Thread: How long would you give O'Connor?

How long would you give O'Connor?

Rehash of a early season thread of either mine or Nempton's, can't remember which, but anyway how long would you give Noel O'Connor, given the recent run of form (not just results but style of play) and the many, many stories *cough* facts that have ben dogging the club. I realise this is working under the hope that Danny 'I think all fans are scumbags' Drew hasn't actualy given NOC a 5 year deal, but I've just watched Charlie and the Chocolate Factory, so the hopeful child in my has been awoke. Does Currently On-Line JoeSoap have any views?

I reckon he has to be given a season to be judged fairly. He is not impressing me so far I have to say but in fairness I think he should be given at least to the end of the season and see then whether the club is going forward on the pitch.
    "It's impossible to make a man understand something when his livelihood depends on him not understanding" Upton Sinclair

Quote Originally Posted by LFC in Exile
    I reckon he has to be given a season to be judged fairly. He is not impressing me so far I have to say but in fairness I think he should be given at least to the end of the season and see then whether the club is going forward on the pitch.
    I agree. End of season is the time to judge and speculate. Not looking good though. It's not the results that bother me, there was always going to be teething problems. The style of football, or lack of it, is what annoys me.

quotes from the game in the echo last night...NOC bemoaned the peno decision while henderson claimed they deserved the points cos they played football while limerick went with the long ball the whole time.

just a thought...why dont we have many experienced players at limerick? ones that have played eircom league for say 5-10 years?

Quote Originally Posted by declan hide
    quotes from the game in the echo last night...NOC bemoaned the peno decision while henderson claimed they deserved the points cos they played football while limerick went with the long ball the whole time.

just a thought...why dont we have many experienced players at limerick? ones that have played eircom league for say 5-10 years?
    Like Noel Mooney? Thomas McGauley has also quite a bit of eL experience. I reckon Finny has a few years now and Wolfe 3/4 years?

You are right though- we do need a bit more about us at times. A vocal, experienced central midfielder a la Eddie Gormley, Alan Reynolds etc. Someone who can boss the midfield and keep our own lads on their game. A big problem still is the lack of communication on the pitch. If we can't hear them talking I reckon their team mates can't.
    "It's impossible to make a man understand something when his livelihood depends on him not understanding" Upton Sinclair

Like Noel Mooney? Thomas McGauley has also quite a bit of eL experience. I reckon Finny has a few years now and Wolfe 3/4 years?

You are right though- we do need a bit more about us at times. A vocal, experienced central midfielder a la Eddie Gormley, Alan Reynolds etc. Someone who can boss the midfield and keep our own lads on their game. A big problem still is the lack of communication on the pitch. If we can't hear them talking I reckon their team mates can't.
    yeah i did say many...knowing we do have mooney, mcgauley...finny probably has what 4 years at most? and wolfe...does he even have 3 or 4 years? i remember him playing for cobh at the pike last year (at right back) but never heard of him before then.

but what i'm asking is why we dont have more experienced players?
    is it down to NOC? is it down to money? do the club want to blood younger players?....

ye should be asking ye re selves how can he get sacked , if ye look into who owns the club ( its not one person but it is a big secrect ) ye will find out why its unlikely for him to get sacked !! .

all ill say is a warned ye ! this would happen ,

Well I personally think that he deserves the rest of this season and as long as it takes next season to see if we're gonna be in the promotion shuffle.

And anto1208, you weren't the only one!

Quote Originally Posted by declan hide
    ones that have played eircom league for say 5-10 years?
    *thinks*

Mooney
    McGauley... has 5 years tops (albeit a couple in the premier)
    Finuncane
    Conor Molan is in his fourth or fifth year in the EL, he made his debut in jackman anyway.
    Derek McCarthy has amassed quite a bit of experience
    Wolfe has a few years under his belt alright, 4/5 tops again though.
    Brian Donnellan was another Jackman Park player so he probably has 3/4 years down as well even allowing for the bulk of two seasons that he was back in junior football.

But to answer your question, I think that reason we have so few players with that kind of experience is that players like that tend to answer back. Cynical of me perhaps?

Quote Originally Posted by sadloserkid
    *thinks*

Brian Donnellan was another Jackman Park player so he probably has 3/4 years down as well even allowing for the bulk of two seasons that he was back in junior football.

But to answer your question, I think that reason we have so few players with that kind of experience is that players like that tend to answer back. Cynical of me perhaps?
    sadly in donnellans case i think the 2 years away show...

but with your answer to my question..thats the kind of answer i was hinting at....

If we had to be fair then we would say until the end of the season, then do a hatchet job on him like Joe Soap and Willie John did to Mike Kerley at the end of last season. (Oh if we only knew who Willie John was at the time, when Joe was saying Mike should be sacked and Willie saying hire NOC).
    With our beloved chairman declaring us fans to be scumbags perhaps he should take a look at his manager whose behaviour the past month (probably longer) falls into that name category. I never thought after the Clinton impeachment that I would see a person lie so convincly to the public. NOC's recent comments to Live95 have been classic, how about last week when he said that Derek was the only player who wanted to go to Waterford, what a lying ****bag (can you fill in the blanks Danny, thanks). NOC is a manger completely devoid of tactics, leadership, man management skills and basic manners. The sooner we get rid of him the better in my opinion...BRING BACK KERLEY
    Limerick 37, its so shiny and new we dare not take the cover off.

ive missed loads of action here so who was willie john and joesoap , i figured out they were up to no good but who did they turn out to be ?? .i remember joe having a right go at me for suggesting that mike should be left as manager because he had an oral contract and it was the right thing to do morally. plus he is better than noc ,

Quote Originally Posted by Nempton
    NOC is a manger completely devoid of tactics, leadership, man management skills and basic manners.
    You can apply the last bit to our esteemed chairman as well. Apparantly he was asking around at a recent game to point out who 4tothefloor was on foot.ie - I suppose he thinks he can control what the fans say on here now as well. I've sent Willie John a PM and am waiting for a reply. There's a few of ye here, such as Nempton and Jebus, that he'll probably be after now as well . How sad is that?
    Last edited by 4tothefloor; 26/07/2005 at 6:32 PM.

Quote Originally Posted by 4tothefloor
    There's a few of ye here, such as Nempton and Jebus, that he'll probably be after now as well . How sad is that?
    Sounds like paranoia to me!
    If you don't like John 3:7...
    There's always Limerick 37!

Danny was looking for Jebus earlier this season as well so I wouldn't say its paranoia
    Anyway if Danny has a problem with what people say and think then tough, we have been nothing but supportive since the start of the season especially towards NOC who we didn't want. The only reason why there is bad feeling is because of the behaviour of our chairman and our manager which has been appalling in the past two months. Last season our only complaint was directed towards Michael O'Sullivan and his inability to run the club, we never once complained about Mike Kerley or his behaviour. Nor should I add did the players or those involved in other areas of the club make complaints about Mike. But yet this season when we should be celebrating the club securing its survival and have absolutely no reason to complain about anything has been ruined by two idiots, NOC and Danny, who have wasted a glorious opportunity for a new beginning for Limerick. Is it any wonder that attendances in recent times have gone from a thousand at the start of the season to just over three hundred now. To make matters worse then, Michael O'Sullivan and Ralph McMahon have been allowed back in. Seriously these are two guys who came to us two weeks before the deadline to help them with the club licence, they are a joke who have offer absolutely nothing to Limerick.
    Limerick 37, its so shiny and new we dare not take the cover off.

Quote Originally Posted by Nempton
    But yet this season when we should be celebrating the club securing its survival and have absolutely no reason to complain about anything has been ruined by two idiots, NOC and Danny, who have wasted a glorious opportunity for a new beginning for Limerick.
    Isn't there a contradiction in that sentence? Without DD and NOC would there have been a survival at all to ruin?

I agree with you about the two returning - what is that about?

However, it might be stretching it a bit to say we have all been nothing but supportive since the start of the season (especially with NOC) - mostly people have been waiting for a chance to be proved right and as soon as it emerged jumped on it.

And to say no players complained about MK last season - we didn't have any players.

Isn't there a contradiction in that sentence? Without DD and NOC would there have been a survival at all to ruin?
    Well assuming Mr. Drew is the sole owner of the club, I think we could have survived quite nicely without NOC thank you very much

Quote Originally Posted by Lim till i die
    Well assuming Mr. Drew is the sole owner of the club, I think we could have survived quite nicely without NOC thank you very much
    I don't know who does or doesn't own it. We could probably do okay football wise without NOC anyway. If he is an owner I am glad he put up his own money to save the club - but it does make it difficult if he does not deliver football wise. But JoeSoap told us ages ago that he wil be judged by results so we have no worries on that score.

Quote Originally Posted by 4tothefloor
    You can apply the last bit to our esteemed chairman as well. Apparantly he was asking around at a recent game to point out who 4tothefloor was on foot.ie - I suppose he thinks he can control what the fans say on here now as well. I've sent Willie John a PM and am waiting for a reply. There's a few of ye here, such as Nempton and Jebus, that he'll probably be after now as well . How sad is that?
    You'll be waiting a while for a response from williejohn...Pm'd him ages ago and have heard nothing back. It's a bit ridiculous when its gotten to the stage where supporters who go to matches week in week out are being hunted down for airing their views on a football website. Aparantly he wants a word with myself too... Its like being back in secondary school all over again, the students don't respect the teacher because he's rubbish and the principle's a lunatic

Quote Originally Posted by thelimerick
    supporters who go to matches week in week out are being hunted down for airing their views on a football website.
    What does hunted down mean?

A lot of people on the board at the start of the season were insisting that WillieJohn identify himself and his connections to the club. Now the same posters are complaining that DD wants to know who they are. Its just ironic.