Page 1 of 12 12311 ... LastLast

Thread: YBIG Thread

YBIG Thread

we at youboysingreen are currently working on the content for the next issue (v Italy)

We are looking for fans to send in rants or pictures that they would like published.
    So if you have any views or if you have something to get off your chest about Irish football, or a pic, (international, eircom league or junior football) you can send them to contact@youboysingreen.ie as soon as possible.

15,000 issues will be printed up and distributed free around the ground on the day of the game.
    Cheers

YBIG rants, pics and articles

we at youboysingreen are currently working on the content for the next issue (v Italy)

We are looking for fans to send in rants or pictures that they would like published.
    So if you have any views or if you have something to get off your chest about Irish football, or a pic, (international, eircom league or junior football) you can send them to contact@youboysingreen.ie as soon as possible.

15,000 issues will be printed up and distributed free around the ground on the day of the game.
    Cheers

sure bang something over, a couple of pics from airport.

Quote Originally Posted by Mento
    a couple of pics from airport.
    You'll have to ask the Oirish Mirror for the pictures of me.

Ybig - Issue 2

The second issue of YouBoysInGreen is finished and we will be distributing it around pubs etc over the next couple of days and then around the ground on Wednesday.
    In this issue is an interview with Jack Chartlton and load of fans rants and other stuff.
    We asked Jack what was his fondest memory while in charge of Ireland. Of course I was waiting to hear something like Houghton's goal v England or the Giants Staium, but no, Jack says: "Waiting to get on a plane in Malta. Somebody came in with a paper and that weekend there was more alcohol drunk in Malta than there had been the whole of the summer (que laughter). One weekend, I enjoyed the Irish fans, I liked the way they went away. They wanted a result but if they didn’t get it they would still have the craic and the signing in the pub."
    Of all the great days in the Charlton era this was his fondest moment!!!

Anyone reccomend some good football pubs we can hit over the next couple of days?
    Any feedback would be greatly appreciated.

YBIG - Issue 2

The second issue of YouBoysInGreen is finished and we will be distributing it around pubs etc over the next couple of days and then around the ground on Wednesday.
    In this issue is an interview with Jack Chartlton and load of fans rants and other stuff.
    We asked Jack what was his fondest memory while in charge of Ireland. Of course I was waiting to hear something like Houghton's goal v England or the Giants Staium, but no, Jack says: "Waiting to get on a plane in Malta. Somebody came in with a paper and that weekend there was more alcohol drunk in Malta than there had been the whole of the summer (que laughter). One weekend, I enjoyed the Irish fans, I liked the way they went away. They wanted a result but if they didn’t get it they would still have the craic and the signing in the pub."
    Of all the great days in the Charlton era this was his fondest moment!!!

Anyone reccomend some good football pubs we can hit over the next couple of days?
    Any feedback would be greatly appreciated.

YBIG - Issue 3

Issue 3 of YouBoysInGreen will be available from this evening around pubs in the Dublin area and of course around Lansdowne Road on the day of the match.
    In this issue
    - Questions and answers session with Jason McAteer which is full of some of Trigger’s amusing stories. Ever heard the one where he shouts 180 at Jimmy White in a packed bar? Well it’s all true.
    - Niall Quinn is our Cult Hero
    - U21 stuff - Interview with Don Givens
    - Rio Ferdinand v EL player - Rio the greedy pig
    - Where are they now
    - Emergence of Terry Dixon
    - 5 Great Corkmen to wear the green
    - Extracts from a book written years ago by Irish supporters
    - Focus on play offs
    - Player top trumps
    - Brian 'Customer Kerr'
    - Seeds of doubt
    - Fans Rants
    - Fans letters
    Still free, enjoy

3,197 Posts
    Now that could be interesting if the right questions are asked...

Quote Originally Posted by pineapple stu
    Now that could be interesting if the right questions are asked...
    Some chance!

YBIG - issue 3

Issue 3 of YouBoysInGreen will be available from this evening around pubs in the Dublin area and of course around Lansdowne Road on the day of the match.
    In this issue
    - Questions and answers session with Jason McAteer which is full of some of Trigger’s amusing stories. Ever heard the one where he shouts 180 at Jimmy White in a packed bar? Well it’s all true.
    - Niall Quinn is our Cult Hero
    - Rio Ferdinand v EL player - Rio the greedy pig
    - Where are they now
    - Emergence of Terry Dixon
    - 5 Great Corkmen to wear the green
    - Extracts from a book written years ago by Irish supporters
    - Focus on play offs
    - Player top trumps
    - Brian 'Customer Kerr'
    - Seeds of doubt
    - Fans Rants
    - Fans letters
    Still free, enjoy

lads ye're bumping up the wrong fanzine
    As I say, we're just young & a bit nieve.

Looking forward to reading about Terry Dixon. Did ye get an interview with the young lad?
    "Love many, trust few, always paddle your own canoe." Dillo

Didn't talk to terry, it was one of the last ones we did so it was very tight on time.
    it's more a feature on his backround.
    it also takes a look at the fai's technical development plan. this plan was meant to be a pathway for young players coming through from the kennedy Cup (U14).
    But like terry, all the scouting resources have gone into players abroad. we are overlooking our home grown talent.
    We don't question terry's commitment to Ireland. we just dont want a repeat of an un-named underage capped player stating he was only using ireland as a spring board to get an england call up.

Didn't talk to terry, it was one of the last ones we did so it was very tight on time.
    it's more a feature on his backround.
    it also takes a look at the fai's technical development plan. this plan was meant to be a pathway for young players coming through from the kennedy Cup (U14).
    But like terry, all the scouting resources have gone into players abroad. we are overlooking our home grown talent.
    We don't question terry's commitment to Ireland. we just dont want a repeat of an un-named underage capped player stating he was only using ireland as a spring board to get an england call up.

I read on another board that his dad want's him to play for England and it's rumoured he'll be named in an English youth squad next month to entice him, hope he sticks with us, God knows we need strikers.

Ye, i think the fai pulled off a bit of a coup getting him to play underage for us, and this is what we look at in the article. why dont they concentrate on the development plan instead of using their resources on people like dixon who could very well turn their back on us later on for England etc.
    Hopefully he will stay with Ireland, but if his dad is trying to get him to play for England, well Dads are always a big influence

57 Posts
    Ye, i think the fai pulled off a bit of a coup getting him to play underage for us, and this is what we look at in the article. why dont they concentrate on the development plan instead of using their resources on people like dixon who could very well turn their back on us later on for England etc.
    Hopefully he will stay with Ireland, but if his dad is trying to get him to play for England, well Dads are always a big influence
    He has an Irish mammy. They call the shots.

YBIG 3 - what did tis think?

Anyone who got to see it, what are the good and of course the bad points

and of course the bad points
    The cover had some line like "Read what the real fans have to say." As if we were to be educated by fans who were superior to us.

That is just to emphasise that it is written by the fans, but it's a good point and its taken on board

Anyone who got to see it, what are the good and of course the bad points
    I thought it was good. There was much more content than the previous issue (there was a bit of padding in that, e.g. a page Gordan Strachan quotes lifted off the internet). This issue had a lot of opinion which is what you want.

One point though, your rants section is beginning to get repetitive. Wee all know there are corporate fans in Lansdown. Get a new rant.

Page 1 of 12 12311 ... LastLast