Thread: Rovers "fans"

Fair play to the Cork City fans who are not making mileage from the Echo bull. At this stage I hope yiz win the league. Not lying/spoofing about Rovers fans being nutters is a big plus in my book. We had a grand time on Friday (bar the result, of course) and were treated well by all and sundry (fans, cops, stewards) rather than being branded as instant criminals.
    Cheers for setting a standard that others should follow. If every away trip went as well we'd easily double our numbers on the road, because it's not about the result but whether the trip can be predetermined as enjoyable.
    Respect.

Quote Originally Posted by Troy.McClure
    How can you tell that, or are you talking about the one who isnt being held by the cop?
    Yer man was being led away from the terrace behind the goal (opposite end to the shed) He threw a bottle at the rovers fans.

Btw the corner boys thing is laughable, all the rovers fans walked past the "corner" on the way into the ground and not a peep. Same after the game.

Quote Originally Posted by Billy Lord
    Fair play to the Cork City fans who are not making mileage from the Echo bull. At this stage I hope yiz win the league. Not lying/spoofing about Rovers fans being nutters is a big plus in my book. We had a grand time on Friday (bar the result, of course) and were treated well by all and sundry (fans, cops, stewards) rather than being branded as instant criminals.
    Cheers for setting a standard that others should follow. If every away trip went as well we'd easily double our numbers on the road, because it's not about the result but whether the trip can be predetermined as enjoyable.
    Respect.
    Yez hardly have to travel on Sunday and it oughta be an enjoyable trip.

I don't know why but I'm really looking forward to this game......
    Extratime.ie

Yo te quiero, mi querida. Sin tus besos, yo soy nada.

Abri o portão de ouro, da maquina do tempo.

Mi mamá me hizo guapo, listo y antimadridista.

Are the darts still out southside at the weekends?

Quote Originally Posted by SÓC
    Yer man was defo a Cork City fan, I was sitting up in the St. Annes and saw him being lead out, he didnt take to kindly to it either

Much a do about nothing really. Rovers fans came to the Cross in numbers that put everyone else to shame and unlike the Bohs fans at the last game actually made some noise. The only hassle started when City scored some brave City fans threw bottles at the Rovers fans. Some of the said bottles were returned with interest by equally brave Rovers fans. All over in 30 seconds.

As for Spillane I was at the Horseshoe and Torytop after the game and there was no scenes of destruction, no sign of old Spillage either.

I hope the Rovers fans complain about Spillage, City fans have complained for long enough about him
    Fair play for telling the truth. You've no chance of being a journo! Players and fans stayed over and there was no trouble. Was in the tavern before and the evergreen after with no problems. Cops even helped take down flag after game. Honestly you would add numbers to the gate if crap like this wasnt printed.........

Quote Originally Posted by thomas
    Yer man was being led away from the terrace behind the goal (opposite end to the shed) He threw a bottle at the rovers fans.

Btw the corner boys thing is laughable, all the rovers fans walked past the "corner" on the way into the ground and not a peep. Same after the game.
    In fairness, you're asuming that the corner boys are some sort of hooligans- they're not. They just gave themselves a name to differentiate themselves from the Shed, thats all.

Quote Originally Posted by Rover 2 U
    Not sure about the dart, but you can get the Number 45 bus from town.
    No-one likes us, we don't care.

Quote Originally Posted by Colm
    There weren't any Rovers fans allowed in the Horseshoe so don't see how they could have caused trouble there..
    Thats not true Colm. I was in the Horseshoe on Friday. There was around 10 Rovers fans there. No problem getting in. No trouble, had good chat with some Cark lads.

Only problem was there fascination with singing about Liam Coyle
    No-one likes us, we don't care.

Quote Originally Posted by Rover 2 U
    They're still having work done on the DART.
    Extratime.ie

Yo te quiero, mi querida. Sin tus besos, yo soy nada.

Abri o portão de ouro, da maquina do tempo.

Mi mamá me hizo guapo, listo y antimadridista.

Quote Originally Posted by thomas
    I very much doubt ye were allowed to walk past the Corner boys.
    They are in the Corner next to the Shed i.e. ye'd have had to walk past the corner and the shed in that case and if ye had then there most likely would have been trouble so I doubt very much if the security allowed that??
    Champions!

There's a retraction in tomorrow's Echo. Fair play, even if Spillane's an idiot at least his boss is man enough to admit they were wrong. Can we expect apologies from the Rovers bashers on here?

No One Likes Us, We Don't Care

Quote Originally Posted by WeAreRovers
    There's a retraction in tomorrow's Echo.
    proper order

I texted the BRB to tell Spillane that I thought his article was a heep of total garbage.

Is it supposed to be a report of the match or his opinion. How can he refer to Rovers fans as "morons" even though they didnt do anything to warrant it.

Rovers fans

I was in the Tory Top pub after the game and saw no incidents of trouble. Noel Spillane is a stupid man who knows very little about soccer. His articles are crap and his writing is rubbish.
    Rovers fans gave their team magnificent support and sang their heartsout throughout the entire 90 minutes. Also they gave their team tremendous applause at the end of the game. Rovers fans have been through hell in the last 10 years and are doing wonders to keep the famous hoops alive.

Quote Originally Posted by kevinito
    Rovers fans gave their team magnificent support and sang their heartsout throughout the entire 90 minutes. Also they gave their team tremendous applause at the end of the game. Rovers fans have been through hell in the last 10 years and are doing wonders to keep the famous hoops alive.
    Agreed .... great support ... fair play to all involved.

Quote Originally Posted by kevinito
    Noel Spillane is a stupid man who knows very little about soccer. His articles are crap and his writing is rubbish.
    Come'ere .... you dont know the half of it ..... the guy is a complete tool and been caught out loads of times.

You are actually doing really well to get the retraction ..... but for alot of people, the damage is done. You are paying for his inept journalism, the guy is a complete clown !!

176 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by Éanna
    Its a well known fact that Noel Spillane's word isn't worth ****. He bases his "stories" on hearsay and rumour, and its not the first time he's been found out. There's enough bad publicity in the league without this kind of thing going on- SRFC should demand an apology from the Echo.
    We're being victimised for no reason again. The problem is that his readers believe all that rumour and rumour sh-it. Nobody pays any attention to retractions or apologies, so the mud sticks, and all our fans get tarred with the same brush......again!
    Last edited by mypost; 26/07/2005 at 4:09 AM.
    NL 1st Division Champions 2006
    NL Premier Division Champions 2010
    NL Premier Division Champions 2011

Keep Tallaght Tidy, Throw your rubbish in the Jodi

Ten Years Not Out

anyoe in the village see the echo taoday - retraction???

What village is that? I'm going to pick up a copy shortly, I'll stick it up on the ultras site if there is a retraction, as promised

http://www.eveningecho.ie/pdf/back.pdf

Back page of the Echo- clarification on top right corner

The text of the retraction:

In an article in Saturday’s Evening Echo it was reported that Shamrock Rovers fans left a trail of havoc in two southside Cork pubs before and after their match with Cork City in Turner’s Cross on Friday. Our reporter who attended the match received information to this effect from several sources which he took to be reliable. It has now transpired that this information was not correct. There were
    no incidents in the pubs mentioned. Aftermatch quotes from Rovers’ manager Roddy Collins clearly did not relate to the incorrectly reported trouble. We are
    happy to clarify the error.