Page 4 of 31 FirstFirst ... 2345614 ... LastLast

Thread: 2022 FAI Cup

646 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by brendy_éire View Post
    Would they be expecting bother? If Friday better than Sunday afternoon?
    More Time for knackers to get boozed up before a weekend afternoon ko os the theory I think.

Have to say It's sad that a club like bray has attracted the dross that have latched onto the club for whatever reason

536 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by sbgawa View Post
    More Time for knackers to get boozed up before a weekend afternoon ko os the theory I think.

Have to say It's sad that a club like bray has attracted the dross that have latched onto the club for whatever reason
    Im curious how come its only this season that Bray are having the trouble with their fans? Thats what is puzzling me!

646 Posts
    No idea tbh. It can't be anything to do with the merger as it wasn't like cabinteely had any fans let alone a cabo ultras. Devo seems to be a lightning Rod for these guys but I wouldn't blame him myself, the behaviour and abuse meted out by these lads takes away any argument or legitimacy they have. Bray have banned them all hence the flare thrown over the stand at the last match so hopefully they all just feck off and find something else to do. Your not talking about normal people here youbare talking about lads getting boozed up and inhaling gas canisters, no reasoning with scum.

145 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by brendy_éire View Post
    Would they be expecting bother? If Friday better than Sunday afternoon?
    I think there is some sort of festivities in Bray that bank holiday weekend during afternoons so the guards maybe hedging their bets that Friday night is the least worst of the two options if some of Bray's new 'fans' kick up hassle with their first game of the season with a decent away contingent from Dublin
    Last edited by total hoofball; 20/07/2022 at 1:01 PM.
    The Leinster Senior League needs a strong Bohemians

3,215 Posts
    The Air Show is on this weekend; is there something next week too?

Unusual to have two big events in successive weeks

145 Posts
    The Shels statement confirmed it was moved due to several other events happening in the vicinity on the Sunday, only thing I can find from googling that day would be a Seafront fun fair
    The Leinster Senior League needs a strong Bohemians

346 Posts
    Derry v Oliver Bonds changed to Saturday at 5pm at Oliver Bonds request,a wee North west FAI cup weekend there now for ground hoppers!
    Irish by birth ,Harps by the grace of god.

3,215 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by total hoofball View Post
    The Shels statement confirmed it was moved due to several other events happening in the vicinity on the Sunday, only thing I can find from googling that day would be a Seafront fun fair
    Strange. That funfair is a regular thing in the summer. Don't think it's caused a game to be rearranged before (though wouldn't have been paying too close attention in fairness)

54 Posts
    Cobh Ramblers expect an attendance of around 2,000 for their FAI match at home to Cork City on Sunday, with the majority being City fans!

409 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by joey B View Post
    Derry v Oliver Bonds changed to Saturday at 5pm at Oliver Bonds request,a wee North west FAI cup weekend there now for ground hoppers!
    Friday night - Harps v Bohs
    Saturday night - Derry v Oliver Bond
    Sunday day - Bonagee v Pike Rovers
    Sunday night - Sligo v Wexford.

That'd be some FAI Cup tour of the North-West.

409 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by nr637 View Post
    Cobh Ramblers expect an attendance of around 2,000 for their FAI match at home to Cork City on Sunday, with the majority being City fans!
    Would be a great crowd - though half what they had for their league game earlier this season.

54 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by EatYerGreens View Post
    Would be a great crowd - though half what they had for their league game earlier this season.
    So many factors here, Ramblers poor form, even though they had a win over Bray last week. The 4pm Sunday kick-off too offset security concerns by the Gardaí, summer holidays and the lack of interest from home supporters. City will always bring a big following, so I'd expect any attendance to be like a home game for City with about a 75% in their favour.

But you never know, it is the Cup and Ramblers have nothing to loose and may have a go!

409 Posts
    So many factors here, Ramblers poor form, even though they had a win over Bray last week. The 4pm Sunday kick-off too offset security concerns by the Gardaí, summer holidays and the lack of interest from home supporters. City will always bring a big following, so I'd expect any attendance to be like a home game for City with about a 75% in their favour.

But you never know, it is the Cup and Ramblers have nothing to loose and may have a go!
    Have there ever been security issues at Cobh v Cork games ? Seems a bit daft for the Gardai to be treating it as a possible flashpoint, no ?

387 Posts
    They’d played the league game on a Saturday night before a bigger crowd I thought and don’t remember hearing of any issues

817 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by Nah Nah Nah Nah View Post
    They’d played the league game on a Saturday night before a bigger crowd I thought and don’t remember hearing of any issues
    There were one or two minor issues but nothing substantial I believe

54 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by outspoken View Post
    There were one or two minor issues but nothing substantial I believe
    From what I hear from locals living near the ground, complaints are mainly along the lines of the anti social behaviour created by the large gathering for a game like this and the behaviour created due to the amount of drink consumed by those attending before and after. I suppose its like all events, you really do not understand, if you do not live in the area and have to tolerate this conduct around your property by those who come in and then leave without a care for the state of the place after.
    As usual the Gardaí can only do so much!

Bluebell v Galway United moved to Tolka

271 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by exiled_gufc_fan View Post
    Bluebell v Galway United moved to Tolka
    Must be expecting a decent turnout. It’s a small ground at the Red Cow but would be capable a getting a few hundred in.

346 Posts
    https://mobile.twitter.com/BrayWande...65594557480962

Bray requiring everyone to have ID to get into their game against Shels,gone down really well of course!!
    Irish by birth ,Harps by the grace of god.

409 Posts
    From what I hear from locals living near the ground, complaints are mainly along the lines of the anti social behaviour created by the large gathering for a game like this and the behaviour created due to the amount of drink consumed by those attending before and after. I suppose its like all events, you really do not understand, if you do not live in the area and have to tolerate this conduct around your property by those who come in and then leave without a care for the state of the place after.
    As usual the Gardaí can only do so much!
    But that's just an issue with a crowd, not football. The same would happen if it was a gig etc. The 4pm kick-off is apparently due to security concerns - not concerns over people pishing in hedges etc.

Page 4 of 31 FirstFirst ... 2345614 ... LastLast