grace of god.

817 Posts
    bohs in a nutshell
    BetweenTheStripes.net - Home of Between the Stripes LOI podcast.

27 Posts
    Yep , same all ****ing season. New squad same problem.

327 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by Dermobohs View Post
    Yep , same all ****ing season. New squad same problem.
    If any team could lose to Sligo outside of Europe, you could be damn sure it would be us. Mid table mediocrity is becoming our thing.

387 Posts
    Good second half and a badly needed win for us. Big game in Inchicore on Sunday. Hopefully Pats are worrying about a play off.

Quote Originally Posted by Nah Nah Nah Nah View Post
    Good second half and a badly needed win for us. Big game in Inchicore on Sunday. Hopefully Pats are worrying about a play off.
    If we’re worrying about a playoff we won’t be playing you next Sunday. FAI already said it will be off if either side progresses.

387 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by patsdad View Post
    If we’re worrying about a playoff we won’t be playing you next Sunday. FAI already said it will be off if either side progresses.
    Did they? Hadnt heard that. We won’t be progressing.

363 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by TonyD View Post
    Really ? You don’t see an issue with arriving on Sunday morning and playing at 5pm ? Seriously ?

This is completely outside Pats control. Everyone knows the difficulties with air travel at the moment. If Pats are punished for this it will be a disgrace. So much for supporting our teams in Europe.
    Come on on now Tony, do you not think Pats maybe engineered this a little and knew full well the times of the charter?

Dundalk arrived home from Russia on a Sat am in Nov 2016 and played and almost won a cup final next day, yes they complained about the game but still fulfilled the fixture.
    #DundalkFC - First Irish club to win an away game in Europe (1963), first Irish club to win points in a group stage in Europe (2016).

363 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by sbgawa View Post
    Loving that Dundalk equaliser.
    Boom
    So did I, a point closer to achieving the season long aim of re-qualifying for Europe, nothing taken for granted but its looking good we will might get either 2nd or 3rd now.
    #DundalkFC - First Irish club to win an away game in Europe (1963), first Irish club to win points in a group stage in Europe (2016).

116 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by Kiki Balboa View Post
    Story I read from comments online.... Derry fan ran onto the pitch after the final whistle, and was escorted off the pitch heavy-handley by the AGS. Other Derry fans reacted, and some pushing between the Guards and Derry fans.

Do Derry fans have a particular animosity towards Dundalk? Because, I don't think Dundalk would see it as a rivalry game (other than the situation in the table).
    No anomosity toward Dundalk apart from possibly between the younger fans of each team (not sure if this the case but both, much like plenty other clubs like act up to each other).

What I would say is that the actions of the Gardai and certain Dundalk cllub officials who Inwill refrain from naming on this site were unbelievable. Genuinely had to seen to be believed.

Those free state *******s in the guards been hung in the right time.

873 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by DCWA View Post
    No anomosity toward Dundalk apart from possibly between the younger fans of each team (not sure if this the case but both, much like plenty other clubs like act up to each other).

What I would say is that the actions of the Gardai and certain Dundalk cllub officials who Inwill refrain from naming on this site were unbelievable. Genuinely had to seen to be believed.

Those free state *******s in the guards been hung in the right time.
    Not sure what you are getting at?

116 Posts
    I am sure it can be figured out handy enough. A clearly intelligent poster like yourself I have no doubt has gathered already, give or take.

817 Posts
    Usually people are giving out the Gardai are too soft when there's trouble at LOI games, if you can't go to a game and behave yourself you deserve a good crack of a bat. Might not some sense into the clowns who think they are extras on green Street.

222 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by TonyD View Post
    Because a game of football is not the same as a day at the office.
    What's the difference getting off a flight and getting off a bus?

It's not ideal circumstances, but teams travel six hours on a bus to the Brandywell, get off it, play a match, then go straight back down the road.
    Do feel for Shels in this instance.

Such a poor second half performance from Derry on Friday night. We so thoroughly expected the Dundalk goal, it was barely disappointing to concede, but rather we were glad they didn't do it then minutes early. Dundalk would have the game in that instance.

Not exactly sure what went on after, but heard some lad had his glasses broken by a guard and a four year old got pepper-sprayed.
    FWIW, whatever about the guards, but if fans weren't moving towards the trouble, there'd have been no issue.

3,215 Posts
    What teams travel 6 hours by bus to Derry? Would Cork not stay overnight for example? Dublin teams don't get straight off the bus and play a game - they'd arrive up 3-4 hours before the game, have lunch in a hotel, and prepare professionally.

If you're looking at two flights (which you would, if you're going no-charter from Sofia to Dublin) to arrive in on the morning of the game, then you've got an early start in a different time zone (Sofia is two hours ahead) and none of that is conducive to arriving in the airport, getting a bus to Tolka, and playing a match at 5pm.

Have sympathy for Shels here and if Pat's have screwed up with their Euro arrangements then I think a walkover would probably be the correct decision. But I don't think the ideas of "Ah sure they can land in the airport on Sunday morning and play a game" or "A game of football is the same as an office job" really stack up.

222 Posts
    What teams travel 6 hours by bus to Derry? Would Cork not stay overnight for example? Dublin teams don't get straight off the bus and play a game - they'd arrive up 3-4 hours before the game, have lunch in a hotel, and prepare professionally.

If you're looking at two flights (which you would, if you're going no-charter from Sofia to Dublin) to arrive in on the morning of the game, then you've got an early start in a different time zone (Sofia is two hours ahead) and none of that is conducive to arriving in the airport, getting a bus to Tolka, and playing a match at 5pm.
    Cork/Cobh, I don't think they always stay over. They'll obviously have a bit of food beforehand, and Pat's would have had the spare time too.
    I'm saying that there should be no difference based on the mode of transport. It's just a flight.

Did Pat's get their charter in the end, or go commercial?
    There's direct option with Ryanair that gets in just after midnight.
    Regardless, it's far, far from ideal, but I don't see how it's not possible to do it.

Essentially, Pat's didn't play because they had a late night on Saturday.

They could still get a sleep, then be able to meet up a few hours before the game.
    Alternatively, they could have asked for delayed KO.

I absolutely get why they didn't play the match, but it's still better to play than possibly lose the three points.

230 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by oriel View Post
    Come on on now Tony, do you not think Pats maybe engineered this a little and knew full well the times of the charter?

Dundalk arrived home from Russia on a Sat am in Nov 2016 and played and almost won a cup final next day, yes they complained about the game but still fulfilled the fixture.
    Well there is no evidence that is the case. I don’t know the full ins and outs, but what is clear is that the FAI were kept fully informed. If they feel that Pats were playing games then no doubt they will give the points to Shels.

I’m sure that the people wanting us to play on Sunday, or even Monday, would take a different view if their club was involved. If the shoe was on the other foot I would hope I wouldn’t be as petty as to want to see Shels lose the points.
    Out for a spell, got neglected, lay on the bench unselected.

Page 4 of 6 FirstFirst ... 23456 LastLast