Thread: Sligo Rovers WILL win this league

Sligo Rovers WILL win this league

Well last night we got beat 3-1 and said already, if that's the best of the rest i'm not too worried. It wasnt a 3-1 game and Rovers were unlucky not to have at equalised by the time Dub City scored with a fluke goal to make it 3.

The first goal was a free header and there can be no qualms about it. O'Hara stayed on his line when he should really have come and punched it clear. The 2nd goal was offside and the linesman on that side let the play go on. Shocking decision but a neat finish from their guy as he round O'Hara and scored from a tight angle.

The officiating at the game bordered on blatant cheating. How three different officials can either be that bad or that biased is beyond me. Really and truly there were shocking and gave 90 % of everything to the 'home' team. It was a disgrace. Liam Burns went off after coming out of a 50-50 tackle he won badly. their no 11 just slid through with the studs showing. although it was a 50-50 tackle and the tackle was only light in comparision to the rest of the assaults that went on all night. We managed to get one back before half-time although i was full sure the 'linesman' on our side would flag for something. She should never be allowed back into an Eircom League ground.

Second half was all rovers and the linesman who failed to flag a blatant offside in the first half was suddenly able to call them against rovers by the narrowest of margins, everytime. Paul brown ran from behind a defender and around him, for example, and was flagged offside. Dublin city never intended to play football and the amount of coward thug tackling they produced was a disgrace. The ref wouldnt book for these cynical fouls yet was only too willing when rovers tackled back. there were two incidents in the second half were both raf and faz i think were taken out in successive tackles yet the 'independant official' waved play on. Dublin resorted to kicking , fouling and diving - if my team were doing that i'd feel ashamed. Dublin got down the line once in the second half and and crap cross was missed by o'hara and the ball hit carr and rolled in. Bad mistake from our keeper. However if the previous passage of play, McNamara was blatantly pulled back when in possession which he then lost as a result of the shirt pulling.

I wouldnt worry about this one. chalk it down, get on with it. In hindsight we were never going to win that game no mattered what happened. Dublin's brand of 'football' will ensure they will lose a couple of more games at least.

Well done to all Sligo Rovers supporters, who were noisy the whole way through the game. It was excellent stuff.

As I said if that's the best of the rest, we neednt worry too much. Focus now on Monday's game against dundalk. 3 points a must. Rossiter, McTiernan and Murtagh to start.
    Last edited by garykelly; 29/07/2005 at 9:26 AM.

Totally agree. The officals were a disgrace. Rovers played some lovely football in the second half. Ouplayed the Dubs. But thats the way some games go.
    Great Rovers support last night too. Outnumbered the home support and outsang them. Great atmosphere. Dublin had their usual Rent a Crowd there.
    We now need to move on and 3 points on Monday and we're back on track again.

there sayin thay outsang ye
    "Will we(Limerick)ever beat them(Cobh)??" Limerick fan after there most recent thumping at the hands of Ramblers.

they'll also say their team are able to play football. They didnt outsing us, both set's made noise. Rovers supporters kept it up for all the game.

Quote Originally Posted by terry9
    there sayin thay outsang ye
    They would say that.
    Mind you it wasn't too difficult to out sing them. There wasn't that many of them in it.

We defo out sang and out drumed them... i can still hear the drum in my head...

how did they manage to beat ye??
    "Will we(Limerick)ever beat them(Cobh)??" Limerick fan after there most recent thumping at the hands of Ramblers.

Quote Originally Posted by terry9
    how did they manage to beat ye??
    Sloppy defending and scandalous officals , if that bird on the line was a bloke she would be fired , reckon she is hanging on due to the novelty of being a female offical , I have seen better standards in u12 matches waht a joke.

Formerly: wild rover
    dublin city wouldn't outsing their gran! pants support, they are sad cases. the linesperson last night was woeful, a disgraceful performance. after going to the kilkenny game & seeing her ref, i can confirm she isn't cut out for this officiating lark!

the support last night was excellent, congratulations to all the rovers supporters who made it up. we are premier division supporters, hopefully we can do the business vs dundalk & give galway the beating the hippies deserve!

Quote Originally Posted by wild rover
    dublin city wouldn't outsing their gran! pants support, they are sad cases. the linesperson last night was woeful, a disgraceful performance. after going to the kilkenny game & seeing her ref, i can confirm she isn't cut out for this officiating lark!

the support last night was excellent, congratulations to all the rovers supporters who made it up. we are premier division supporters, hopefully we can do the business vs dundalk & give galway the beating the hippies deserve!

Reckon yer man with the red cowboy hat would have done a better job on the line.

Quote Originally Posted by garykelly
    Well last night we got beat 3-1 and said already, if that's the best of the rest i'm not too worried. It wasnt a 3-1 game and Rovers were unlucky not to have at equalised by the time Dub City scored with a fluke goal to make it 3.

The first goal was a free header and there can be no qualms about it. O'Hara stayed on his line when he should really have come and punched it clear. The 2nd goal was offside and the linesman on that side let the play go on. Shocking decision but a neat finish from their guy as he round O'Hara and scored from a tight angle.

The officiating at the game bordered on blatant cheating. How three different officials can either be that bad or that biased is beyond me. Really and truly there were shocking and gave 90 % of everything to the 'home' team. It was a disgrace. Liam Burns went off after coming out of a 50-50 tackle he won badly. their no 11 just slid through with the studs showing. although it was a 50-50 tackle and the tackle was only light in comparision to the rest of the assaults that went on all night. We managed to get one back before half-time although i was full sure the 'linesman' on our side would flag for something. She should never be allowed back into an Eircom League ground.

Second half was all rovers and the linesman who failed to flag a blatant offside in the first half was suddenly able to call them against rovers by the narrowest of margins, everytime. Paul brown ran from behind a defender and around him, for example, and was flagged offside. Dublin city never intended to play football and the amount of coward thug tackling they produced was a disgrace. The ref wouldnt book for these cynical fouls yet was only too willing when rovers tackled back. there were two incidents in the second half were both raf and faz i think were taken out in successive tackles yet the 'independant official' waved play on. Dublin resorted to kicking , fouling and diving - if my team were doing that i'd feel ashamed. Dublin got down the line once in the second half and and crap cross was missed by o'hara and the ball hit carr and rolled in. Bad mistake from our keeper. However if the previous passage of play, McNamara was blatantly pulled back when in possession which he then lost as a result of the shirt pulling.

I wouldnt worry about this one. chalk it down, get on with it. In hindsight we were never going to win that game no mattered what happened. Dublin's brand of 'football' will ensure they will lose a couple of more games at least.

Well done to all Sligo Rovers supporters, who were noisy the whole way through the game. It was excellent stuff.

As I said if that's the best of the rest, we neednt worry too much. Focus now on Monday's game against dundalk. 3 points a must. Rossiter, McTiernan and Murtagh to start.
    You were obviously at a different game.

they'll also say their team are able to play football. They didnt outsing us, both set's made noise. Rovers supporters kept it up for all the game.
    3 - 1 to the city boy's. You were quiet for most of the game, except for some clown with a duck call, or something

Quote Originally Posted by Ringo
    3 - 1 to the city boy's. You were quiet for most of the game, except for some clown with a duck call, or something
    Eh.. what game where you at. We were singing right up until the end.

Couldn't here ye, must have been the drum & air horns i was in the middle of

You were obviously at a different game.
    er no i wasnt. But no point talking to ye lot cos ye have absolutely no clue.

yer city boys alright, playing all around the city. Quiet most of the game ? are u sure it was dublin city game you were at. It was in Richmond not tolka or the other various pitches ye lease.

A bit a red last night sneeking out of the stadium last night.

Jaysus there's a fierce smell of sour grapes around here...

Foot.ie! Bit 'O Volume

Quote Originally Posted by nephin
    Totally agree. The officals were a disgrace. Rovers played some lovely football in the second half. Ouplayed the Dubs. But thats the way some games go.
    Great Rovers support last night too. Outnumbered the home support and outsang them. Great atmosphere. Dublin had their usual Rent a Crowd there.
    We now need to move on and 3 points on Monday and we're back on track again.
    Man, we WERE louder than you.. face it. That's why we won... our players could actually HEAR us & that gave them motivation.. our drums made your drums look like Flamanco clappers

Well last night we got beat 3-1 and said already, if that's the best of the rest i'm not too worried.
    I agree completely, Dublin City are a disgrace to this league. They're are a shower of cheating, diving scumbags. They dont deserve to be where they are in the league. They are a **** team with **** support and no football ground and I hope to God that Cobh or Limerick or even Galway(unlikely, I know) catch up with them and get promoted, because all of these teams have support and their own ground and would add something to the premier division unlike the second hand Dublin reject team that was playing last night. I never really minded Dublin City to be honest until I seen their tactics last night and that was disgraceful.