Page 3 of 12 FirstFirst 12345 ... LastLast

Thread: YBIG Thread

Quote Originally Posted by Junior View Post
    I haven't read it so can't comment on the quality. However, are things that bad now that we can't expect to read (what I am assuming) a good old slagging of our nearest and dearest rivals in a fanzine?? Fanzines the length and breadth of the world probably uses half of its content in slagging off rivals or other teams????

Or is it just that it wasn't very good?
    IMO it was just poorly written, seemed more like aimless drunken rambling rather than a humorous lampooning of Sven and members of the English team.

Quote Originally Posted by Junior View Post
    I haven't read it so can't comment on the quality. However, are things that bad now that we can't expect to read (what I am assuming) a good old slagging of our nearest and dearest rivals in a fanzine?? Fanzines the length and breadth of the world probably uses half of its content in slagging off rivals or other teams????

Or is it just that it wasn't very good?
    If written i a proper manner - i.e a good old slagging I suppose it has its place but I agree with p_o_r it more resembled drunken rambling and IMO served no real purpose.

If you want to read it go to their website.

Btw the rest of the magazine was very good IMO. Keep it up lads

I read it back to front front to back x 3 as I had about 8 hours to kill on sunday. It was quite interesting, though I dont want to sound anal, there were quite a few grammar and spelling mistakes.

The general info and read was very good though.

As stutts said, the Aldo article was probably the best. very good work keep it up.

the english rant was an open letter to the england squadin relation to the world cup

and as was said before, every fanzine in the world takes the **** out of their nearest rivals

ps anyone that hasn't read it can so so on our website - www.youboysingreen.ie

1,912 Posts
    Ditto with the Aldo article, laughed loud at the answer to who spent longest in the showers.
    Sorry didn't see it for sale, only read the downloaded version. Well done.
    Though pity about the pics of Dunphy's pasty face- desecration.
    Last edited by geysir; 07/09/2006 at 3:32 PM.

a lot of people have mentioned dunphy's mug alright but here's the problem
    - obviously printing these doesn't come cheap.
    Because it is free we need to sell some ads which is very hard to do for 4 amateurs. the star give us money for a couple of ads as do a couple of other companies so we don't have a choice
    selling the fanzine is another option but it would be very hard IMO (getting sellers etc)
    we are currently looking for someone to sell the ads or someone to sponsor it, the latter being the number 1 option cause it someone sponsored it, there would be **** all ads and more reading. inldividual ads make it look too much like a mag which people have stated before.

wkd drinks company is one option we are going to persue cause from research they are not allowed to advertise in any newspaper so it might be perfect for them.
    Anyone any other ideas of who could sponsor it??

Ryanair are well into radical advertising, and the Green Army put thousands of bums on their seats every year...... xclnt zine btw, read with 4 others on Ryanair to Baden Baden, well done.

1,912 Posts
    As I said it's a pity but realistic enough to appreciate your situation. You could suggest another face for the adv.
    Do you know how many downloads were done and copies distributed?

10,000 copies were given out free, 3,000 in dublin pubs and 7,000 in germany. dont know how many downloads - must check that out.

YBIG issue 6 - rants etc needed

Anyone who fancies doing a rant/article for the next issue of YBIG please pm me.
    Need them in by next Wednesday though!
    One idea I have got from this forum is a debate on whether or not we should sing Irish rebel songs. So if someone does a rant for, and one against etc.
    So feel free to have your say on whatever issues but time is of the essence. cheers

GSPAIN is doing an anti rebel song rant, any rebels out there willing to do the opposite??

3,213 Posts
    How's about a campaign to find the best away trip of recent times? Call for votes from 1 to 10 for each away trip people have been on and get the average.

Or maybe turn it into a series - one away trip reviewed per issue? With people then being asked to vote? Could be interesting.

2,689 Posts
    Time allowing, I'd like a go at a rant against Irish media coverage of Irish football. I live in UK so won't approach it from a staunchly pro eL angle, though I wouldn't ignore it, but more from the perspective of how much it ****s me off reading syndicated UK write-ups in Irish papers on UK matches featuring Irish players but don't mention them in the article.

fair play gspain. There's also a broader issue of whether "today's fan" has any idea of what I'd consider essential tenets of being an Irish fan. Political songs or insertions aside, I'm aghast at the "Theirry Henry, yer 'aving a larf" type song.

And also, though I've been happy to sing it in the past, is "You'll Never Walk Alone" appropriate for us to sing? I don't think so anymore. It's a Liverpool song first and fortemost, then Celtic, and I think we just make ourselves look daft singing it.

Other rants would include how the **** can Don Givens keep his job? Do the Irish players care enough to wear the shirt? I think some don't.

PM me if you'd like to discuss further.
    Last edited by Stuttgart88; 22/09/2006 at 3:11 PM.

Fire away Stuttgart, needs to be done by next Wednesday at the latest though.

We will have stuff from stuttgart including a lot of photos.
    Top trips would be an interesting read

if anyone wants pics in next issue send them to info@youboysingreen.ie

2,689 Posts
    Ill struggle by Weds, but if I get a few hrs free at work will have a go.

YBIG6 - what yis think?

All comments, good or otherwise, greatly appreciated

Unfortunately missed out on this one, liked the other ones though. Always liked the fanzine approach.

Let us know bout the next one,perhaps could throw an article your way?!
    And you ask me to help you??!! Man is evil!!!! Capable of nothing but destruction!

Excellent, much more reading than the programme. The article on Anto and Girvan was class.

As on flight to Stuttgart, I passed zine around on flight back to the Peoples Republic, same reaction, great read and photos, kicks ass of official programme.Classic voice of the fans publication.

Picked up a copy in Smiths - really enjoyed it, but my Dad liked it so much he insited i take a copy for him to bring home - he has been quoting it to anyone who will listen. Thanks

Page 3 of 12 FirstFirst 12345 ... LastLast